We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bouganvillas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Costa Adeje
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bouganvillas
Save
You added Bouganvillas to your Saves list
Calle Cataluna 2 | Torviscas Alto, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Belfast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Not a bad hotel. In great location.

Rooms are kept clean as are the 2 pool areas. Food not bad is decent both at breakfast and evening. If you like food dishes they always have several in the evening. Look out for Domingo in the restaurant......great waiter.

Small issues would be that rooms need a bit of a lift with some more decoration and the toilet facilities on the pool level can be a bit smelly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel was awful, the star rating was far to high for the quality of hotel. It was run down, dirty and wasnt suitable for disabled which I'd asked for. Our room was never cleaned, there were boxes in the hallway for rubbish, which as the temperature was 39C, smelt terrible. The wardrobe was so small the coat hangers had to be put in sideways as didnt fit, no place to put suitcases so room very cramped. It was also far away from the beach and bars/restaurants, the distance too far for the disabled person holidaying with us, so we had to use taxis. This distance was not in the hotel description. There didnt seem enough staff to cope with the cleanliness of the hotel. The man that ran the pool side snack bar also swept, emptied bins etc all whilst cooking your food, then worked in the bar at night. The kids club was very poor, with a few chairs put out for finger painting. The evening entertainment was run by the same 2 people that did the kids club. It was the worst thing I've seen in my life. One evening the entertainment was staff dressed in nappies made of towels, shooting each other with pretend rifles as they fought over kids toys. I don't expect my 3 and 7 year olds to watch such a thing. We all got ear infections from the dirty pool (in the 10 days there never saw the pool being cleaned) and had to be put on ear drops and antibiotics. The tiles around the pool were very slippy, broken and were cleaned with a hose pipe at night, the water was swept into the pools. I had a sickness/tummy bug, which my father in law and also the couple in the next room got. The people in the hotel were as constantly fighting over sun beds, if you didnt have a towel out by 2am you didn't get a bed. We had our towels stolen, so did the family next door. The language used by the people around the kids pool was like something from the gutter, even my 7 year old kept saying about all the naughty words. All in all, the weather and beach were fab, we found some lovely restaurants (especially The Pepper Pot), but the hotel and some of the guests ruined our holiday.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

my husband and I are regular visitor, we had 4 weeks in June Half board. The staff are now like family great welcome every time we arrive. The hotel was refurbishing the top 2 floor and around the pool area (increasing safety) There was no inconvenience as work was carried out while the most of holiday makers were at breakfast. We always relax in the large pool area where the lower restaurant is, and this was where the work was being carried out (no problems) every day staff came around the pool areas with goody (melon, ice cream, non alcoholic cocktails etc)
All staff very helpful and friendly . We have never had to ask for our beds or towels to be changed. this is done everyday without fail and we have been visiting this hotel for over 20 years i suggest you go and stay and enjoy your holiday and remember to are not in Britain but a foreign country

Room Tip: If you are a smoker ask for floor 1 or 2. and do not smoke on other floors. We like to stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fab Hotel, Food is Excellent such a great choice of meals every night Service is great the waiters are fast and efficient, Rooms a little old fashioned but they were clean and tidy, Staff could not do enough for you Highly Recommend it.

Room Tip: Not Sure, but if you ask when booking they can be accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

just had a fantastic week here 21st april.the hotel is really good, food is great ,you would be better staying home if you could not find anything to eat in this hotel.staff brilliant ,very clean and pools excellent.the bedrooms need a bit updating, bathrooms very clean towels changed every day.no need to take beach towels as the have a pool towel service.i would like to thank 118 travel who i did my booking with.there site is simple and easy to book with, and if you have to call them they are very helpful and friendly.i would certainly book with them again and return to this hotel.
ann and friends eccles.

Room Tip: side or sea views would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

On arrival hotel looked lovely reception, bar ,pools , all lovely then to the room, furniture shabby is an understatement sheets on bed paper thin and not ironed ,towels have seen better days food choice good if u like pork, the best part of the stay was the staff all very friendly no way is this hotel 4 star it makes you wonder who grades them Cleanliness of room very poor

Room Tip: Wait till refurb has finished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

my husband and me went to this hotel first holiday on our own 5 april for a week. it was brilliant the staff so friendly pool amazing entertainment was good to.we found a little pub close by was called bar canario is a must staff there are so friendly too. cant wait to go back !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bouganvillas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bouganvillas

Address: Calle Cataluna 2 | Torviscas Alto, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Bouganvillas Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouganvillas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.