We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HOVIMA Santa Maria

Save Saved
You added HOVIMA Santa Maria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOVIMA Santa Maria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Espana s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Santa Maria Aparthotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 hotels in Costa Adeje
coventry
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

just returned from the santa maria and can honestly say it was fantastic,read a few reveiws on here before we went and was a bit worried,but on arriving that all changed,
the hotel staff were very helpful and spoke really good english,our room was on the very top floor (7) and it was brilliant,it has everything you could want, including a hair dryer in the bathroom,the pool area is nice with 2 pools the smaller one being heated,plenty of sunbeds available.
the wigan arms is just round the corner and does a fantastic breakfast for 3 euros.
if you like chinese food or indian there is a chinese right on the corner which is really good and the indian right next to it is honestly one of the nicest currys i have ever eaten, harleys is just up the road to the left which you have to try,its like tgi's or frankie n bennies,food was very good.
the aquapark is good but a bit of a rip off once you have paid in you have to hire your sunbed at 4 euro's each and you have to hire your rubber ring for some of the rides 8 euros each.
loro park is a must with a fantastic sea lion,dolphin and orca whale shows,really good day out.
i would give the santa maria and its location 10 out 0f 10
hope this helps
cheers and enjoy your holiday

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    155
    75
    27
    26
See reviews for
118
158
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

We have just returned from a week at Santa Maria Hotel. My husband and myself went last year and had such a great time we went again this year and took our child who is Three, we all had a really nice time.

The hotel is very clean and our room was cleaned every day.
Their are 2 pools and a baby pool that you can paddle in.

The bar food was nice and not dear at all. There are lots of restaurants near by too.

Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday and we are going to go back in September.

  • Liked — Great pool and sea view
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2007

Having stayed at the Ocean Beach last year, I was able to see this Hotel from my balcony.

I came home last year and looked at reviews for Santa Maria, and alot of what I read had made me nearly regret booking, my girlfrIend was nervous and so was I!!

We arrived at Santa Maria on the 19th June 07 and our first impression of the reception was basic, but nice.

Our room was on the 1st floor and still we had a great view of the pool area and of the sea.

We had a decent sized bathroom, big bed, large storage space, breakfast bar and kitchen with toaster, kettle, microwave fridge etc. We had a big sofa that we could relax on to watch tv!!

Our balcony was nice and had a great view.

The pool area was very clean, staff were out every morning cleaning it all at 7.30am!!

Plenty of sun loungers, the umbrellas were free and so to were the padded covers for your loungers!!

Some people were down every morning putting their towells down!!

Out of the hotel at the bottom of the hill to right is a big supermarket were u can buy all ur english/british food. On up that street is Harleys American Diner!! You have to try there!!

Another great place to eat (our fav) was when u come out of the hotel and down the hill, cross over the street, go down the hil heading towards the beach, before you get there over to the right is a big restraunt caled Tuscany!! They really look after u and the food is 1st class!!

We went to Loro Park and would def recomend you go there!!

All in all, we had a brilliant time!! Its a nice surrounding area and Santa Maria is lovely!! Not one cockroach the whole time!!

We will have no problem going back!!

So dont let mixed reviews worry you!! This place is great!!

Hope that helps!!

  • Liked — Veryu clean, loads of entertainment for all ages!!!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, West Sussex
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2007

I have stayed in Tenerife a number of times and I have to say that Santa Maria is one of the best places that I have ever stayed in. It was very clean, lovely big rooms, wonderful pool/bar areas and it is in a excellent location 5 min walk from the beach & harbor and with a great choice of restaurants & bars.
I would recommend the Santa Maria to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

Stayed for 10 nights on a half board basis.

Rooms cleaned most days and of a good standard although on visiting other family members in their rooms it is apparent some are better cosmetically than others.

Dining is adequate if you want something to eat but if you want special food or to make your evening meal your night then this isnt the place its really just predictable half board food which lacks child choices. Oh and if like me you are veggie its salad or such delights as brocoli with cheese or spinach pie.
Also some delays restocking food.

Staff , well some particularly in dining area would benefit from some lessons in being nice but on whole good.

Pool areas very nice and no evident shortage of loungers.

Overall yes would stay again but not for the food!!

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We booked this hotel after searching many other hotels for playa de las americas in Tenerife as this was a good cheap deal and had okay reviews. We arrived here on a friday and found the reception staff very friendly with good English, we were given our key and told the way to our room. Room was nice and basic. Nothing special but it is a 3 star hotel so just similar to all other 3 star rooms. We thought the studio was a decent size with a seperate bathroom, and kitchette and balcony. Our balcony unfortunatley had a poor view as we were located at back of hotel :( also the balconys are not very private as you can see into next doors balcony not great if you want some privacy! everything else was fine, please note there is no air con or fans so if your staying in middle of summer I can imagine it bein terribly hot! the location was good but not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties as its very hilly and to get to all shops/bars etc you have to walk down a steep hill and back up to get to hotel its very tiring!! about a 5 min walk from beach and some lovely restaurants to try out with reasonable prices. Be careful though buying soft drinks in these places as they charge alot more than an alcoholic drink. The pool was nice and we found a sunlounger available most days but beware it can get busy"! the pool was cold but its quite refreshing as its so hot. Snack bar is very good but not a huge selection of food maily chips etc.. Lol the hotel bar area is nice and relaxing with entertainment every day but alot got cancelled with out tellin anyone. Overall a pleasant stay and would reccommend to others in search of a basic 3 star hotel in a lovely resort! would go back x

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HOVIMA Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Santa Maria

Address: Avenida Espana s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Santa Maria Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOVIMA Santa Maria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your HOVIMA Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Maria Aparthotel Hotel Costa Adeje
Aparthotel Santa Maria Adeje
Santa Maria Tenerife
Aparthotel Santa Maria Hotel Adeje
HOVIMA Santa Maria Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOVIMA Santa Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.