We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel, great location, nice and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Save Saved
You added Costa Adeje Gran Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 hotels in Costa Adeje
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fab hotel, great location, nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We travelled on the transfer coach from the airport and pulled our faces at some of the locations we past through in Los Cristianos and Playa de las Americas. Fear not because as we arrived to the Costa Adeje area things all changed. The area itself is much more stylish than the previously mentioned locations. Upon arriving at the hotel you are greeted by the sheer size of the reception/bar/lounge area and the huge glazed frontage.

Checking in was fine, but we did put a request in for a sea or pool view, but none were available. That was ok as we read that all rooms have a decent view. However, an existing guest thought he was sooooo important that he kept on interrupting our check in process which eventually took 25 mins to check in.

The room number was 110 located on the 1st floor on the right hand side. The room was lovely, nice and clean with a view of the mini golf course. The bed was massive and very comfortable. There was also a small sofa and an extra chair. The bathroom was also massive with a nice sized bath a 2 sinks, with a separate section for the toilet. We had an issue with water overflowing when emptying the bath but this was fixed promptly by the maintenance staff. The room also had multi channel TV with a good selection of English channels, including BBC, ITV, Sky News, Channel 4 and Channel 5. The air conditioning was fine as long as you left it on and left the curtains closed during the day.

The corridors on each floor were open to allow a natural flow of air through and were planted very nicely with a range of plants and vines. It was certainly very refreshing to walk along the corridors.

There were 3 pools on the ground level. Reception is on floor -2 with the pool classed as ground level above reception to make maximum use of the sea view. One pool was heated to a nice temperature. There was also a pool on the roof which was a very peaceful escape but the water was very cold. Still nice on a hot day though to take a dip in. Fantastic views from the roof pool. No problems getting a sunbed and a parasol as there were plenty available. Towels can be collected fresh each day from a hut on the ground floor.

We ate in the buffet restaurant where there was always a superb choice of food available. We liked to choose our own seat and the restaurant staff were only too happy to let us do that and set us up a table if need be. My girlfriend is a vegetarian and she was very happy to see a good selection of food available for her to eat. The buffet restaurant was very relaxed and informal although men have to wear trousers in the evening. There was a selection of food cooked from scratch for you by the hotel chefs which was a nice touch. The opening hours were very good so if you fancy a late breakfast or late dinner then this was not a problem. We were fully inclusive so drinks were all included. However, the house wine was awful and the red wine was for some reason chilled. Red wine should be served at room temperature. If this was a stunt for make you pay for an alternative wine then it didn't work even if the other wines had 40% off for fully inclusive guests. The fully inclusive cocktails in the main bar were not much better and were already made up in large containers. However, being fully inclusive we could buy discounted cocktails which were made up from scratch. I have to say the daytime staff at the bar in reception are very friendly, however the evening staff are not so friendly and helpful, so much so one lady refused to let us have any ice cream as she said it was not available (ie she was too busy to serve it).

During the day food was available at a bar by the main pool and also another smaller bar by the pool that mainly served drinks and ice creams. The food was ok, but mainly salad plus a couple of hot choices, eg hot dogs or omlette. There was a nice selection of cakes to munch away in the afternoon sun. The local beer was very good and a good range of soft drinks available. However, you have to pay for crisps even though we were fully inclusive and the fully inclusive range was certainly limited compared to some hotels.

Plenty of things to do other than the pool at the hotel including, tennis, table tennis, pool, football plus the onsite entertainers had things going on during the day. The evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss though but that's hotel entertainment for you.

The hotel itself does need a certain amount of cosmetic maintenance but there appears to be a programme of maintenance in progress. This does show that the hotel is keen to keep up the cosmetic appearance of the hotel. It only became noticeable towards the end of our stay when you tend to spot these sorts of things more. That aside it was minor and just weather damage more than anything else.

We hired a car from the lady down in the reception area. Very friendly and funny lady where you can also buy Loro Park, Siam park etc tickets from. There is plenty of parking at the front and sides of the hotel.

If you take a 5 minute walk down a rather steep hill there is a nice shopping centre called Plaza Playa Del Duque. Perfume is a very good price down there if you have any presents to buy and there is a very good supermarket on the lower floor for extra gifts etc. A nice selection of restaurants are available to the right of the shopping centre along with a very nice beach. We had a very nice paella and sangria at one of the restaurants. If you fancy a cocktail on the beach and some live entertainment then walk left at the shopping centre down onto Fanabe beach. Fab cocktails on the beach for 7 euros each along with a reclining beach chair - Nice!!!. A nice busy restaurant towards the Las Americas side of the beach does massive pizzas with a live rock band - Very enjoyable.

7 days was not enough and could have easily have stayed longer at the hotel which tells us that we enjoyed staying there. So much so we will certainly consider going again next year and bring the kids with us next time.

Thanks Costa Adeje Gran Hotel for such an enjoyable relaxing time and for my first visit to Tenerife it was fab!!!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear TripAndrew,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel and for recommending it to others.

Our guest s' feedback is highly valued by all our team , so thank you for letting us know your personal opinion about the mainteinance ,in what we work on permanent basis, we are focused in working hard to offer the highest quality posible.

We hope you accept our excuses about any inconvenience caused due to our staff atitude, at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel friendliness and kindness is a must, so We'll pay an extra atention on this issue.

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied with the hotel staff, services and facilities. It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife


Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team - @CostAdejeGHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,306
    958
    341
    75
    36
See reviews for
727
1352
21
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the fourth time we have stayed at the Costa Adeje Gran and again it was excellent.
We found all the staff to be very helpful & professional.Our room was very clean & comfortable again the cleaning staff (Jessica)work very hard to make sure the rooms are spotless.we were on B & B which suited us we like to eat out try the El Torre De Mirador next to Del Duque beach live music it's a real treat.
The pool area is well arranged with plenty of sun beds.If you are looking for a value for money hotel look no further.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Tkirwan,

thank you so much for sharing your experience at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor .

We consider a balanced value for money is one of our strenghts and also working on permanent basis to meet our guests expectations.

All our team is glad to know you enjoyed the services during your holidays.We will pass your special mentions to Jessica.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team - @CostAdejeGHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Thank you for all the peole who are working in that hotel. Your are brilliant in particular, the reception, always there to helping us. We had problems with our room, it was no problem to change it. We'll be back ;)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Traveller2Finland,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel and for recommending it to others.

we will pass your special mentions to our team at the reception.

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied with the hotel staff. It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.


Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife


Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team - @CostAdejeGHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days in The Gran Hotel in AdejeTenerife. Its Beautiful,the moment you pull up in the taxi and walk in, its the WOW factor. The rooms are very spacious, so clean,maids work so hard to keep it that way,the same is said for the rest of the Hotel.The staff are all so friendly and helpful, through out the Hotel. The restaurant,and food was excellent, such a large choice to. No fighting for sunbeds, there are so many,with comfortable mattress, around the four pools (not including the naturist area). Towels are collect each day from the kiosk bt the pool. Sum of the entertainment was extremely good, which we enjoyed very much,others were poor, but hey, you have to venture out for walks sometimes. We have visited lots of Hotels all over the world, and this one would rate in our top 10. Most certainly will be going back for some more sun and relaxation and excellent food.
Mr.& Mrs.Cooper

Room Tip: Its very hard to advise on a good room. All I could say is it would depend on what view you want. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Valerie C,

thank you so much for sharing your experience at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor .

We are all very happy to know you are satisfied with the hotel staff, services and facilities. It's priceless for us to read our guests have had an enjoyable stay as it encourages our team to keep working to offer the highest quality posible.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in a near future.


Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team - @CostAdejeGHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larbert
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is first class. Our room was perfectly located and Jessica made sure it was kept spotless. The pool area was great and we never had any trouble finding sunbeds. Although we did not take part in the activities around the pool those who did sounded as if they were having a great time.The food deserves a special mention. The selection was first class in the main restaurant - something to suit everyone-and the service could not be faulted. We dined in La Laja one night and it did not disappoint. The location was great for us and after our daily walk to La Caleta and back we did not need to feel guilty about eating and relaxing for the rest of the day!
We arrived home on 17th November and by 18th at 11 am we had booked to return for a week in May. Looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Our room 157 was perfectly located for accessing the pool area and La Finca on gthe floor below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear MagsLarbert,

Thank you for your review about your great holiday at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel and for recommending it to others.

Every day and every guest means a challenge for us as one of the goals we have is trying to please our demanding visitors and do our best to make stays memorable.

We will pass your special mentions to Jessica.


We appreciate your positive comments on the variety and quality of food and our a la carte restaurant , La Laja.

Your positive feedback and your recomendation to others are highly valued for all of us at the hotel.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team - @CostAdejeGHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and have just returned from our latest trip which ran from 11th to 18th November.. Had a few issues with the safe which were dealt with within minutes ,other than than everything was excellent . We need to give a special mention to the drinks waiter Jose who was full of fun as well as very hardworking . All in all fab week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Adrianb1849,

Thank you for taking some time to post your thoughts about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel in TripAdvisor.

We are all willing to be as helpful as posible, thanks for valuing our staff efforts.Your special mentions to Jose, will be happily passed.

All our team is glad to know you enjoyed the services during your stay.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife

Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team - @CostAdejeGHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just returned from the Costa Adeje Gran Hotel. Stayed for a week and were treated like kings and queens from the minute we arrived.
The hotel was spotless, staff never stopped working to keep this hotel to the high standard.
Food was amazing, we had thought to go out for one of the nights but changed our minds when we had sampled our first meal.
Drinks were great too, we were all inclusive so i can't count the amount of Cava that we drank. We were celebrating our 20 wedding anniversary and were treated to a bottle of Cava which was waiting in our room when were arrived.
The entertainment wasn't the best but that didn't bother us at all.
What a brilliant hotel, we skyped home a few times and our family were so impressed that they have booked to go out for 5 nights in April 13.
Would love to return here at some point. have just book the Holiday Village in Tenerife for a family holiday next year, i just hope we have the same experience!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFHoteles, Manager at Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Alison M,

thank you for the time spent in reviewing Hotel Fanabe Costa Sur in TripAdvisor.

Every day and every guest means a challenge for us as one of the goals we have is trying to please our demanding visitors and do our best to make stays memorable, taking into account special occasions and including small details to make special moments more pleasant.

Your positive feedback and your recomendation to others are highly valued for all of us at the hotel.

Looking forward welcoming you in your next holidays in Tenerife


Kind regards from Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Team - @CostAdejeGHotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa Adeje Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Adeje Gran Hotel

Address: Avenida Bruselas 16, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#10 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Costa Adeje Gran Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COSTA ADEJE GRAN Hotel, a 5 star hotel located in Costa Adeje area in the south of Tenerife, has 485 rooms (double standard rooms and suites). Free WIFI access in all Hotel areas, and a huge variety of services and installations, as restaurants, bars, pools, sun terrace, shops, mini market, etc. Perfect for your family holidays as well as for couples and friends. We are also a perfect option for conferences, events and weddings, as our Hotel counts with several conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Adeje Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Adeje
Adeje Gran Tenerife
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Adeje Gran Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.