On arrival at the hotel we were very tired so we just wanted our keys and to go to bed. After all the paperwork we got the key card and off we went. On opening the door to our room was very dissapointing, it was dull, and not at all inviting, I know you don't spend your holiday in your room but it is nice to wake up with nice surroundings. I opened the balcony doors, looked over the edge only to be met by 8 huge fans pumping out all the fat and food smells from the kitchen. This was totally off putting so we went back to reception to be moved. The lady there was not very nice, she said we had only booked an economy room, what a cheek! we were never told it was an economy room. We were given keys to another room and off we went again, same kind of thing but worse, dull and smelled very strongly of cigars, opened the balcony doors to be met by a flat roof and a wall. By now I suppose a lot of you think we were over reacting but we have stayed in some tired rooms but none as bad as these and 4* you must be joking! Off we go again to reception, by now my tiredness had gone and I was fuming. We said this room was as bad and we didn't want it, a youg girl asked us to go with her to show us another room. The 10th floor, she opened the door and it was lovely, painted white, all white bed linen and lovely walk in glass shower room. She asked us if this was ok and of course we said yes, she told us to come down to reception so we could change all the key cards and update the computer etc. Then the bombshell, 340 euros please she said, we said you must be joking, if you want upgrade its 340 euros. Anyway we paid it but it did eat into our spending money a bit.
Have to agree with what most other people say, the staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was good, oh and no matter what anyone tells you they ARE DOING RENOVATION WORK, we double checked before we went and were assured by Thomas cook nothing was being done, they lied. We wouldn't go back again because we feel like we were ripped off and we wil be putting in a complaint to Thomas Cook for the 340 euros we had to pay extra, don't think we will get it but you never know. Hope nothing like this happens to you people who are going there, hope you all get a lovely room and enjoy your holiday.
Go for the higher rooms but beware of the extra cost.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Although we feel deeply sorry to hear that your holiday experience in our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel didn’t meet your expectations, we are very grateful for the time you spent to share your personal impressions as only through your feedback we can take your vision into consideration to improve our services and guarantee excellent holidays to all our guests.
We are sorry to read that your room didn’t meet your expectations and would like to suggest that for any upcoming holiday planning you visit our webpage or contact our call center for us to give you all the relevant information and offer you a personalized booking guidance so you choose the destination, hotel and accommodation type that best fits your holidays needs and wishes; moreover, we lament reading that our staff member didn’t tell you straight away that the last room that was going to be shown to you was one of the Star Prestige priority location area and subject to an extra charge, we will pass on your comment to our head of department in order to revise and improve on this point and please receive our most sincere apologizes for the inconveniences caused.
On the other hand we thank you for your praising comment on our staff’s kindness and helpfulness, we are glad to read that you felt well cared after during your stay with us.
Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and for having chosen to vacation with us. We hope that your perception of IBEROSTAR hotels and Resorts was not totally tarnished due to this isolated circumstance as we sincerely hope that we will once again be given the opportunity to prove you our commitment to excellent customer service and guest satisfaction.
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.