We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but not 5 star!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Adeje Gran Hotel to your Saves list
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not 5 star!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We booked this hotel due to its five star rating however it should only be four!
The hotel lobby is very impressive and the rooms very modern and clean, however there has been some lack of maintenance which makes some of the hotel look shabby!
The hotel is a short walk from a few bars and restaurants, however you will to get a cab if you want to enjoy the local area. Five euros will get you to San Eugenio which is a thriving town with a lot going on.
Back to the hotel, we booked B&B as we didn't want to be tied to the hotel, we had one evening meal which was bland and not very appetising! The evening entertainment was ok but not great !
We had a room on the fourth floor and could hear the traffic in the morning and other people in their rooms moving furniture!
In all, nice hotel not worth the cost and a little bit out of the area.

Room Tip: Don't go all inclusive, spend your money in some of the great restaurants in San Eugenio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    1,081
    372
    84
    39
See reviews for
829
1,525
25
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laleham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Before I start, lets clear up the issue of the star rating. This hotel is rated 5 star. Now, many people review hotels based on how nice it is, and this is of course very biased. They may expect too much from a hotel for the money they paid, not travelled much or over-rate a hotel as it is much nicer than what they are used to!

I only define a hotel rating on the facilities. According to official ratings, this hotel has pretty much everything thata four star hotel should have. However, for 5 stars it should also have:

Reception opened 24 hours, multilingual staff - Yes
Doorman-service or valet parking - No
Concierge, page boy - Yes
Spacious reception hall with several seats and beverage service - Yes
Personalized greeting for each guest with fresh flowers or a present in the room - No
Minibar and food and beverage offer via room service during 24 hours - No
Personal care products in flacons - Yes
Internet-PC in the room - No
Safe in the room - yes
Ironing service (return within 1 hour), shoe polish service - No
Turndown service in the evening - No
Mystery guesting - Cannot comment

So, in official terms, this hotel is almost a 5 star.

My personal rating? A strong 4 star.

It is very impressive when you enter the lobby and has a lot of tertiary seating areas, internet areas. reading and adult themed gaming area's within the reception. You would be hard pushed to NOT give the reception / lobby of this hotel 10/10.

I found the bars to be well serviced , friendly and fairly quick.

The restuarant is divided into two. One part is arger with all the customised food preperation and can get busy, whilst the smaller areas has the standard food items and is quieter and treated as an overflow. Many reviewers have said that the service is slow and the waiters over-worked. Well, this must have been fixed as i found them to be very good at taking drinks orders, delivering and cleaning up. The variety of food is very high, rotated and monitored closely and cooked fresh. I am pretty picky and found it excellent. If i had their selection of salads and vegetables at home, I would be 4 stone lighter!!

The pool area's are very large and clean. we stayed the week before christmas, and although it was 26 degree's, it wasn't that busy so i cannot vouch for how many sunbeds would be available during the summer. The great thing is that they are strict about reserving sunbeds - a few times i saw towels being removed! On the note of towels, these are fresh everyday and can be exchanged as often as you like which is a nice touch. Yes, the sunbeds and umbrellas are a little old, but fine and fit for purpose. The wierd thing was the pools - they are not tiled, but have a plastic covering .Not sure if this a new thing for cleaning etc, but at least it was very clean!

The rooms. Better than expected basedon the reviews, as ours was very clean, well decorated and had new furniture, LCD TV, new clean bed sheets and the bathroom was well appointed and looked new. (room 462) I didn't see any evidence of the rooms being rundown. Incidentially, our room faced the pool/sea which was a nice view, but not a lot of sun at this time of the year. My sister in law had room 404 which looked out to the southeast over the town and the sea and was much lighter and she got a lot of sun (room 404).

Oh, and yes, the walls are very thin! We had a room next to my wifes parents, and could hear them talking etc!

Overall, one thing i would agree aboutis general repair. The hotel is very well decorated and has a lot of nice seating areas and furnishings that you would expect from a 4/5 star. However, some of the plasterwork needs some attention as the weather has got to it. I did ask casually about this, and they mentioned that it is planned early in 2013 as the hotel suffered from some bad weather a few months back. Wierdly, the corridors for the rooms do not have a roof which gives the hotel an airy open feel, but must be awful if it rains!

Would i stay again? Yes. The hotel is excellent value for money and is the best all inclusive hotel i have stayed in, and is in a lovely area as well and away from the chavy bars and nightclubs, and there are some lovely beaches nearby.

Room Tip: South east for the sun, and stay away from the lifts to miniise noise from tiled corridors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I should start by saying that the overriding memory will be of the fantastic staff. Everyone from the chamber maids and waiters to the reception were faultless. They were a delight !
The staff themselves and the very pleasant bedrooms and public rooms make this hotel worth its 5 stars but I have a couple of words of warning. More of this later.
I thought the all inclusive was good and I did not feel at all like second class guests as another review said. The drinks available were sufficient and the buffet food vast in the selection. The catering was done with care with attractive theme days. On Christmas Day there were some lovely touches like the Santa carved out of butter
There are plenty of sun loungers (thanks to the no reserve policy), there was always enough seats for the entertainment and should you wish to get away from the noise some quiet areas to sit (eg the reading room).
I would recommend that if you like a cuppa in your room then take a kettle as there are no tea and coffee making facilities but there is an empty fridge for your use.
My concern comes from the behaviour of the other guests. Although there is a sign to say no shorts for men in the restaurant, which was enforced, there were many other dressing horrors that were not forbidden. Women wearing the same things for dinner that they had worn at the pool all day. Men in ripped jeans, cargo pants, t shirts and training shoes. Shorts would have looked smart in comparison to some of these outfits.
I do not blame the hotel for what guests are wearing for dinner but I do blame them for not enforcing a standard. Ball gowns and black tie are not necessary but clean and at least smart casual should be a minimum.
As the buffet meals also felt like a bit of a bun fight it removed all feeling of 5 star quality.
If you want a relaxed meal in pleasant surroundings this isn't the place for you. However, if that aspect doesn't worry you then it is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 9-23 November 2012 with a group of friends. We had stayed at other hotels in the area so know our way around.
The hotel is certainly impressive with a vast entrance lobby area which is a bit sterile although the seating areas are comfortable and wifi reception is good. Some of the shops in the reception area were permanently closed which was unfortunate. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but one shouldn't get hung up on having a pool facing room as those on the south side of the pool hardly saw any direct sunshine. Our room was kept in very good condition during our stay and the staff doing this were very helpful.
The main pool area was spacious and tidy with no problems getting sun beds but was a bit noisy at times with the entertainment team but if this was a problem one could use the pool area on the roof which was very good but the sun beds could get filled.
The only issue I would have with the pool area was the appearance of the sun beds which were in need of cleaning due to the build up of grime on parts of them.
The gym was well fitted out and very good.
The restaurant was a disappointment. Not all staff were friendly and it was sometimes difficult to find a table for 6 of us because the maitre d or his/ her staff weren't always there to help. The dining room is divided into two areas and the smaller of the two areas is detached from the main servery. This room has its own servery but the food available here wasn't always as appetising or fresh as the main area. Especially at dinner.
The quality of food varied considerably from good to very average. The selection wasn't as good as expected especially the desserts and the presentation was average.
The coffee provided at breakfast was dire, the hot milk provided was awful the coffee machines were also poor, perhaps they needed a bit of maintenance.
Overall, we would have expected the hotel to be better. We felt it wasn't as good as two of the other (4 star) hotels we've stayed in, in the area. It is a little tired and perhaps in need of a makeover. That said, the rooms are among the best we've stayed in, in the area.

Room Tip: The rooms in the south wing, facing the pool don't get the sun. Generally, the balconies are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Costa Adeje Gran offers a spotless clean, spacious hotel serviced by a team of helpful and courteous staff. We stayed on half board basis and the selection of good quailty freshly prepared food at breakfast and dinner catered for even the most fussy of eaters.
If you want to be critical there are some area's around the hotel that you can pick out needing minor redecoration, however on an establishment of this proportion, the staff are doing an excellent job in maintaining the Hotel to a standard which is a credit to the management and owners
The Costa Adeje Gran 5 star service caters for guests either travelling alone, couples and families, the main pool area the preferred choice for families with children, where the roof top pool area the choice of the serious sunbathers preferring the quietness. The beach at del Duque is about 1 Km away down a steep hill, which would prove difficult if you have mobility problems, however if required Taxis to transport you to and from the beach are always available.
If you choose to eat your meals away from the hotel, within 1 Km a selection of resteraunts offering cuisine of every nationality is available.
This was our seventh visit to the Costa Adeje Gran and after trying at least another two locations to holiday each year, we always go back to the Adeje Gran because it offers such excellent standards and value for money

Room Tip: The Roof top pool is on the 6th floor, whereas the main pool area is on level 2, pool and rear moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed end of July, beginning of august with family.

The place was full to capacity but the place could not have been better.

Staff were all polite and excellent.

Food was good for buffet standards, the place was busy but that has to be expected in high season. Service was generally very good.

The hotel is in a very nice part of Tenerife and I would recommend it, we walked along the coast path to las americas one night which was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As you can see from my reviews my wife and i visit this hotel every year(Xmas)
.the hotel is looking a bit tired now .but we would still recommend it with regards to service location and price . although drinks are quite expensive so the all inclusiveness is a better option . there are however plenty of local bars very much cheaper for drinks .
As we have said before the staff here are always very helpful.
As for star rating I would class this as a good 4 star

Room Tip: You would be better of with a pool view if want the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Adeje Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Costa Adeje Gran Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Costa Adeje Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.