We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Bouganville Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberostar Bouganville Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eugenio Dominguez, 23, 38679 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Costa Adeje
king s lynn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My friend and I, both mature ladies, enjoyed our holiday immensely. The hotel and its staff were faultless. The food was delicous and plenty to choose from. We enjoyed the evening entertainment every night, the ample measures served in the bar adding to our enjoyment! The two large pools and terraces were lovely although crowded at times. The proximity to the beach, shops and bars was very convenient. Will definitely go there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    524
    262
    108
    40
See reviews for
349
629
48
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have just returned from this hotel again another Iberostar visited however I feel this one is ready for a refurb. The pool was a bit grubby and the bedrooms were rather dated. I would say it is in great location but would only rate 3+
Breakfast was good but evening meals were a bit boring. The dining area was a bit of a bear fight at times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Judith,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

Further, we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can. Even so we took good note of your commentary and we commit to revise if we can renovate some of the areas.

On the other hand we are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed all of our other services and we will certainly congratulate all of our staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights, the immaculate cleaning, the entertaining animation and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

In name of all of the staff we thank you again for your visit, we were all delighted to have you among us, and we would be honored if in the not too distant future we have the pleasure to welcome you back in our Iberostar Bouganville Playa.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The location is excellent on the 'border' between Adeje and PDLA. The sun decks are well layed out with great sea views. However the hotel has a 70's feel to it. The rooms are past their sell by date when compared to comparatively priced alternatives. The 12" box tv in the bedroom complements the decor and worn furniture. The food was good rather than excellent and the dining room had a rather chaotic feel to it. The well documented lifts are inadequate for the number of guests due to the split levels and its a case of every man for himself.We stayed at the Torviscas Playa last year and were more satisfied with the layout, food and general ambience. I would only stay here again if there was a special deal due to the very good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very sorry that on this occasion your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies. At Iberostar Bouganville Playa, we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We are aware that the Iberostar Bouganville Playa isn´t of new construction, nevertheless, we confirm to exert it´s maintenance and preservation the best we can. We strive to offer comfortable accommodation to all our guests and therefore we count with the services of our technical department.

In addition, we would like to apologize that you perceived your stay less relaxing than you expected. We do our best to organize well so that everybody can enjoy his dining. To the precise moment of your stay, the coincidence of people wanting to go out on the same time may have provoked a bit more of a rush than normally.

Related to the location, we thank you for highlighting how much it satisfied you. It is always pleasant to read that our guests enjoyed the glorious natural environment, the
beautiful golden beaches and the unlimited fun and leisure possibilities of the Costa Adeje.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback which gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests an even better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar. We hope you will have an opportunity to return and enjoy our Iberostar Bouganville Playa again in the future.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed with a friend 21-28th october.Plus points food and drink excellent 99% of the staff friendly and hardworking.The hotel is in a good position.However we were very disappointed with our room not 4 star.It was tired and shabby the chair and stool stained the bathroom ok.The corridors to the rooms dark and dingy.The view from our balcony was good looking towards the port side seaview and view of the mountains.Alot of the public area settees need replacing old and stained.Good choice of entertainment.Pool areas clean but very crowded.On check in met by elderley man no smile or greeting -quite rude who gave us wrong safe key with no apology when we went back.The ground floor toilets smelt of drains.The saving grace for this hotel are the staff and food.Come on Iberostar please update this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Judith,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

Further, we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can. Even so we took good note of your commentary and we commit to revise if we can renovate some of the areas.

On the other hand we are proud and happy to see that you enjoyed all of our other services and we will certainly congratulate all of our staff that contributed to delight you with the culinary highlights, the immaculate cleaning, the entertaining animation and the friendliness whilst serving you. This positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards.

In name of all of the staff we thank you again for your visit, we were all delighted to have you among us, and we would be honored if in the not too distant future we have the pleasure to welcome you back in our Iberostar Bouganville Playa.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have had our second holiday at the bouganville playa hotet Tenerife this year ,you just cant fault the hotel at all. The food- drinks -entertainment- staff are polite and very helpful .
When you come to book a hoilday the travel agents want people to pay extra for sea view rooms when the majority of the rooms have a sea view ,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burscough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed at the bouganville mid september for 6 days(we are always all inclusive) and what can i say, it is absolutely awesome.
Check-in - quick and efficient
The Room - The room was comfortable enough for sleeping and changing which is what you do isnt it! Who goes on holiday to sit in your room all day(wierdo's). The T.V. had a few british channels for emmerdale, corrie and eastenders on bbc and itv also sky sports for footie so it was good to have it on while in the room. Beds were good enough and the bathroom was fine aswell.
We were in room 411 on the 4th floor and the view off the balcony over looking both pools and right along the beach was 1st class. took photo's and they were like postcard views.
Also some people are a bit thick when it comes to air conditioning, no its not the greatest but dont let the maid in and leave your key card in the activator so your air con is on all day, that way your room stays a bit cool. your room cant get cool enough while your in there just to change for dinner.
Dining Room - the food was fantastic some basic show cooking while you wait omlettes and eggs(breakfast), and various meats and pasta at lunch and dinner. loads of choice, salads, meats, chips, potatoes, vegtables, i mean LOADS OF CHOICE. the sweets were good aswell.
The Bar(pool bar and main bar) - Service was good, but its horses for courses try to find a barman that suits you as some of the older ones can come across a little miserable but they did get on with some people, we tried to use one called Maxim most of the time as he was quite chatty and could have a bit of banter with you, and he was quite helpful.
The lifts - sometimes a bit slow but your on holiday so whats your rush. use the stairs anyway for going down get some exercise, its a good excuse for all the extra food and drink your having.
The Pool Area - yes, to get your choice of bed you have to get it before 10am otherwise you just get the best of the rest(big deal), the water was fantastic(really warm), and some fashion shows and other activities going on. I particularly liked the fact that they didnt have loud music on for the whole day, i mean there was music at the pool bar but the volume was just right.
Animation team - I am not a person that usually takes part but i did do a couple of activities, WHY because the animation team were very laid back no name taking or invading your space just walked around fairly low key calmly saying(not shouting) what was happening. And you could ask them or just join in when you wanted. The only place i've ever been where 30 or so people are waiting in the pool for the water aerobics to start 5 minutes before it actually does.
Evening Entertainment - In the main bar it was good, singers and duo's, i didnt go in the other bar as we went out to the local bars just for a change.
Surroundings - over the road 5 bars with all events, singers, football, karaoke, comedians and disco. A lot of the singers were good.
I've read a few people lost thier all inclusive armbands when they checked out which must be really annoying, it didnt happen to us, but, if it had i would of left the hotel with a really sour taste in my mouth so my advice to the hotel would be to just leave peoples armbands as most only have time for a drink or two and maybe some lunch before they leave. It all balances out in the end. It is the deal breaker for people to decide on if they would or wouldn't return.
I may go back late November but if not when im takin my break to Tenerife next year i will be looking for The Bouganvilles availablity before i look elswhere.
In May i stayed in th Melia Jardin which was excellent but the Bouganville was loads better.
I've stayed in loads of hotels in tenerife but the Bouganville seems to have everything just right.
to summerise in one word - FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: ROOM 411 WAS GREAT. any floor with a 11 or a 12 or a 14 above or below mine is probably great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

just returned back from a weeks break at fab tenerife.we normaly stay at the ARONA GRAN but fancied somewhere more central.as usual read some of the reviews, some good some not so good,got to agree with the not so good.the hotel is badly worn from the furniture to the bedrooms.
we asked to see an upgrade to executive room at the cost of 25 euros a day, the only differance was a plasma t.v (not worth it) the food was about average,the drinks from the bars does not seem to match the name on the bottle (very weak) not worth all inclusive.
we were on the sixth floor and the cleaner just tidied up, the bin in the b/room was not emptied until on the 3rd day when i put the notice on the door handle to clean room, glasses left on the veranda not moved, old pool towel good for floor cloths only.the one very good thing about this hotel is the staff, specially in the dinning room

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Bouganville Playa, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Roger,

Although we feel very sad to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Regarding our culinary offer we took good note of your remarks although we would like to point out that in Iberostar our chefs’ work in accordance to the demanding quality standards established by the company on a global level, therefore we only contract competent professionals who work with products of prime quality and we attempt to please all palates.

Further we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can. Even so we took good note of your commentary and we commit to revise if we can renovate some of the areas.

For Iberostar thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case any lack is encountered. As to us it is of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area we will be enchanted to adjust any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards.

On the other hand, we thank you for your praise and wonderful comments regarding our staff which is the base to offer the close and personalized service Iberostar is famous for. They always attempt that our guests feel very comfortable, well installed and welcome. We lay high value on our employees being guest orientated, as we understand that this is a prime factor to achieve maximum client satisfaction and therefore all staff members are chosen according to a specific profile and additionally they are given appropriate training. Being this one of our main strengths, we will certainly congratulate them for their performance.

Once more we want to say how worthy your opinion is to us and thank you again for sharing it on Tripadvisor. We look forward to serving you in the future and send you our best regards,

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Bouganville Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Bouganville Playa

Address: Eugenio Dominguez, 23, 38679 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Bouganville Playa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa Hotel is a beachfront resort along the shores of Playa del Bobo. This top hotel is ideal for family holidays on the island of Tenerife thanks to its attentive and professional staff, countless fun-filled activities, and the best in comfort that you could imagine during your stay along the Costa Adeje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Iberostar Bouganville Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Bouganville Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Bouganville Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Bouganville Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Bouganville Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.