We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Hotel Gran Tacande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dream Hotel Gran Tacande to your Saves list
Dream Hotel Gran Tacande
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n | Playa Del Duque, Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
5% de descuento
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Hotel Gran Tacande. We stayed at the Vincci Plantation (also in Adeje) 2 years ago but were looking for a hotel closer to the seafront. This hotel was perfect. From the champagne on arrival, very welcome after a 4.5 hour flight from the UK and a 4 am start, the large and spacious room overlooking the sea (we were upgraded from a standard room), the violinist at breakfast (a very civilised start to the day!), the pool area, and the fact that you could exit the hotel from the pool area and were right on the front where the best shops, bars and restaurants are located all contributed to the perfect break. One of the hotel's best assets is its staff who were so friendly, welcoming and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we have ever experienced and it appeared that we and most of our fellow guests were enjoying a complimentary glass of excellent Cava with our breakfast - in spite of the early hour it seemed quite normal whilst on vacation sitting in the sunshine!! Our beds were extremely comfortable, the room was quiet and the TV remote worked well. Toiletries in the room were excellent and plentiful. The shower worked well with plentiful hot water. Minor gripes - the bath towels were rather small and I wish they could repair the loops on the bathrobes. The hotel information folder in the room had seen better days and a list of recommended restaurants and a hotel postcard would have been nice. We will definitely be booking again for the same time next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    209
    55
    27
    19
See reviews for
358
476
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have recently returned from an eight night break at this wonderful Hotel. We could not have enjoyed better service from the moment we stepped out of our Taxi.

The staff on reception greeted us with a smile and a complimentary drink at the bar whilst our bags were taken to our room.

It was my Wife's 50th Birthday and the Hotel upgraded us to a suite with a wonderful Jaccuzi Hot Tub laid with rose petals, a chilled bottle of Carva and a basket of fruit ..... a very nice touch.

The rooms were spotless and well maintained as was the rest of the Hotel and the service from every member of staff was 100% at all times.

We booked half board and found the food both at breakfast and in the evening to be of a very high quality with a hugh range of choice that should cover all preferences.

The pool area was very well maintained and staffed, although the Hotel was almost full we had no problems finding a sun bed at any time of day.

The Hotel is situated in one of the best upmarket areas of Tenerife within the excellant del Duque beach area, a side gate from the pool area gives you a two minute walk to the del Duque white beach and Promenade.

We would highly recomend this Hotel and it's wonderful staff and will certainly book again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A really good hotel with all the facilities required for an amazing holiday. The staff went out of their way to please and be helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. I was staying in a junior suite which was great, but after a slight problem with the air conditioning, was moved to a suite - wow! More like an apartment!
The food was fantastic - a superb breakfast with everything you could wish for. The evening meal was also excellent with an incredible array of choice.
The weather while I was there was not brilliant which made it even more important to be in a good hotel and Gran Tacanda ticked all the boxes. I would recommend it whle heartedly without reservation.

Room Tip: A junior suite is well worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from our first holiday in this hotel and cannot praise the staff and accommodation highly enough! Unfortunately we had a very rainy week but the experience of staying in this hotel ensured that our holiday did not suffer at all .Our suite was immaculate, spotless and very comfortable. Unfortunately the extreme wet weather caused our bedroom window to leak but within 30 minutes the maintenance staff had resealed the window and left the floor totally dry. Every area of the hotel was clean, tidy and beautifully decorated.
ALL the staff throughout the hotel were extremely polite, friendly and very keen to ensure that our holiday was an unforgettably wonderful experience. The evening entertainment was thoroughly enjoyable and varied throughout the week. Our flight home was not till the evening and we were provided with a courtesy room of the same standard as our accommodation to shower and change in.
All in all, we have to say that this hotel provided a perfect holiday of very high standard and comfort.
We will definitely be returning next year and will recommend the hotel to all our friends.
Roll on next year!!!!

Room Tip: Am sure that each and every room in the hotel are of the same high quality and comfort as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spend load of time in large starred hotel and try to avoid them on holiday, to go for B&B instead, instead of what I call "Concrete resort factory". Since we were very unlucky with the weather, we decided to go for these, to enjoy the facilties and entertainment... But I have to admit that I was very pleased by the quality of the rooms and scenic view... The Buffet had loads of choices, but the atmosphere was a bit too "Cantine" like (very factory like)...

The staff was nice and considering we made a Walkin, I was very please with the room, Dream says it all... Great location, great maintenance, great rooms, You really can't miss your holiday going there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Excellent hotel, very imposing entrance & reception. Rooms were excellent, serviced daily. Meals were excellent, great standard & choice, both at breakfast and evening meal.
Rooms were large and had a view of pools and sea and the surrounding area was very pleasant, with a good variety of restaurants nearby.
The only moan I have is that I would have liked water in the rooms, but other than that, the whole experience was great. 5* quality at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: We paid for a normal twin room and a sea view double (approx £300 difference) and we got 2 rooms nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our second holiday at Dream Tacande having stayed there last year. When you book for a second time you are apprehensive that it might not be as good as you remembered. No such problem at Dream Tacande. From the minute we arrived it was total bliss. We have never known a hotel where every member of staff greets you with a smile. Our holiday was total relaxation and our experience was even better than last year. The evening entertainment was better this year and I can recommend the cocktails. Luis at reception and all reception staff should be commended for the warm welcome they give each guest. There is an extensive activities programme if desired but we were happy sunbathing at the top pool which was very peaceful. The rooms are spacious, we stayed in room 305 which had a double aspect window and beautiful views of the sea. There is an extensive choice of food at breakfast and enjoyed a glass of Cava to start the day. The hotel is situated in Playa del Duque area of Costa Adeje and is very quiet at night. We did not use the spa facilities so cannot comment on it. We hope to return to this hotel next year and would have no hesitation in recommending it. Can't think of anything negative about this hotel or the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dream Hotel Gran Tacande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Hotel Gran Tacande

Address: Alcalde Walter Paetzmann s/n | Playa Del Duque, Fanabe, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dream Hotel Gran Tacande 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dream Hotel Gran Tacande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Costa Adeje
Dream Resort Costa Adeje
Gran Tacande Tenerife
Dream Hotel Gran Tacande Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dream Hotel Gran Tacande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.