We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a week here mid March” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel to your Saves list
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Bruselas 13 | Urb. Playa De Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“had a week here mid March”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The reception area was clean and tidy and the staff helpful although no one was told the procedure for obtaining pool towels. We went with another couple and had booked pool view rooms which were clean and tidy although a little dated. The beds were very comfortable and it was good to have a fridge to keep our water cool. The food was OK, exactly what we expect when staying half board with a buffet, if you want a la carte and waiter service you need to pay more and go 5 star! We found the breakfast choice pretty good, with cereals, some fresh fruit, mainly bananas and apples, and the eggs and bacon were nicely cooked. We swapped evening meal for lunch a few days so we could go into town in the evening and the lunch menu was adequate if similar to the evening one. The pool was lovely, but be warned - the concierge does remove towels that are placed out early and left unattended. A bit like candid camera when the owners return to find the towels gone and someone else on the beds! We didn't go to any of the evening entertainment, the basement area smelt a bit damp and off putting. The guy with the guitar in the outside bar was good and it was great to sit outside in March with a drink and not be cold. The hotel could do with a bit of updating and why are there pool tables in the main bar when there is plenty of room in the basement games area? There could be more searting if they were removed. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel as value for what you pay.

Room Tip: all rooms on the reception side are quieter and get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    877
    352
    108
    47
See reviews for
757
947
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Came home from this hotel last night (Fri 29th Mar) and in the main, enjoyed it.We stayed a week, we'd noticed this hotel over a year ago and said we'd choose it if we ever went back to Costa Adeje after using the Dream Villa Tagoro last time.
First impressions.. nice place, reception very pleasant at check-in. Reception to the right as you go in the entrance then a long corridor with plenty seating for guests, Wi-Fi zone and a bar at the other end with an outside terracewhich had a guitarist or keyboardist playing there every night, pleasant place for an evening drink after your meal.
The Hotel was very clean and fresh, cleaners constantly sweeping and wiping around and the terrace barstaff very friendly, smiling and happy to have a chat, that goes for all staff throughout the hotel so a special mention for them. Barstaff prefer to serve you at a table rather than people standing in a queue , this was in the downstairs bar in the entertainment room. We found this hall to be quite small with only a few rows of seats towards the stage, there are other seated areas round the sides of it though with tv screens showing whats on stage if you get a bad seat.
The food was a bit of a let-down, particularly at lunchtime when only half the restaurant is used, maybe only partly open for A.I. customers though. The choice was pretty limited but overall the food improved over the week so didn't need to eat out as we thought we might have to.
Our room was spotlessly clean and fresh, decent size also including bathroom. We had BBC World News, ITV (southwest England), Sky News and BBC1. I did e-mail the hotel before going to request a poolview and received a reply next day saying we hadn't originally booked that but could go to travel agent to change. We took our chances and didn't bother in the hope they might but as it turned out, glad they didn't. Our room was above the entrance to the hotel with a beautiful view of the hills and lights, music from the downstairs terrace and the sun all day, we could sit at night watching the world go by.
Around the pool there's a bar open during the day and a snack bar with the usual burgers, hotdogs, cakes etc just off the main restaurant. Plenty sunbeds, no need for a mad rush to bag one and when the pool shaded early afternoon the rooftop terrace with synthetic grass, wicker furniture and sunbeds and a bar was peaceful with the sun all day. There was a cordoned-off section for nudist bathers if that floats your boat and also a couple of plunge pools which were not heated and the railings were all loose which was an accident waiting to happen. The main pool is heated with a rubber underlay.
On level -1 below the reception level there's a sauna (9e per halfhour) steam room, kids play area, tv for football fans,arcade games, massage, those fishtank things for cleaning your feet, conference hall and two courtesy rooms, toilets and luggage room. All in all we had a good time here despite a few niggles, you are asked for your room number everytime you want a drink, they mark your A.I. band with your room number at check-in, not very secure if others saw it or overheard it while telling the staff it and when entering the restaurant you are asked if you'd prefer to sit inside or outside (outside is still actually inside but separated and overlooks the pool, maybe they open the sliding windows during high season) but you get used to it. The final thing is that they have their own photostaff and they can be a pain while sunbathing as they always appear round the pool taking pics, never known this before. Would I use this hotel again? Yes, I think we would despite the few niggles, we did enjoy the place overall and the great weather.

Room Tip: Rooms above the entance to the hotel have sun on the balconies all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 28 nights in March at this hotel having been unable to book at The Adeje Gran (sister hotel across the road).I would re-iterate SNOCKWOLVERHAMPTON with regards to rock hard beds (no mattress toppers available!).Food boring with poor choice, very little fresh fruit ,it was mainly tinned and in sugar syrup.The short order chef doing fresh meat/fish etc. was using the same utensil to handle cooked meat as fresh meat!?.(this caused another guest to complain but nothing changed).For the most part my wife and I just ate salad and ice cream at the evening meal and jogurt and tinned fruit for breakfast as the bacon was of a sloppy limp consistency and the remainder unappetizing.We were not happy with our first room and requested a move which was granted.We moved to a room where some form of engine was continuously running on the roof of the next door hotel which meant that we had to keep our door closed to mitigate the noise.All in all not a good place to stay for 28 nights and I will not be staying there again. Two positive points 1. The staff - particularly cleaning ladies- were very good.2.We were able to watch BBC 1 and ITV on TV.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed all-inclusive in mid March and had a very enjoyable stay. This is a very well run hotel and the good organisation and excellent staff is the best aspect. It was refreshing to stay somewhere which was adequately staffed and the service was excellent - the staff themselves (in the main) seemed happy in their work, which is a sign of good management.
There were downsides - it does need some investment. The main entertainment room was something out of the 70's with huge pillars which drastically reduce the viewing aspect, the airconditioning was slow and noisy, and there was a lift out of order for the whole week. The food was very average with a lack of variety and poor labelling. As usual for mass produced food, you need to use the microwave provided if you like your food hot. We found the drinks in the entertainment room very watered down - I think they have the glasses lined up with ice melting for too long (being a bit too organised!)
The main pool was good, although partly shaded at this time of year but the rooftop terrace was a big plus with a lovely layout, a nice peaceful atmosphere, beautiful scenery,two small pools for a dip - oh and a bar!.
The upstairs bar had a good layout and usualy had a solo entertainer (keyboard or guitar) but had other novelty acts such as parrots show and a snake show. Some of the main entertainment downstairs was very good, especially the Eagles tribute and the Three Tenors but some were poor.
The rooms were clean and spacious and the whole hotel was clean and tidy.
We found the district of Adeje to be very clean and the location of the hotel very good. There was a local market just round the corner twice a week, the local bus service stopped also round the corner and the tourist train stopped outside the hotel. The promenade and beaches were a five minute walk away.

Room Tip: Take note of all the reviews. I would certainly recommend 3rd floor or above to give you a view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hotel staff were excellent and extremely friendly. Room and hotel décor was in need of a refurb and beds were rock hard although cleanliness was excellent. The location of the hotel was good for visiting all areas of Tenerife and the beach was only a short walk away. When it came to the food that's another story. I am not a fussy eater but the food at lunchtime and in the evening was inedible. It was cold, tasteless, poor quality, poor choice, and food hygiene was poor. After the first night we never ate there again. I also started suffering with stomach cramps after the first evening. Breakfast was average and I still don't know how to boil eggs with a hard yolk and runny white and i'm a chef. Bread became the main staple of our holiday. This meant we spent a lot more money than we anticipated eating out. Our room was also next to the lift which was extremely noisy especially early morning. A 4.5 rating is way over the top for this hotel and don't believe those that say the food is good unless your use to cold slops and stomach ache. I would not return there in the future and would class it as a 2 *

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the lift but most were of average rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for the 2 weeks before Xmas on an all inclusive basis, booked the package with easyjet,our room was a good size and cleaned well,the shower screen leaked badly which I reported to reception but nothing was done about it,I think this might be a common complaint to be honest but we just put a towel down to stop the water running into the bedroom,
Food was ok,drinks I thought were fine,you can have a bottle of wine with lunch and dinner, non alcoholic cocktails for youngsters were good,the staff were friendly enough , kids club was useful and handy, the entertainment team worked very hard and were great with the kids,entertainment was OK,
we had exceptional weather for the end of December but the sun only gets half of the pool area, pool bar was fine,a good policy was that the pool guard will take any towels off beds if put on before 9 I think it was,towel hire was useful and can change the towel as often as you like,the lifts breakdown regularly and need to be reset by reception staff,I personally think this is unacceptable as our daughter has a wheelchair and HAS to use the lift but hopefully the problem will be addressed ' there is a bus stop outside the hotel and a taxi rank too so getting around is no problem,supermarket across the road,the roof top terrace is really good and perfect for people without children to soak the sun up all day in peace and quiet ,
all in all we found the hotel very good value and we would certainly return,

Room Tip: Rooms opposite the dining room get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Short last minute break.had no problems at all,emailed hotel beforehand and requested choice of room which we got.
Room big,fridge,decent balcony,all clean,beds etc changed daily.I took own kettle as none in room. Overlooking pool area where there are plenty of sun beds,we did not use those preferred the rooftop area which was nice,adults only , again plenty of beds. Good that you are not allowed to reserve beds before 9am,pity all hotels do not adopt this policy.Towels available to hire if needed.
Entertainment. There were musicians,singers and children's entertainment but we did not stay in hotel at night so could not comment on quality but big crowds did choose to stay n and watch so maybe ok
Food. We opted for B & B and had plenty of choice,fail to see how anyone could go hungry here,good selection to suit all tastes with eggs.omelettes all cooked fresh for you and no long wait as previous reviews have stated, even toast machines were quick with 4 available.Fresh rolls cooked continually.
Resort area. Good location, only a slope down to beach/front not big hills as previous reviews and either way there are alternative routes to get there easier and quicker. Leisurely stroll takes you past the marina to Playa de las Americas about 45 mins or other way to El duque area which is much nicer.Lovely and clean everywhere with plenty of lovely areas to walk,benches everywhere if need to rest. Good choice of bars,restaurants,shops all close by,we tried different restaurant each night,lovely meals at Colonial and Gran Reserva? Both in Fanabe area to suit all budgets.
Market next to hotel thurs and Saturdays.Beach 5mins walk or nicer one 10 mins to El Duque.
All in all could not fault stay,weather really lovely ranged from 22 to 29 degrees,bit cooler at night ladies take a cardigan/jacket but have been to Tenerife many times before and cool nights only usually apply to this time of year.
Everywhere I.E hotel,resort etc spotlessly clean,friendly staff I think you can always look for something to moan about but don't think anyone would have just cause to here.

Room Tip: Room 320 opposite restaurant.has pool view and part sea view,sunny balcony all day,quiet at night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Address: Avda Bruselas 13 | Urb. Playa De Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.