We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Hotel Gran Tacande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Hotel Gran Tacande to your Saves list
Dream Hotel Gran Tacande
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n | Playa Del Duque, Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Family of 4, 2 children 7 and 10, stayed 1 week from 9th april. Excellent welcome and helpful reception staff, free upgrade to a suite which was a lovely touch. We had junior suite (room 155), fantastic amount of storage, jacuzzi bath and jet spray shower and two balconies. Spacious enough for all four of us. tv did not work correctly and even though 10.30 at night, within 5 minutes maintenance were knocking on the door to resolve. room was more than adequate but not brand new so if you are really fussy, you may, for instance, think a bit of regrouting may be needed but nothing that bothered us and it was very clean,husbands brithday while we were there and champage delivered to room. location great, near beach and other local restaurants and only 20 minutes / 25 Euro from airport. Food was good variety and replenished often, but for a change, even though we were half board, we did eat out half the time to get away from buffet type food. All round, great holiday. this is not the proper luxury of some 5 star hotels (e.g. in Dubai) but for value for money,location and lovely staff, we thought the hotel rated well and would go back.

Room Tip: 155 with pool view good and is junior suite. would not say sea view any better than pool view (where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. It is really nice to hear that you had a great family holiday in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and that you liked the Junior suite with pool view so much. Our staff works hard to guarantee the best service in our hotel so that you have an amazing vacation, we are glad that you mentioned that. We are happy that you liked our food and the variety. We also have two other restaurants besides the Restaurant Zurrón (Buffet): The Restaurant Portofino (Italian) and the Restaurant Bocana (a la carta). We hope that we can welcome you back soon. We also offer an special 5% discount with extras for repeaters who book directly with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    242
    65
    32
    19
See reviews for
405
582
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Gran Tacande,,.and we have already booked for next year (2014)
Words are difficult to find to describe what a wonderful holiday my wife and I had. The experience started from the moment we arrived at the Hotel.. the warm and professional way in which we were greeted.. and then being taken to our large and typical Spanish designed bedroom, with terrace and large bath and shower room.
Then the dining experience... greeted by the smiling face of the waiter, again warm and professional at the same time... and the abundance of truly excellent food. We had half board following previous recommendations.. and this proved right. No need to go hunting for outside restaurants.
In the evenings there was entertainment in the Bar Lobby.. relaxing after relaxing in the beautifully laid out garden and pool area. This is excellently laid out and quite unique. A external protected area outside the Dining area provides outside dining.
The warm salt water in the pool areas is quite unique.
The beautiful beaches and coastal promenade is just two minutes from the hotel gardens.
This was one of the best holidays we had experienced and we look forward to returning next year
with the booking already confirmed.
The added bonus is the reasonably short journey to the airport

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your very good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you recommend our Dream Gran Tacande 5* so much and that you are going to stay in our hotel again next year. It is really nice to hear that our staff enabled you a relaxing and comfortable holiday on Tenerife with their warm, professional and very friendly behavior. We are glad that you liked our food in and around our hotel, the bar and especially the location of our hotel. All our four pools include salt water of high quality and it is nice that you enjoyed them a lot. We are looking forward to seeing you in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* next year.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our first holiday abroad without our children (now all grown up) so looking at previous reviews we decided to spoil ourselves, we were not disappointed. It was perfectly located for the beach and shops, from the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough for you, The hotel was very clean and the maid did an excellent job looking after our room, loved the chocolates each evening! We did mention it was our 25th wedding anniversary trip so the bottle of champagne in our room was a lovely touch, Breakfast and dinner was amazing, the choice was vast and Debbie made a lovely omelette cooked to your liking. The chocolate fountain was delicious! We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view and we were not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you had such an amazing holiday in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and that you are planning to visit us again. The aim of our staff is to make your vacation unforgettable with their friendly behavior. It is nice that you mentioned the good of our staff. As soon you have a problem, a request or just a wish, tell our reception and they immediately take care of it. We are glad that you liked the location of our hotel and especially our food. We are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second time to Teneriffa. On our first trip in 2011 we stayed on the north side of the island. I can say that we both really liked the Costa Adeje area much better, which is located on the south side of the island. This trip we arrived for a week on 8 April 2013. The hotel was very nice, clean, and the staff was very helpful when we arrived. We were told that Americans very seldom come to this area and hotel. That was perfect for us, we just blended in the best we could with all the other guest, which mostly consisted of people from the UK, Germany, Spain and the Netherlands. For any Americans reading this review, fyi, the Europeans really know how to vacation/holiday, and the Dream Grand Tacande is a really good example!

First the staff. Every person we encountered was very nice and helpful. Many went out of their way to make sure that we were taken care of. I noticed a lot of guest arriving and greeting the staff as if they were regulars. That told me that these people must have liked this place so much that they return on a regular basis. That was impressive since there are so many other nice hotels in the area. It was obvious to me and my wife that the staff were not beginners or amateurs. Working at a 5 star resort requires being the best at providing service to the guest. I can say of all the places I have stayed in Europe over the past 10 years, this staff topped the cake.

The room was very nice. It was not what you would call fancy, but it was clean and very roomy and had a typical Spanish style. The balcony was very large and we had a beautiful view of the coast line. The only thing that would have made the room better was to have some English speaking TV channels. Watching the BBC and CNN got a little boring all week as these were the only English channels available. Actually this is normal in many hotels in non English speaking nations, so I always bring alone some movies we can watch on the computer, besides, there was so much to do, who would want to stay in a hotel room all day and watch TV! Another plus that impressed me was they have free high speed Wifi in the rooms, and all around the property. This was nice since we were able to use Skype to stay in touch with our kids.

The restaurant was amazing. The food consistently good and was the best we have had at any resort we have been to in Europe. We both kept telling each that almost everything we ate was near perfect. They did not cut any corners as far as we could tell. The variety was very good too, and the staff was there to assist you with anything you needed. We had dialog with several of the staff members and they made us feel like we were special and had known us a long time.

The pools were nice and clean, but still a little chilly for the wife. I did, however, swim some and enjoyed the slightly salty water. The best part of our stay though was the extra package we purchased when we arrived. This was an upgrade for 180,00 Euros that gave the wife and I a 15 minute massage for 5 days, and use of the very nice spa. This was something that we both looked forward to everyday, especially since we both are doing an exercise program on DVD to lose some extra weight and to tone up. After the exercising, we would go get a massage and use the jacuzzi, many different showers with pulsing cold and hot water, aroma room, steam room and sauna. I would finish up with some laps in the special pool for swimming laps. All I can say is we both were completely relaxed after all this and ready to enjoy our evening meal and walk on the boardwalk. This extra package also gave us some drinks in the minibar, a newspaper every morning, and 2 dinners at their special restaurant, which the food was amazing.

The Dream Hotel Gran Tacande was a week of paradise for my wife and I. We are still talking about our trip even weeks after returning. We are making plans with some friends to return to the same place next year, and that is a first time we have done that of all the places we have visited. If you are looking for a really nice affordable 5 star resort, we highly suggest this place. You will not be disappointed unless of course you are hard to please.

Room Tip: The have rooms that face the pool area and other rooms facing the ocean. We asked to have an ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your really good comment on tripadvisor. Our management appreciates a lot that you recommend our Dream Gran Tacande 5* so much and that this is the first time that you are planning to return to the same hotel. It is really nice that you mentioned the hard, professional, friendly and satisfying work of our staff. Their aim is to make you feel comfortable in our hotel and to fulfill every wish of you and even more. We are glad that you liked you room so much and especially the big balcony with the great view. We apologize for the small amount of English channels, it is good to know that is too less, so that we can solve that problem. It is also good to hear that you liked our four pools with salt water and that you wife enjoyed the high quality massages so much. You can book half board deluxe in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* which includes some extras for your holiday, for example the daily Thermal Circuit and 15 minutes DOSHA massage in our Spa Vitanova and daily newspaper in your room and a basic drinks package in the minibar and much more. It is very nice of you that you compare your stay in our hotel with paradise. We are looking forward to seeing you again in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. As we wanted to visit again our recent holiday lived up to expectations and exceeded them! The staff made our visit delightful , remembering our name as well as our tipple in the bar and the chef cooked our food just right in the restaurant. We look forward to our return visit,but even if it is your first visit every confidence that whatever you require they will be more than happy to make sure you enjoy you stay. It is definitely worth talking to the staff if anything is not quite how you want and it will be resolved .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for you really good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you had a fantastic stay in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* and that you are planning to visit out hotel again. If you have any problem or request or a wish, just talk with our reception and the will immediately take care of it, so that you can enjoy your holiday completely. It is nice to hear that you liked our food so much and how the chef performed it. We are really looking forward to seeing you again in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. We also offer a special 5% discount with extras for repeater who book directly with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just returned from a week at the hotel Gran Tacande and the fact that we are intending returning probably says it all. Good quality, generally helpful staff, great position next to the beach, restaurants and the bes shopping in Tenerife.
Previous reports have talked about the great service and we also found the staff helpful without being overbearing. Eileen on reception was excellent (an impression helped by a nice room upgrade on arrival!) and as you get older that glass of champagne at reception is rarely turned down now.
Starting with the rooms - the upgrade helped so my comments relate to a senior suite. Understated and generally good quality. Probably lacked that REAL 5* pizzaz but at no point did we feel neglected. A massive family sized jacuzzi was a nice touch. A BIG bathroom in this room by the way (637) We had two furnished balconies (with a wall between them so no communication) with fabulous 270degree views of the water, hills, shops...One small cost of being near shops and restaurants is we were wakened by the early morning delivery/cleaning lorries a few times. Not the hotel's fault by any means. Beds were comfortable and the room was well maintained.
Pools - Not bad. Plenty water (salty) but the hotel needs to attend to loose tiles and crumbling plaster around the edges. One of a few things that took the 5* star edge off. Also very busy at peak times. At no time were me unable to get loungers but occasionally required a bit of a hunt.
Food - I wouldn't normally associate 5* hotels with buffet-style meals. A la carte menus, silver service and slower paced meals are the mark of a top-end hotel. Having said that the buffet was excellent. Great choice & good quality.
Entertainment - WELL....let's say 'mixed' Firstly the hotle should be commended for trying to lay on entertainment each night. But I would recommend they do LESS and BETTER. The good acts (Eagles tribute, Three tenors, Beatles tribute) were good fun but deserved bigger audiences. So, why didn't they get one? Because the guests get used to the woeful 'other' acts and assume the worst. lay on less, better and promote the good acts better. Some of the poor acts would have been chucked out of Butlins. I'm not even sure some of the acts were 'all there'!
Location - as good as it gets if you want to be near the shops, restaurants etc. And the good news...this is a fairly top-end area. You're only 10 minutes walk in one direction to 'Blackpool with sun' but 2 minutes walk in the other direction (right) finds lovely beach side restaurants, cafes and some decent 'middle-of-the-road' but neverthless very good music venues.
Gym / Spa - Well equipped and worth a visit. The guy on reception at the gym needs 'tuned in' though. he was one of the few grumpy, unsmiling and uncommunicative staff.
When commenting on this hotel some people have said it feels more like a good 4 star. I know what they mean as it does lack that 'special' feel. BUT...it lacks that 'special' price too. It was a good value, good quality hotel. I don't think it will feature in Conde Naste any time soon but it's really good and we intend to go back.

Room Tip: 637...a little occasional early morning noise (delivery trucks etc...) but 270 degree views and BIG
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate that you recommend our Dream Gran Tacande 5* so much and that you liked the high quality of the hotel. It is really nice to hear that you liked the Senior suite with the Jacuzzi, the big bathroom and the fabulous view over the sea. All our pools contain high quality salt water and we renovated our pools at the end of April so that there are no more crumbling plaster around the edges. We are happy that you liked the excellent buffet, the great choice and the good quality of our food. It is not always easy to meat everyone’s taste through the entertainment, but our animation team works really hard to animate and amuse all our clients. The hotel is located at the Playa del Duque, one of the best beaches in south of Tenerife and there are also a lot of restaurants and bars, where you can enjoy your time. We are glad that you mentioned that and also the shopping centre Plaza del Duque. Our Spa Vitanova is also high quality and we apologize for the one guy who was not that nice to you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in our hotel and that you are planning to return. We also offer a special 5% discount with extras for repeaters who book directly with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Dream hotel Gran Tacande for a week beginning 14th April 2013. This is a fabulous hotel food, service ,rooms and cleanliness are excellent had a great holiday hopefully returning in Oct. We stayed half board the choice at Breakfast and dinner is the best we have found in Tenerife. Cannot fault anything

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamplaceHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your good comment on tripadvisor. We appreciate a lot that you and your son had such a fantastic vacation in our Dream Gran Tacande 5*. Our hotel is suitable for persons in wheelchairs so that they can completely enjoy their stay. Our staff works hard to make your vacation amazing. So it is nice for them to hear that you liked the food and the cleanness of our hotel. Our hotel is also located at the Playa del Duque with a lot of different restaurants and bars and a nice shopping centre. We hope we can welcome you in our Dream Gran Tacande 5* again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Hotel Gran Tacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Hotel Gran Tacande

Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n | Playa Del Duque, Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream Hotel Gran Tacande 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Dream Hotel Gran Tacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Dream Hotel Gran Tacande Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.