We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Bouganville Playa to your Saves list
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eugenio Dominguez, 23, 38679 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Overall we liked this hotel,
The good things, =
The pool area is really nice and we never had a problem getting a sun bed, the pool was also warm enough to go in.(maybe slightly heated?) The staff at the pool bar very pleasant and helpful.
There was lots of things going off around the pool, table tennis, pool competition's etc., lots of people were getting involved.
The location is good and the views nice.
There's a balcony in the dining hall, it was lovely to sit out there, that was special.
The rooms were a little dated but clean and comfortable, the maids were very good.
The bad=
The food was no where near as good as sister hotel Las Dallias, we were expecting the same sort of standard and it isn't, after saying that it isn't bad, there's a lot of variety and they are trying to cater for everyone.
The dinning area staff don't seem so happy and were not keen to clear tables or deliver drinks.
There was some building work in progress near the pool, we were not informed about this before we arrived.

This hotel has huge potential and when the refurb has been fully completed im sure it will be wonderful, but they will need to improve the standard of food and also some of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    617
    295
    122
    45
See reviews for
441
744
62
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. Was end of aug/sept. We had a great time at this hotel. We always found the food to be great and there was plenty of choice. All the waiters where very friendly and all worked very hard. Our bedroom was always cleaned everyday with fresh towels. Pool area very clean with three good pools. The club team where so nice. My wee boy just loved them. They where alway's so friendly. They work very hard and long hours so all respect to them. The hotel was in a great location. Found lot's of good bars not far from hotel as we where half board. Would go back here again and would do all inclusive next time. In all we really enjoyed our stay here and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and our 6 month old baby after not being able to get the Las Dalias across the road with the rest of my family.
On arrival the reception staff did not crack a single smile, all I can say is come on people Customer Service is your job.
The room was tired and smelled a little weird.
The cleaning staff on the floor where friendly and helpful to our requests. The bar staff where miserable all the time, no please or thank at all. The pool was nice and clean and sun loungers very comfy.
The Las Dalias reception staff where so friendly and even gave us bands so we could us their facilities with our family every day and I must say the restaurant and pool area where much better quality. The staff at the Las Dalias where in a completely different league to the sister hotel across the road. It's such a shame you see the contract between both hotels.
The atmosphere in the hotel was non existent so we practically spend all our time in the other hotel.
Overall the hotel was used to rest out heads but everything else we preferred to go across the road to use. Shame as we spent a lot of money for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Although we deeply lament reading your disappointment on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville hotel, we are grateful for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your experience so we can take your vision into consideration to improve our services and keep on maintaining our high quality standards at all times.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn’t feel well cared after by our reception staff and would like to apologize for not having met your expectations related to the service in our bar. We passed your comments to the involved department and we are revising the procedures to guarantee a splendid service from each and every staff member. We lay high value on the client orientation of our employees, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out our cleaning staff and will congratulate them on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Last but not least, we are glad to read that our pool area was a pleasant aspect of your stay and to hear that you felt well cared after by our staff in our sister hotel IBEROSTAR Las Dalias.

Once again, many thanks for your review, we will take your constructive critics into consideration to keep on guaranteeing the fabulous holidays’ experiences which IBEROSTAR is famous for.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bouganville from the 30th of August to the 6th of September. Our airport transfer was 20 minutes and when we arrived around lunch time we were greeted with a refreshing tropical squash which was a nice touch. Our room was on the second floor, it was a basic room and to be quite honest we were hardly in our room so it really didn't bother us at all that it was so basic. The maids ensured that our room was cleaned everyday and we had fresh towels. We ate at the hotel restaurant every morning and night as we paid for a half board holiday. We absolutely loved the food on offer as there was something for everyone. One thing however that we were not informed about by our travel agent is that men were required to wear long trousers only at evening meals, just as well I read the tripadvisor reviews and told my dad!
The restaurant is a buffet style restaurant with plenty of choice for breakfast some of which included bacon egg sausage pancakes toasties omelettes croissants fresh fruit yoghurts and a variety of cereals. At breakfast there was tea coffee and several fresh fruit drinks such as orange pinapple lemon and mixed fruits and also milk and water. At dinner there was plenty of meat, fish and vegetarian options. The drinks you chose to have with your dinner were noted on a piece of paper and you were handed a receipt which you then had to take to the reception and pay for at any point in your holiday. We decided to pay for them right after dinner as it saved us worrying about loosing or forgetting about it. The staff in the restaurant were lovely especially a man called Ruben who was very friendly and welcoming. He did make our stay memorable and is a real asset to the Bouganville.
The hotel has a lovely big adults pool which has sun loungers available at all hours of the day. We never struggled to find the 3 wee needed as well as a parasol. We were never informed by our travel agent about the renovations at this hotel however I had read a few of the reviews on this site so knew what to expect. We often heard drilling for an hour or two but we just chose sun loungers as far away as we could and the noise never bothered us at all. The pool bar also operated like the restaurant and any drinks were put on a receipt. We enjoyed the raspberry and lemon slushes on offer which we had often. Each day we were offered a free sample of bar food or drink some of which included ice-cream chocolates or even a pinã colada. The animation team were all very energetic and try very hard to get holiday makers involved in pool games and to come along to their shows at night some of which included mama Mia and rocky horror. One thing we as a family found fun was the water aerobic classes led by a girl called Sophie who was lovely. The animation team however often decided to walk around the restaurant during evening meals approaching tables and often making us feel a bit uncomfortable, we understand their intentions were simply to check that we were enjoying ourselves and to make sure our food was ok but it was strange and often distracting/annoying having a group of people constantly walking about and checking everything with you several times during your meal which we assumed was the waiters job?
The hotel was so big that it had a lovely movie theatre, hair salon, champagne bar, an outside rooftop for drinks which was absolutely beautiful with picturesque views of Costa Adeje, a hotel masseur who charged €25 for a massage, a solarium and so much more!
The Bouganville is situated in a fantastic location. Not far from the Siam park which we chose to get a taxi to which cost us €5! Much safer than walking. We were also a €5 taxi ride away from the Safari Centre a very popular night time outdoor shopping centre with plenty of designer and market type shops and some restaurants. Ideal for picking up a few presents to take home or just to spoil yourself!
Our hotel rep Tede with Thomas Cooke was kind enough to sort us out with a twin park ticket and even phone up for a bus transfer to Loro Parque for us as we simply couldn't understand the Spanish lady when we tried to phone. A bus to Loro Parque took roughly 2 hours but we had to pick up a few other passengers along the way which is why it probably took so long. Both Siam and Loro park were good days out, not just for families with young children!
We would love to visit the iberostar again as it was an absolutely fantastic holiday! The staff were all so kind and welcoming. We can't wait to see what the hotel will be like once all of the renovations are done. Thanks again to all of the Bouganville staff for making our holiday so memorable and working so hard for not just us but all of your holiday makers! We will definitely be back

The Smiths

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. On arrival we were very disappointed with the standard of the room and asked to be moved as we thought they were definitely not Iberostar standard (furniture really tired, chipped and generally in a bad state of repair) they said they would upgrade at a cost of 210 Euros per room (we had 2).We decided against that and to be fair it wasn't a problem. The views were amazing. Our biggest problem by far was the BUILDING work around the pool which we along with half the guests were not informed about. Only one tour operator had been informed and their guests given the opportunity to move prior to departure.
We most definitely would NOT have booked this hotel on this basis because the purpose of this break was for my husband (who is a Foreman on a BUILDING site) had recently lost his mom to cancer and he needed to relax as the previous 4 months had took their toll on him and my dad is due to have a surgical procedure at the end of September so we thought this was a good time for a break. Well you can imagine how angry he was to be faced with yet another building site.
When i approached the reception staff on the first day (Thursday 5th) to be told it would finish shortly within the next couple hours. I accepted this but it actually went on all day until about 4.30. The following day we got to the pool at about 9am and the building work was already underway (drilling and cango type machinery removing the concrete from the columns of one of the dinning rooms) ,The noise was horrendous and i approached the reception staff again who proceeded to say yet again it would be finished by the lunchtime but again this went on all day. It was time consuming going backwards and forwards to reception as you constantly had to negotiate the lifts and then queue behind other people waiting to be seen.Saturday morning it started again and when i went to reception the reception manager apologized and said it would be finished in 15 mins and for our inconvenience she would give us a free lunch . It actually finished about 1 hour later. Sunday was bliss no work underway and we could benefit from the lovely views from the pool but it was short lived on Monday it started again and that was the pattern for the duration of our stay.After speaking to a rep it became apparent that the hotel had failed to inform the tour operators of the building work. I asked to speak to the manager to challenge him on this but as usual he wasn't available (i wonder why) the reception manager offered me everything but i refused to accept their offers as i would rather not have had to go through this than walk away with free upgrades on my next visit.The idea of a holiday is to get away from it all, relax and enjoy . This was by no means a relax. It was a shame that the hotel let themselves down by not being upfront and honest because after speaking to several guests they have a lot of loyal returning customers year after year. We would return again but i will make sure there is not a builder or drill in sight

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Barbara,

Although we deeply lament reading your disappointment on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa hotel, we are grateful for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay.

We would like to offer our apologies to you and your husband for not meeting your expectations and assure you that we always work to satisfy our guest’s wishes and to make them all feel welcome and well cared after at all times; we are sorry to hear that the reconstruction of the barbecue restaurant’s pillars was such a disturbance during your stay as we tried our best to minimize the nuisances, we surely learned from this experience and commit, for any future hotel’s refurbishment to find suitable solutions for our guests to be able to enjoy their well-deserved holiday among us.

Once again, thank you for the opportunity that you have given us by choosing our hotel and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide, ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Kindest Regards,

Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Was a bit nervous going to this hotel after reading the reviews especially as it was my first time away with my baby but I needn't have worried it was great. We were on the 7th floor, great views room was cleaned every day, was dated but didn't really care. Food was fantastic couldn't fault it. What I noticed was how hard working the staff were they seemed to work constantly. Sophie at the entertainment was just lovely and always coming for cuddles from my baby girl. Great location for nice walks. The only thing that annoyed me about the holiday is how rude people are, clearly manners are out the window, people just jump in front of you when your in a queue but that is nothing to do with the hotel. Fab first wee family holiday. Would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in late August/early September 2013 and when we arrived a day late after a nightmare flights we were lucky enough to be upgraded by the hotel and ended up on the top floor A and had lovely refurbished rooms with a sea view. the rest of the hotel is very clean and once the rest of the bedrooms have been refurbished (they have done the top 3 floors) will be a nice hotel.

the food is good varied choice every night and always loads and they are constantly replenishing everything. drinks are about usual priced for a hotel, but be aware when half board you do not pay at the time but everything is put on your room number but you can pay the bill as often as you want or at the end. We never struggled to get a table at meal times and they are always cleaned and cleared by the hard working and very pleasant waiting staff.

The entertainment and club staff are all very nice and try their best but they are not the best but do try.

they are meant to have a policy of not reserving sun beds but this is not enforced and so if you cant beat them join them and to be honest we never struggled to get sunbeds the 2 weeks we were there.

The dining room on the bottom floor that is usually used for lunch is currently being refurbished and the noise was terrible constant drilling which was really noisy when around the large pool it was very annoying especially as there was nothing about this on any site and neither were the travel agents aware. This started the beginning of September and apparently once this is done they are going to update the large dining room.

nice local pub at the Star bar across the road and they have decent entertainment on an evening and service is good. Christies bar just out the bottom gate and down toward the beach serves lovely home cooked food well worth a visit

Loro park and Siam Park are well worth a visit, and Siam is only a 5-10 minute walk away and well worth getting the joint ticket.

All in all a nice holiday but until the building work is completed I wouldn't be returning but once it is all done will be well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the room any on the newly refurbished floors are very nice and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23, 38679 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#19 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa Hotel is a beachfront resort along the shores of Playa del Bobo. This top hotel is ideal for family holidays on the island of Tenerife thanks to its attentive and professional staff, countless fun-filled activities, and the best in comfort that you could imagine during your stay along the Costa Adeje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bouganville Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.