We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but poor location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Save Saved
You added Costa Adeje Gran Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 hotels in Costa Adeje
rochdale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel but poor location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Firstly let me tell you we have stayed in Tenerife more than 20 times and never stayed in this area. So we thought we would try a different area in the same resort we like , but it back fired. The hotel is great don't get me wrong but when we go on holiday we don't want to spend 24/7 in the place we want to try the local bars etc. but. ..... As this hotel caters for the dreaded ALL INCLUSIVE it seems to have killed the local bars as the 2 nights we went out it was like a ghost town with on-one around,in fact we sat in a bar no more than 30 yards away and next to it was another bar and a Chinese restaurant and in total there was 6 people out !!!!!! Other guests seem to want to stay in the hotel and eat and drink in there all the time ,but you could be anywhere to do that so it's not for us and we are moving back down to the Mediterranean Palace ! Where's there more going on outside the hotel !!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,346
    981
    343
    77
    36
See reviews for
778
1380
21
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Third time back, the food of course is excellent amd gets even better every time, however the rest is dire. Where has the service gone?? There just isn't enough Waiting staff, we where waiting twenty minutes for a drink, I used to go to the bar instead which u don't really pay for. The evening entertainment is absolutely shocking, it's atrocious. First night the Beatles tribute band and the lead singer kept drinking from a can of lager??? Very strange.. Third night it was a soul singer who cleared the room in 20 minutes, couldn't sing a word. Tonight was a mime and illusion act who cleared the room in 15 minutes, they were truly awful. We are very shocked at the entertainment and were paying £800 each, it's a joke. We feel so sorry for the people who arent all inclusive and paying 8 euros a G&T. Also why is the entertainment in the back room, it should be in the foyer like it used to be. We won't be returning if where honest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear philsidwell,

thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your stay at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

We are very sorry you didn't like the entertainment shows and because you are returning guest, your opinion has a special value for us. We'll pay extra atention to the entertainment and we asure you we are considering several improvements.

We are also sorry for the delay in getting your drinks. We are also about to open another bar area, not that close to entertainment as it's been demanded by our guests as well.

All our team hopes the rest of facilities met your expectations and we hope to have the oportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned from this hotel after a one week holiday.
Firstly let me say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay but unfortunately it's not 5*. Maybe we expected more but we have stayed in better 4* hotels.
Check in was quick and the staff lovely. Luggage was taken from us and delivered to our rooms
The rooms were spacious with a queen size bed wardrobes plenty of hangers, and a flat screen TV. Bathroom was large with a bath shower and Jack and Jill wash basins. There was a separate toilet so very useful.
Food was buffet style for breakfast, lunch and evening dinner good varieties on offer. There was show cooking at breakfast lovely omelettes with a good choice of fillings. It would have been so
nice to have a smile from the lady chef and also nice if she could flip a fried egg without breaking the yolk. At breakfast there was several choices of cereals, bacon, sausages, breads, rolls and cakes. Lunch there was cheeses and salads, cold meats, chips, beef and pork/chicken on offer.
Evening meal was again show cooking with pork/chicken/beef also pasta made for you and salads. There was also a good selection of fresh fruit and yoghurts.
I'm not vegetarian but I do think you would struggle for a hot meal at times.
There are 3 pools, which are cleaned each morning. You need never struggle to find a sun lounger or parasol as there were always plenty available. Sun loungers could not be reserved which I think every hotel should note. Pool towels are available from a kiosk.
Drinks on the all inclusive which we were, were the usual wines, beers, soft drinks. This is where I find it's not 5* there is a supplement for most branded drinks, now 5* hotel I have holidayed in had branded drinks included in the A/I. You have to pay for the mini bar to be filled.
The price of drinks if you were not A/I were expensive some being 7.90 euros.
Safety deposit boxes are available for 22 euros with a 10 euro refund on handing back the key.
It was our 40th wedding anniversary during our holiday and we were given a bottle of champagne and chocs. A very nice thought.
Also another reason not to be 5* was that this was the first hotel that you would pay for using a speciality restaurant. 14 euros per person. It never looked that busy.
The hotel itself was striking with a huge reception area, waterfalls.beautiful Christmas trees. Definetely disabled friendly with ramps etc.
The bar areas were large and usually had a singer/ musician on at night.
The entertainment well that's a different story. Strictly hit or miss. Saturday night fever was just ok. Eagles tribute was fantastic as was the Beatles tribute. But come on 45 minutes long. Far to short by far. Having said that there was a Johnny Circus night we were assured was fantastic. I think we must have no sense of humour. Considering there were children in the audience it was certainly not for them in parts. There was the usual mini disco but not many children took part.
Very disappointed in the hotel rating. Putting dressing gowns in the wardrobes doesn't make it 5*.
food let's it down as does the limited choice of branded drinks and cocktails on A/I.
Some of the staff are quite sullen especially the lady making the omelettes at breakfast.

Room Tip: We e mailed ahead for a high floor after reading some reviews. We had a room on the 2nd floor but wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear holidaycritic,
Thank you for reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

We are happy to know you enjoyed most of the facilities and your negative feedback is mainly because of the AI drinks.

Our Al programme can be downloaded from our website what we highly recommend guests to do so they can be sure what is included and what is not.
There are different levels of AI programmes in Costa Adeje Hotels and most 5* and 5* + hotels in our area have a standard AI programme and a special one that incudes more brands and a la carte restaurants if there are a few. At Costa Adeje Gran Hotel we only have one AI programme that doesn't include the a la carte restaurant, but your feedback wil be taken into account to make improvements.

Looking forward welcoming you in a near future

Kind regards frm Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just loved this hotel although we found the reception staff a bit slow and not very welcoming. We were not offered a welcome drink - which was a shame as they were there. I did go and help myself to water though. However, the hotel was fab. Great rooms well cared for and we found the food choice really good and of a good standard. Rooms had a safe but this had to be paid for. In a 5 star/all inclusive this should be in with the deal and safety should be encouraged but was a minor issue. In response to previous reviews getting water at the breakfast table was difficult but you could get your own and there was a coffee/hot chocolate machine. Overall, we were impressed with the hotel and particularly liked the foyer/bar and the live music. Bar staff were excellent.

We loved the fact that the sun beds could not be reserved and this rule was enforced. First time we have ever seen this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear marco087

thank you very much for reviewing Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

Please accept our excuses about not offering you a drink at your arrival and because of the delay in checking in.

We are happy you enjoyed a nice holidays at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel and room and other services met your expectations.

Looking forward welcoming you in a near future

Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is my first review and second visit to this hotel this year. We stayed in April and upgraded to a sea view and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As a result decided to return on 10 December for one week and bought a sea view from Alpharooms.
We were given a pool view, closed balcony so that when sitting all you saw was a brick wall and nearly a side sea view if you hung out over the balcony.
I complained three times only to be dismissed each time with the standard excuse 'the hotel is full' it was not!! I advised that I had paid for a sea view but no one was interested. Half way through the holiday I decided to complete the feedback form and presented it to the Duty Manager. I was immediately offered a sea view with an open balcony which we accepted and enjoyed the remainder of our holiday.
I have since been refused any compensation.
The hotel is comfortable and food adequate but certainly not a five star.
I will not be returning especially since we paid for a sea view which was not given until the fourth complaint by which time my wife's holiday had been ruined.

Room Tip: If you want to be guaranteed a sea view book a standard room and then ask to upgrade to a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sclandersburn,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing your stay at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

We hope you accept our excuses about all the inconvenince caused regarding the pool view room booked. Because of your report and feedback we'll take the right measures to avoid situations like this in the future. We are really sorry this situation did upset your wife.

We hope you consider changing your mind and give us the chance to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This has got to be the best hotel we have stayed in.Beautiful hotel and help full staff, who can understand you. It was our honeymoon,and the hotel was booked by our friends.Words cannot describe,the size or comfort of the place.
we will be going back hopefully next year.Would definitely recommend this hotel to any person wanting a great or special holiday. thank you so much for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear philip w,

thank you very much for sharing your experience about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

We are all very happy you enjoyed such a special time with us and our hotel services and facilities met your expectations.

Looking forward sharing with you more special moments

Kindest regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Overall this hotel is ok but I am afraid it lacks that bit of finesse and polish to justify its 5 star billing.

RECEPTION/FOYER

You cannot fail to be impressed by the vastness of the entrance foyer with its water features, seating areas bar area and reception.
Our check was handled efficiently by the friendly staff with a free drink available if wanted. Our case were transported to our room by the porter within minutes of us reaching our room.

ROOMS

Of a decent size. Large TV,fridge (available to use for your own drinks),safety deposit in room (2euro a day). Furniture of reasonable quality. Bathroom has two sinks, shower over bath and a seperate room off for the toilet and bidet. Bed linen(sheets) were a bit thin..due for replacement.

RESTAURANT
Good sized restaurant area. Seats are wooden (no cushions) so a little bit uncomfortable after a while.
For breakfast it is the usual sort of food from full english to continental with fresh cooking of fried eggs, omelettes and pancakes (although these were sometimes batch cooked and left to stand with no more being cooked until they had gone). If you so wish you could even have chips and people did. Cereals also available with a choice of skimmed or full fat milk. Coffee, hot water and milk were delivered to your table by the staff.(PG tips tea bags on the table along with decaff coffee sachets. On several occasions the coffee pots that were delivered to our table were dirty from coffee stains running down from the spout and also were not full so that it was impossible to get four cups from the pot(there were four of us dining). No attempt to clean them had been made..they had obviously been used on another table and not wiped clean. I also saw the staff decanting from one coffee pot to another so the coffee was obviously not fresh. It is easy to blame the staff here but I have to say that the waiters/resses were constantly on the go, so I would suggest there is a staffing issue here also indentified by the fact that there were several occasions when we had to go hunting for clean crockery.

Dinner again typical of holiday hotels with a reasonable choice to suit most tastes.
The fresh cooking stations were the star of the show here with fish and meat cooked to order. Perhaps the best station was the pasta station which proved very popular. Here you chose your ingredients, your sauce and type of pasta and it was cooked fresh for you....very tasty.
Drinks were served at table by the staff however no ice bucket was ever used for white wine when ordered.
One point on etiquette here...when cutting you own bread at the bread station please use the napkins provided to hold the bread while you cut...I don't know where your hands have been or perhaps I do. The number of gents I have seen leaving the toilets without venturing near the sinks is incredible!!!!!!!!

We did try the a la carte restaurant on one occasion and were disappointed with the standard. Food was nicley presented and it was a change to be served but the food didn't quite hit the mark and at an extra 14Euro a person you would expect something a bit better.

POOL AREA

The pools themselves were ok, a bit on the cool side. There seem to be plenty of sunbeds around, although I am not sure what it would be like in the height of summer. However I am told that they do enforce the " no saving of sunbeds rule" and remove towels and personal effects if they believe the beds are not being used.
The umbrellas around the pool are showing signs of wear and are looking shabby. There is some concrete repair work required around the pool.
There is no poolside waiter/ress service which is no big deal but this does mean that unless you take your dirty cups back to the bar they are left hanging around. I didn't see anybody collecting from around the poolside apart from one person emptying bins.

Overall the hotel in general needs a bit of TLC. A splash of paint here and there, repairs to the hand driers in the toilets, fill in the cracks inside and out and this will be a great improvement.A point to mention here is that I never saw one maintenance person during my weeks stay whereas in other hotels I have been to they are constantly on the go.

It seems like I am being picky here but if this is classed as a 5 star hotel then it has to up it's game. As I mentioned before I believe this to be a staffing issue. The waiters and waitresses never stood still in the dining room.Maybe it is a sign of the economic times and the hotel have cut back on staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Champ57,

thank you for sharing such a detailed review about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel.

We highly value all your suggestions to improve which we asure will be taken into account as we are up to improve our quality at the hotel in services and facilities on permanent basis and for that reason guests' feedback is priceless.

We hope in general you enjoyed a nice stay at Costa Adeje Gran and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Adeje Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Costa Adeje Gran Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Costa Adeje Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.