We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Family Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Adeje Gran Hotel to your Saves list
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent 10 days here and had a fabulous time at this hotel on an All Inclusive holiday. Once you find your way around it's a fab place. The kids club is tucked away in a corner but my daughter really enjoyed going. There is so much choice of food and it's all delicious. I have to say though, I wasn't impressed that they charged us for a lot of the kids stuff, such as "slush" drinks around the pool. If you're on an All Inclusive and going out for the day they will prepare a picnic for you. The rooms are spacious and cleaned every day. The only fault with this hotel is the air con, even on full it doesn't make a difference!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    1,081
    372
    84
    39
See reviews for
829
1,525
25
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

had a fantastic October half term holiday here. Kept checking the reviews before we went and on the whole they were really good, a few raised some concerns. I can honestly say we had a fantastic holiday, upon arrival which was almost 9pm at night the receptionist told us to have something to eat before the restaurant closed and she would take care of our bags. This we did and when we returned to reception we were taken to our room, all very painless 9 hours after leaving home. Yes the entrance is beautiful and very elegant and I have to say our room was lovely on the second floor overlooking the pools/sea. Very spacious as previous reviews have mentioned. The hotel is spotless and our room was cleaned daily providing new towels and changing bed linen if you left the card requesting this. The food was great, we went all inclusive with our 16 year son and we found something each of us enjoyed whenever we went into the restaurant - plenty of lovely salad and fruit every day. The pools were spotless as well and yes, if you try and reserve your sunbed before 10am then you will find your towels/belongings have been removed, and quite rightly so, nothing worse on previous holidays to come to the pool and find no one there but plenty of towels on loungers!! The staff were all lovely, from the waiters at meal times to the bar staff in the evening, we were always looked after, and if we did have to wait then it was no big deal, we certainly didn't wait long. So my honest review is that it is a lovely hotel and I can find nothing to say to fault it. We have come home to a cold England feeling relaxed and recharged and all being well we shall return again next year. Thank you Costa Adeje Gran Hotel for a wonderful holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Went Sept/Oct 2013, pre booked taxi transfer from airport to hotel, it took 20 mins.
On arrival smooth check in, no wait, given a drink and our cases where taken to our room and waiting for us when we went up. The room was spacious with a settee and a chair in the bedroom, flat screen tv with most of our main English channels, bed comfy fridge and safe in room, bathroom twin sinks, separate toilet, shower over bath and hairdryer, the towels where changed twice a day.
Pool area, two large pools, both quite cool, plenty of beds available at all times, never had a problem getting two together, plenty of umbrellas, but there was a problem with them blowing over and away in a slight breeze, they where not safe and this needs to be sorted before someone is injured. There is also a rooftop pool with great view, but you have to be up there early as there are not so many beds. You have a voucher for sun towels you redeem by the pool and you can change them as often as you like.
Dining room, this is where the hotel falls down, and why I don't rate if five star, we where never met and seated, you had to wonder about to find a vacant table, along with whoever arrived to dine the same time as you, resulting in quite a few people wandering about the dining room at the same time, and this was constant as you where dining, we mostly had to sit at a table where some one had just finished, and wait for the waiter to clear and reset the table, this is not the fault of the waiting staff, as they all work very hard, there are just not enough of them. Although there was always a choice at the grill area, where they cooked your food as you waited, and a stir fry section that did the same, once you had your meat the choice of food to go with it was quite limited, the dining room was always hot, I think the air con was faulty, limited choice on sweets, house wine red, white and rose, all vile, as all inclusive you had a discount on the wine you had to pay for, I would advise this option.
Entertainment, good on the whole, but there where a few poor nights, some seats have a restricted view, and waiter service is slow, you can sit outside but these tables where always at a premium, be early or prepared to wait for one, they should put more tables outside.
The layout of the hotel is confusing, with the pool on the second floor, one floor op from the reception area there are more bars, some with a view of the entertainment, the book exchange area is in one of these.
Out and about, as you leave the hotel, go straight down the hill to the new shopping complex, behind that there are steps down to the beach path that will eventually take you into the resorts main beach area. The quicker route is turn left out of the hotel turn right at the first island and follow your nose, also feels safer when dark. If you want sports there is a bar next to the hotel on the left, all English prem games on, the Chinese restraint next door is o k. There is a large market opposite the hotel, just to the left twice a week, Sundays and Thursdays I think.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel, we had a great time there but the dining room experience lets it down, I would say four star plus, not five star.
On checking out, when asked if we had any problems, I did mention the dining room problems, and the staff behind reception where shocked we where never met and seated, I also mentioned the problem with the umbrellas and the are aware of this problem and told me they are testing replacements.

Room Tip: if you have a room on the top floor ( the block under the roof top pool has one more floor ) the bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed in the gran hotel this October for a family holiday for the week. Overall we had a nice time the weather was glorious but we were some what disappointed with certain elements of the hotel.
1- general furnishing- the pool on the first floor was leaking down into the foyer which they tried to disguise with flower features. Wooden skirting boards were broken, and the side of the pool was damaged and cracked

2- rooms were well cleaned and we had fresh towels everyday- however having spent a small fortune in the hotel spa I noticed I was showering with a c*ckroach

3- service - the hotel had a mixture of all inclusive guests and non all inclusive guests. This system didn't work. We were left queuing at the bar rather than having a self service bar for all inclusive guest to use. Staff were over worked and running around trying their best to stay on top of everything.

4 - check out - was the same time as people checking in which left us queuing for ever to hand out room keys in.

5- all inclusive - we had to pay supplements for some drinks - which wasn't a problem had it been explained to us. The pool bar despite making lovely food didn't allow all inclusive guest to get food unless we paid and had to eat the buffet food which was left out all dry all day.



6- we didn't have a clue - we had to work things out for ourselves over the duration of the week.

7 - kids club - despite traveling with a 7 year old and booking this hotel to allow her to get involved in the kids club we were very disappointed. The reps were very average with very basic skills - aqua aerobics was terrible, and staff made very little attempt to involve the children or adults in any activities. As far as we were aware there were 3 reps - insufficient for the number of guests present- would not recommend this hotel if your children are wishing to be involved in good entertaining.

Outside entertainment was organised on the evenings - a wide variety of events which were great!

Having stayed in other 5 * hotels in lanzerote and Portugal I have to say I was a little bit dossapointed with this hotel, we had a nice time but wouldn't stay again. Tenerife itself was lovely - hotels in a great location - close to local bars, shopping centres etc. This part of Tenerife has really gone up market.

Food was good, am restaurant was lovely although we had to pay a surcharge of €15 each. There was very limited air conditioning in rooms, and none in the dining halls or entertainment areas - one big sweat fest!
Overall nice hotel, not amazing, requires improvement.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your time and this comment which is useful and important for us because thanks for that we can know where we do not meet your expectations and this is of great importance to us.
We are pleased to know that in general you enjoyed the stay.
Unfortunately we had slight technical problems with pool area, now we are trying to solve them with full warranty.
At the same time we are recovering some other areas which have worn over time.
We have guests with different board bases: BB, HB, AI, however we don’t consider this to be a problem.
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel don´t consider as a good option, use of self-services machines by AI guests, that’s for why we don’t have them in the Hotel.
We have waiters and barman services for all our guests and this widely value our customers.
Would be easier and less costly to put self-service drinks machines? Without a doubt… yes, but not really this same as a table services and personal contact with our guests.
We also want to clarify that we do not serve lunch or dinner at the pool bar. We do offer a Snack Buffet for AI guests, however the main services: breakfast, lunch and dinner always served in a large and proper restaurant La Finca. Pool bar is just for snacks!

General and basic information of our hotel is provided on arrival in our reception, and this is complemented with more information in the room as well as a TV channels. We also invite our customers to make any questions in case they need to,

Once again, thanks for all your comments. Without a doubt, we will work with greater detail in some of them to identify and act on those aspects that can be improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was our first visit to the Costa Adeje Gran Hotel and we had a lovely time. Entrance lobby is beautiful and we were offered a glass of bubbly on arrival. The staff are very friendly and give you a warm welcome. Rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable. Never had a problem getting sun beds and parasols - plenty for everyone. I think their policy regarding not 'booking' sun beds before 10am makes a big difference. The food was plentiful but by the end of the week the choice was becoming a bit monotonous. The location is good as you are within easy walking distance of the lovely shopping centre and lots of restaurants/bars. Siam Water park is a MUST along with Lorro Parque which requires a bit of a bus journey but is well worth it. On the whole we were very impressed with this hotel and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the mountains which was very quiet and peaceful however if I go back I think I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Overall a really nice hotel but not 5 star


Plus Points
Great Lobby as you come into the hotel this looks 5 STAR
Nice rooms with plenty of space
Very clean hotel
Food of good quality
Never a problem finding a sun bed
Nice pool Bar
Nice surrounding area outside complex plenty to do

Minus Points
Restaurant not big enough for amount of people mornings and evening meals it’s like a cattle market + you are never shown to your table you have to grab one where you can.
No tea or coffee making available in room.
Entertainment average the two good acts we watched were the 3 Tenors + a drag act
Pool bar very slow service
I felt the all-inclusive customers were always last to get served due to the fact they were not paying.
Poor food for all inclusive customers outside by Pool bar

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Director General at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.
We greatly appreciate your opinion about those aspects that you feel can be improved. Without a doubt, we will work on them!
About the distinction between clients, I would love to say that it is not at all our intention to establish any difference between our guests.
If at any time you could feel worse than other guests please receive our sincere apologies. All our guests are welcome and we offer the same level of services to all of them.
Once again, thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second visit to the Costa Adeje Gran Hotel and again we enjoyed every minute of our stay. OK so in comparison to some of the high end hotels in the Duque area it may not be 5 star these days but it still represents a good quality hotel for the money. Yes it may also need a lick of paint here and there but who's checking when you just want to relax by the lovely pool area!? The rooms are of a good size and quality and have everything you need, the breakfast is more than ample for your requirements with surely enough choice for everybody and the reception / bar / entrance area is amazing! We even tried the evening entertainment this time round and was pleasantly surprised by some of the acts although it has to be said they are not all of the same quality! If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a good degree of quality at a good price with a pleasant atmosphere and good pool area then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Always go for a high room. If you don't want to pay extra for a pool or sea view then request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Adeje Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Costa Adeje Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Costa Adeje Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.