We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 3 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel to your Saves list
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Bruselas 13 | Urb. Playa De Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a 3 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a popular hotel but its not, in my opinion, a four star - its a three star. The hotel is clean, though crying out for a facelift, and the beds were comfortable but the food lets it down - you usually find something to eat, so you won't starve. The hotel is probably built 90 degrees the wrong way (doesn't face south) so half the sun beds on one side of the pool are in the shade most (all) of the time - consequently, there's a farcical race at 10 am when they open the gates to the pool - all the civilised people having breakfast in the restaurant (canteen) watch in great amusement. There's 'entertainment' most nights but its the equivalent of lift music. It's difficult getting connected to the free WiFi in the reception area because all the connections are taken. Definitely won't be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the inside of the right-hand wing get the sun and overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    803
    316
    100
    44
See reviews for
706
834
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

TThis was our 4th visit to this hotel. I noticed on another review some said they had champagne for their 2nd visit this was not offered to us. However we were given a 4th floor room with a pool view and sea view I did not e.mail for this. The hotel was busy and we only used the roof top for sunbathing which we really liked there is a great view from here you can see the surrounding areas. The food was good there were queues for the evening meal if you came down later but we always came at 6.30 and we had no problems. The rooms are kept very clean maids in every day. Drinks can be expensive but we have found this in most hotels in Spain. We visited an English pub in the town where the drinks were cheaper. On the sea front my husband got a beer for 1euro and I had a cocktail for 4 euros. We like this area there is plenty fo nice walks and things to do. and would visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor on the opposite side of the resturant pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for a few nights in April and we were very impressed it. After reading previous reviews,we emailed beforehand to ask for a higher level room with a pool view,as recommended. The staff happily obliged and so we were very pleased with what we got - a quiet room which was bright and airy.

The room was clean and nicely presented with plenty of space,with twin beds and a very comfortable sofa which looked like it could be a fold out bed. The bathroom was also clean and spacious,although the plumbing could be a bit noisy at times.

The hotel had plenty of facilities on offer,although we didn't try out many of them as it was a short trip. It is very family-friendly and had a nice,relaxed atmosphere. We weren't looking for a wild,clubbing style holiday and so this hotel was perfect for us - laid back and relaxed.

The pool area was well maintained and there were plenty of sun loungers available,although some were in the shade for part of the day. The hotel doesn't permit the reserving of sun loungers,which led to a bit of a scramble once the doors to the pool area were opened - to be expected I suppose! The rooftop area was excellent for sunbathing in peace away from the hubbub and noise of the main pool area and children's activities. We were a bit apprehensive about going up to the roof at first as there were signs up indicating that it was a nudist area,but it turned out that there was only a small section (behind screens!) for nude sunbathing which left the rest of the terrace free for those of us who wanted a bit of peace and quiet but with clothes on!

The staff were helpful and friendly and were extremely efficient,especially in the restaurant where meal times could get a bit manic! As expected from an all-inclusive holiday deal,meals were in the form of a buffet style which could get very busy,even at this time of year which is perhaps a bit quieter than in the summer months. The quality of the food was very good though,with plenty of selection and vegetarian options. As far as we could see,there were no snacks available in between meals in the all-inclusive package. We could have just missed that though.

There was entertainment on offer every night and the hotel is situated in a very busy area with lots of shops and only a short walk from the beach so there is plenty to do. A point worth noting is that the walk back from the beach is up a steep hill - could be problematic for anyone with walking/breathing difficulties.

Overall,I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a family-friendly hotel which has plenty on offer to keep you happy during your holiday! I hope to return sometime and I'm looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is a reaaly clean bright and well presented hotel. If you are looking for a stress free break and to be well catered for on your break then this hotel ticks the majority of the boxes! We arrived on Easter Monday and were allocated three twin/double rooms on the fourth floor overlooking the pool as requested on a pre-visit e-mail to the hotel. The cleanliness of the corridors,public areas and bedrooms were really good and credit must go to the staff for staying on top of this job all day long. Area around the pool is a little on the tight side and we chose to use the roof top terrace area with nice furniture and plastic grass to warm your feet from bed to bar. Never a busy spot very easy to get a bed and turn with the sun as the day goes on, beware those wishing to get up and towel save a sun bed then dont the hotel do not allow towels or people around the pool area until 10.00am by which time the sight of the charge of the light brigade from the roof is quite amusing as the crowd has built up waiting, maybe 09.30 would be better for the young children and families but this kept the hotel quite early in the morning i suppose? All inclusive at the roof top bar was ok and by the pool but we found it much better at the ground floor bar around tea time for a nice cool beer in a glass! The waiting staff around this bar really put a good shift in and will get round everybody in double quick time! If Marie is working on the bar then feel blessed to meet a thoroughly pleasant person and more than happy to help and suggest cocktails that the ladies could try on the all-inclusive option! All the meals from breakfast to lunch and dinner were plentiful and so much choice that the thought of somebody not finding something to please the taste buds un-believable? Wine at the table was always available and the staff worked really hard to clear away the plates to go and try another mouth watering dish. Overall this hotel ticks all the boxes and i suppose the restriction around the pool could only be the small moan if push came to shove! Transfers from the airport to the hotel and return were arranged through the orange bus company really good and a decent price for three couples of 72 Euros well worth the effort and pre-booking. Hope all that visit this hotel have the same pleasant experience that the six of us did roll on the next visit to this well managed hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. It's a pretty old hotel and not at all stylish to look at. Even inside the corridors are unexciting. But having said that, the main public areas are up to date and everywhere was sparkling clean. The chambermaids did an excellent job and we had clean towels every day.
Food was fine, the sort of thing you expect with hot and cold buffets.
We were there at the end if the Easter break so we made full use of the roof terrace for sunbathing. No children up there as they preferred the big pool below, so it was very peaceful.
We asked to change rooms as we had 143 which is at pavement level and looks out onto the top of the portico. Although the hotel was full we were moved in 2 days to a room overlooking the pool. Reception staff were extremely helpful, down to giving some personal restaurant favourites ( and I don't believe they were on commission!)
Overall a good place in a quiet part of town but within reach of the beach and restaurants. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed fully inclusive in Junior Suite. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was fine with a good selection. The only shortcoming for us was the room did not have a conventional shower. Satisfied overall, and good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited the Fanabe Costa Sur for a week at Easter with my family, (husband and 2 kids, 12 & 10) and my sister and her family, (husband and 3 kids, 17,16 & 8). The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to Fanabe beach, beach bars and shops. There is a market on a Thursday and a Saturday just up at the bus station by the Hotel which is worth a visit. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and were quite anxious about the food after reading some reviews on here but I have to say on the whole, the food was very good with a lot of choice for all 3 sittings. The restaurant has a rule that 'Gentlemen' must wear long trousers for their evening meal, why, I've no idea but the restaurant manager, in his ill fitting suit, will ask you to leave if you are not wearing full length trousers, surfice to say some people had to resort to wearing tracksuit bottoms instead of taylored shorts very bizarre ruling! The pool is quite a nice size but only gets the sun on one side which is to the right as you look at the pool from the Hotel reception. This caused many problems with people racing for sunbeds on that side. This was like a scene from the Dam Busters at 10.00am every morning. Towels were being thrown from 10 metres away to land on beds where the sun will shine for most of the day... Never have I ever, nor will I see this again... Oh how we laughed on day one and then you had to get involved by day 2 or sit in the shade! As a family of 4 we booked a family room, this consisted of 4 beds crammed into one room with a bathroom. There was very little room for us to relax after our sunbed grapple everyday. The entertainment in the bar area and on the terrace could only be described as 'desperate', spanish singers singing English songs but with all the wrong words makes for a very funny evening.. The drinks were considerably watered down and therefore wasn't worth the all inclusive cost. If you paid the extra for a cocktail you got the proper drink.. We enjoyed our stay at the Fanabe and had a fun time but I think that was more to do with the company and the other guests rather than the Hotel. We won't be returning to the Fanabe as the hiccups out weighed the fun times. This was a good 3 star Hotel but by no way was it a 4 star! Sorry folks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Address: Avda Bruselas 13 | Urb. Playa De Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.