We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good--Gym very poor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel to your Saves list
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Bruselas 13 | Urb. Playa De Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overall Good--Gym very poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A really nice hotel that was very clean with efficient staff.The food was of a high standard and it is close to many amenities.
One of the main reasons that I booked the hotel was that it advertised gym fitness facilities.I was really disappointed to find the gym in a poor state of repair with the equipment being old and dangerous.I paid the extra to go to this hotel as it had these facilities.
Additionally one of the female supervisors within the restaurant was particularly rude on one occasion due to the fact that My elderly father ad I had sat at a table for four due to the tables for two all being occupied.She informed us that we should have waited.Please let me say that all the other staff were very helpful and the roof top solarium is a lovely area to sunbathe.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel faces the road and the open air bar area where there is a lot of smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear BKW65,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor.

We do apologize for the attitude you found rude to your family , so we can take the right measures to avoid this situation to happen again.Please accept our excuses.

Our guest s' feedback is highly valued by all our team , so thank you for letting us know your personal opinion about the gym facilities that we'll take into account to increase the quality of our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    877
    352
    108
    47
See reviews for
756
947
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Did Mobster really stay in the same hotel as us? We have just had a really lovely week at the Fanabe (9th to 16th Nov). The food was fab, plenty of choice, shown to our tables lunch and dinner with the tables set out really nice, with waiter service for the drinks. There were small queues for the freshly cooked food, but that was expected if you wanted freshly cooked eggs etc. Plenty of other choices if you couldn't wait. We were never that starving that we couldn't wait a few minutes. The cleaning staff were in abundance and very friendly, always a smile and an "Ola". All the other staff were friendly. The picnic lunch that you could order up to 8pm the day before was enough to feed on for a week, with lots of fresh fruit included. The location of the hotel is just a 10 minute stroll from one of the loveliest beaches I've been on - Beach del Duque. Catch the bus to Los Christionas and walk back along the lovely promenade, takes most of the day if you call in a few shops/bars on the way. We stopped spontaneously for a 2 hour boat ride to see the Whales and Dolphins which was brilliant.
Never saw a cockroach once!!! This was our 8th visit to Tenerife but our first stay at the Fanabe, second stay for our friends, we would definately stay there again and would stay in the same side of the hotel overlooking the mountains.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking the Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Kim S,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Hotel Fanabe and for recommending it to others.

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied with the hotel staff, services and facilities. It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Really nice hotel - maybe needed a bit of TLC but it was very clean and tidy. Staff were very effiencient and on the ball. Only stayed B & B but the breakfast was very good - something for everyone. The hotel is near everything - supermarket across the road, bars nearby, restaurants also nearby, short walk to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 331debspaul

thank you so much for sharing your experience at Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor .

All our team is pleased to know you are satisfied with the quality found during your holiday stay, we work hard on daily basis to meet our demanding guests expectations and keep improving services and facilities to offer the most pleasant stay possible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, Scotland
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have not written a review on here before but I cannot let folk who have booked a holiday in this hotel get worried about Mogsters review which is a complete nonsense. We have just returned from this Hotel for the second time this year.It was very good once again,( the length of Mogsters review goes to show that they went on holiday just to compile a huge list of complaints which, unfortunately, is what some people go on holiday to do.).

We requested a room overlooking the pool on the sunny side of the hotel, ( opposite the restaurant ), which we got.
The hotel is not pretty from the outside as lots of previous reviewers have mentioned , but inside , it is spotless. We had to step past an army of cleaners to get to breakfast, I have no idea what mogster was on about.
It's true that the design of the hotel means that some of the pool area is in shade if you go out of season, but they try to stop block booking sunbeds with towels, and there are loads available so you can drag one from the shady side to the sunny side if you want.
The rooms are a wee bit old fashioned but they are spotless, cleaned to an excellent standard daily , what more can you ask for?.
The buffet breakfast was very good, great choice of fruit , plus there was fresh eggs and omelettes cooked for you if you were prepared to wait for a few minutes.
Evening meal buffet was good, 2 meats and 2 fish dishes cooked as you waited as well as other pre-cooked options, downside was the freshly cooked options could become a bit overdone if there were no takers once it was ready, but that is the same for a buffet choice in any hotel.
If you are looking for a good, very clean hotel,with excellent staff , you can't go wrong with this hotel. We're planning to return again in March next year.

If you want rooms to an ideal homes 2012 exhibition standard hotel with Gordon Ramsey providing individual catering, then perhaps you'll need to dig deeper into your pocket and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view , ask for an even numbered room, however the side of the hotel above the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Mick_Greenock,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Hotel Fanabe and for recommending it to others.


We consider a balanced value for money is one of our strenghts and also working on permanent basis to meet our guests expectations.
It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed there for one week but i think the price is a bit too high for received services. Rooms were clean but very "tired"-looking...elevators had some troubles on working...had to use stairs..no problem for us to move from the 3rd floor to the 1st or 0 by stairs,..but for elderly ones quite challenge. ..
Dinners are not worth of mentioning...after the first experience we went all other nights outside for dinners...due to the very good location we had great dinners nearby...hotel has nice lobby bar and musicians to entertain at the evenings...Breakfast-choice is very good.
Free wifi covers only information about the Tenerife...for using all other internet-needed sites you have to pay for it...It was also too noisy for me...(voices from corridor at nights were very well-heard into the room...
Excellent 3 star hotel, but a bit poor for 4 stars. ...all-in-all good but not perfect..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear seppi77,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Hotel Fanabe in TripAdvisor.

We have been changing elevators, We hope you accept our excuses about any inconvenience caused due to the works that took place during your stay.
We are sorry to hear our food didn't please you, We can assure you we happily welcome any comments and suggestions from our visitors given via TripAdvisor to improve.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I highly recommend this hotel everything in our stay was perfect and we really enjoyed our time spent over there. Rooms are very nice and clean aa well as toilets.
Location is fine as hotel is only few minutes walking to beach.
Food was very nice and there was good variety. Service was absolutely excellent and all of the staff were really doing what they could to make all of guests happy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Milosz9

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Hotel Fanabe and for recommending it to others.

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied with the hotel staff, services and facilities. It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just returned from our second AI visit this year to this hotel and we love it. Right from the time we walk in to the time we leave we feel at home, the hotel is cleaned daily to a high standard and the food is fab with plenty of choice even for fussy eaters. The staff were always polite and friendly and always ready to have a laugh and joke with you. It was everything we wanted for our holiday and our second time we came with friends who had previously stayed elsewhere and they loved it too. The packed lunch would have fed an army!!

Room Tip: We had rooms over looking the mountains and we never tired of the view this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Julie W,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Hotel Fanabe and for recommending it to others.

We are all very happy to know you had joyfull holidays with us and our staff, services and facilities met your expectations.

We appreciate your positive comments on the variety of food & our staff, being friendly and kind is a must for all of us at Hotel Fanabe.
Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Hotel Fanabe Team - @HotelFanabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel

Address: Avda Bruselas 13 | Urb. Playa De Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fanabe Hotel Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Adeje
Hotel Fanabe Tenerife
Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur
Fanabe Costa Sur Tenerife
Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanabe Costa Sur Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.