We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the critics” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Torviscas Playa to your Saves list
Iberostar Torviscas Playa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ernesto Sarti 5, 38679 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ignore the critics”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I went to Iberostar march 2013 and I am planning on coming back in August 2014.
I would personally say that the people moaning about the rooms are way too picky. Go don't go all the way over to tenerife to spend your week or so in your room, fair enough the room has to be liveable which they are!
I believe there Is nothing wrong with the rooms, there clean,spacious,and a great view what more can you want.
Some people sound like an interior designer moaning about how 'dated' it might be.
-food great
-all inclusive great
- animation team great
(Especially Davide, Danny really fun group)

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel for your holidays in Tenerife and for the time you spent to share your feedback on your stay at our hotel; we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday experience among us.

Moreover we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness and comfort of our accommodations, the quality of our buffets and the value of our All Inclusive treatment.

We are also grateful for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows for our guests to bring back some unforgettable memories of their holidays among us, we will certainly congratulate them on your behalf.

Thank you again for your visit and very kind review; we look forward to welcoming you back next August and please do not hesitate to contact us beforehand to arrange every detail of your stay.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torvsicas Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    684
    236
    66
    26
See reviews for
562
762
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schoten, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Service was very good ,food was also very good. Room needs a new upgrade .
I think next year to go back at the same hotel.I will recomanded the hotel to other friends.
The location is also very good. I Can't say more about my experiense

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on you recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel; we are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time among us.

We took good note of your comment on our rooms and passed it to our central office for information and for our investment department to consider the possibility to renovate our accommodations in the near future.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the quality of our buffets as well as the service received throughout your stay, we will definitely congratulate our staff on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

We also thank you for your highlight on our prime location, right on the seafront and within a short walking distance to a wide array of leisure and dining options nearby.

Thank you again for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for your very kind recommendation to your friends; we hope that you had a comfortable journey back home and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located near the beach, shopping and restaurants. That was the main reason we chose this hotel. Large swimmingpool and outdoor area with a lovely view. For a deposit of ten euro per beachtowel you get a fresh towel every day from the reseption. The service was fine, as it should be. We did not like the rooms. We travelled with another family and they also disliked their room. Very small for three people and the carpet in the room was not very nice. Awful colour and with large stains on it. When taking a shower we got burned by the suddenly hot water coming out. Very dangerous for younger kids. We told the reseption about this. The cleaning lady seem to take away the handsoap without replacing a new one, twice. We had our own from another hotel, and she took that one too. A little funny but also annoying. Only having an half an hour of wifi in the reseption area was also a bit strange for a four star hotel. You had to plan your "visit" as you could not have five minutes and then come back later. You had to wait 24 hours for your next free half hour. The food was fine also but we got tired of the same buffet after two days and ate out. We missed seeing any winelist in the restaurant or bar. Only one house wine. The prices for drinks are very high compared to other bars just down the streets.
The activity group was very good and our son joined many of the fun activities around the poolarea. We loved the promenade and the fanabe beach. We walked over to Duque Beach and it was even more beautiful! It is a must to see and the area is very high standard. We hope to come back to Adeje but we are not sure we will stay at the same hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We took good note of your comments on our rooms and are sincerely sorry to hear your disappointment; however we would like to point out that there is a full description is available on our website, including the size of every accommodation type.; we encourage you for coming vacations to have a look at our website or contact our call center for a personalized booking guidance to make sure that you book the destination, accommodation type and services that best meet your holiday needs and wishes.

Moreover, we were surprised to hear your comment on our showers as they all have been revised recently to avoid this kind of issue; of course the safety of our guests is our utmost concern.

Furthermore, we sincerely regret reading your disappointment on our buffets, the gastronomy being an aspect of primary importance for IBEROSTAR, we always strive to cater for all tastes and diet requirements bearing in mind that we receive an international clientele; Moreover, we also would like to point out that we work on a two weeks menu rotation in order to guarantee a variety of dishes and flavors throughout our guests’ stay.

At IBEROSTAR we believe that nice leisure activities and entertaining evening shows are part of the real holiday feeling this is why our animation team strives to offer a wide range of activities for our guests of all ages to join in, we are glad to read that this was a pleasant aspect of your son’s stay among us.

Moreover we thank you for your positive comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your highlight on our prime location, right on the seafront and with a wide array of dining and leisure options within easy reach.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to offer you a very enjoyable holiday experience with IBEROSTAR.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torvsicas Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have been to around 13 different hotels (Mainly 4*) in Tenerife over 20 years as well as other 3*/4* hotels around Spain and the Canaries. The Buffet meals are definitely the best at the Torvisacas Playa. The choice each day is amazing and the way it is laid out means you never really have to queue.

The Hotel pool area is spacious and we didn't have to put our towels out before breakfast which is a first. Not sure if the hotel was full, but there we plenty of space around the terrace so it didn't feel cramped.

The rooms were good, though the beds are hard, but apparently you can request a topper which we weren't aware of... Hotels should invest in beds with memory foam, like at the Fanabe Costa Sur nearby.

The entertainment was primarily done by the Star entertainment team, and Mamma Mia was good...

Really Wifi in the Lobby area should be free all day when you stay in a 4* hotel.

The Gym is reasonable, at least all the cardio machines work and some are new, which is a rarity in most hotels of this type

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for choosing our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel and for the time you spent to share these wonderful comments on your stay; it is always very enjoyable to read that our guests took some nice memories of their holidays back home.

Moreover, we thank you for your praising comments on our buffets; at IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of Chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us.

As you well mention we do have mattress toppers available for those guests who prefer sleeping on a softer bed; for future occasions do not hesitate to contact our reception for anything you may need to fully enjoy your stay at our hotel.

We also want to thank you for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows for our guests to bring back some unforgettable memories of their holidays in Tenerife.

Once again, thank you for your visit and the courtesy of your time; we are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have just arrived back from a 4 night break at this hotel and overall we had a good time.

The location was excellent, the pool and grounds were lovely, fantastic views over the sea and mountains and kept very clean.

The restaurant was light and airy the food very good, again very clean.

The staff were pleasant enough apart from one rude girl on reception.

Now the bad points. We had read the reviews before booking this hotel so knew the rooms were in need of modernisation. When we walked into the room (235) we thought it was okay, not too bad and could ignore the old carpet tiles and badly scuffed and dirty walls. We had great views of the sea to the left and the mountains to the right and again ignored the cracked tiles on the balcony and old dirty plastic chairs (the balconies next to us had much nicer modern chairs!)

However, when we went into the bathroom and saw the state of the bath we were truly shocked. There was one huge rust patch and one smaller one, the enamel was damaged and peeling off and there was filthy ground in dirt and stains all over. This is not acceptable in any hotel let alone an Iberostar 4*. We reported it to reception who said they would send someone up but no-one ever arrived. As we were only staying for 4 nights and do not spend much time in the room anyway we decided to just put up with it as we did not want to allow it to spoil our holiday, but it was disgusting having to stand in that bath to have a shower.

I do not think the rooms in this hotel can be classed as 4 * and are nowhere near the standard of 4* hotels we have previously stayed in and our room extremely disappointing considering the amount of money we paid. The lack of response to our complaint was also not what we would expect from a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Although we sincerely lament reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

We deeply apologize for the inconveniences caused by the imperfections in your bathroom and immediately forwarded your comment to our head of maintenance for information; we are glad to inform you that we have ordered new bathtubs and that they will soon be replaced so as to be in accordance with our high quality standards related to the comfort of our rooms.

On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out our great location, within a short walking distance to the beach and huge variety of dining options and touristic attractions on the doorstep.

At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us

Last but not least, we also highly appreciate your kind words towards our staff; their genuine kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics; please be assured that we took your comments into consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We really thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that IBEROSTAR will remain an option for your next holiday ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Sincere Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A very enjoyable holiday, staff were always helpful, food was very good. Pool area was excellent would not hesitate in going back and recommending this hotel. Location was very good close to all amenities with plenty do at the hotel and the surrounding area. Lovely walks along the sea front.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel; it is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay enjoyable from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

Moreover we thank you for your kind comments on our staff and are glad to read that you felt well looked after throughout your stay.

We also greatly appreciate your praising comments on our gastronomy offer because at IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least we thank you for pointing out the unbeatable location of our hotel with a wide array of dining and leisure options on the doorstep.

Thank you again for your visit and very kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; we would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future, ensuring you in advance of our best intentions to offer you another “Excellent holiday” among us.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

With 30 years experience of hotel buffets in Spain and Croatia we consider the buffet at the Torviscas Playa to be the best. The excellent buffet is accompanied by friendly and attentive table service. The hotel offers good value. The rooms are adequate but would benefit from some modernisation

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Torviscas Playa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Stuart and Susan,

Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel; we always welcome feedback as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests.

The gastronomy being one of the most important aspects for IBEROSTAR and one of the prime pillars of our company we are very proud to read that with your “over 30 years’ experience of hotel buffets” our was the best; we will certainly not fail to congratulate our talented Chefs and friendly waiting staff for their contribution to enjoyable dining experiences among us.

Once again, thank you for your time; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Torviscas Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Torviscas Playa

Address: Ernesto Sarti 5, 38679 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Torviscas Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Torviscas Playa hotel is a 4-star with an All-Inclusive option in Tenerife and situated next to the beach. It's located on the Costa Adeje, in a beautiful area full with nature. Its spacious rooms designed to meet all the guests' needs; entertainment and leisure programmes, and activities specially designed for the very youngest make this hotel the ideal choice for a family holiday in Costa Adeje. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Iberostar Torviscas Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Hotel Costa Adeje
Iberostar Hotel Torviscas Playa
Iberostar Hotel Adeje
Torviscas Playa Tenerife
Iberostar Torviscas Playa Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Torviscas Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.