We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Architectrually sombre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Bonita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Isla Bonita to your Saves list
Isla Bonita
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda Bruselas 8, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Adonis Resorts Isla Bonita)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Architectrually sombre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Don't expect great views from this hotel, from my room (A126) I was overlooking the children's pool, fair enough but the view of the hotel block opposite resembled a prison building..The corridors are very narrow so a wheelchair has to be handled carefully.

THE ROOM.I was pleasantly surprised with the size of the room with it's separate sitting area. A small kitchenette area was also provided but no utensils so it could not be used (but who needs to on an all inclusive basis) however the fridge did work so that was handy. The furniture is basic but adequate. There is telephone and T.V. which apart from the Spanish channels has Sky news and one other English film channel. There were lots of coat hangers, I liked that. Everything was, and kept, very clean. I liked the small balcony with two chairs, table and a concertina drying rack for damp clothes.

THE FOOD. No service in the dining room except for table clearing as it is all self service/buffet style, coffee, soft drinks and fruit juices are all dispensed through machines as are beer and wine during lunch and dinner. The choice of food is excellent, I defy anyone to leave the hotel hungry, lunch and dinner can be a bit 'samey' after a while but lets not be too picky, the soups were really delicious. Breakfast is exceptional !! Eggs done every which way but what !!, bacon, sausage, baked beans, lots of cereals, bread products sweet and plain, fruit, porridge, pancakes...........you name it AND, would you believe, H.P. sauce, never seen that before in a Spanish hotel.

DRINKS. The main bar, day and night is in the entertainment area, There is another bar adjacent to the dining room but on the one evening I visited there was no staff. If you like lager style beer, it's very good, judging from a delivery lorry I saw, it's Heineken. The wine was drinkable BUT the spirits on the all inclusive package, in my view,were appalling, if you want a branded spirit you have to pay extra. I bought a good bottle of scotch from a local supermarket and had an afternoon 'sniffta' on the balcony. Mind you, if you are travelling with young children with a constant demand for 'pop' it's still very good value for money.

ENTERTAINMENT. entertainment takes place in a large courtyard area with a stage at one end. Not much for adults I'm afraid but the animation staff are really, really good with young children in the evening and during the day (take a jacket, it can fall cool in the evening even in Tenerife

SERVICE. Not at all bad, all the staff were friendly and efficient for example, our hair dryer stopped working during our visit and it was fixed within the hour. There is a counter at the end of reception entrance where you can book excursions etc., all the staff were so, so helpful about everything, I was impressed.

OVERALL. This is not a four star hotel as I understand it so don't expect pampering luxury, I would rate the Isla Bonita as a three star however, this is at the cheaper end of the market and as such does represent very good value indeed. Just a thought here, because of it's good value, the hotel seems to have an informal atmosphere and and people mix easily so I met some lovely new friends.

Room Tip: The corridors are very long, ask for a room near the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    405
    295
    163
    142
See reviews for
361
451
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This is the third and unfortunately last time we will visit this hotel. Isla bonita is a clean and tidy hotel in a good location close to the beach, restaurants, the market etc. The hotel is not a four star like advertised, mabe it was 20yrs ago but it will need a huge refurbishment to achieve that today. In all honesty we wouldn't have come back here after the first time if it wasn't for the absolutely fantastic animation team, especially Dani who's been here every time we have over the last four years and has seen our children grow up, him and his team have really made our holidays as well as many other families I'm sure. This leads me on to the reason we and many many other families who come here year after year to see Dani won't be returning again, the hotel is now under new management and they have made a big mistake in replacing the animation team with a cheaper company to save a measly couple of thousand euros a year. Now your left with a tired and dated 2-3star hotel and there's plenty of them to choose from if that's what your after.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First of all not all rooms are like in pictures, our was very old, and it had unpleasant smell went first walked in. Second our shower was broken, as we got there, we waited 4 hours for them to fix it as they have only one maintenance person... However everyday rooms was cleaned, fresh towels etc. Food was good, maybe too repetitive, but not bad. Service was good, all staff funny and friendly expect one lady in reception which it looked like she is not bothered. Entertainment... well depending on the day there were some ridiculous shows that made us not laugh but angry.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 10 days, the room we were given was a bit dated, but it was clean & spacious, it was cleaned everyday & towels were changed too, we were on B114, Ground floor & the nearest room to the gate to the pool, so it was very handy being so close to it, Downside was the main road outside with the traffic in the morning, the food was ok with a good range of things to eat, although we ate out a few times in the evenings for a change, all in all though the food was good & the Restuarant was clean & we found the waiters to be helpfull & pleasant, the Entertainment was good for the childrend & we saw a few nice acts as well, we had no problem at anytime getting our sunbeds at any time of the day as there are plenty, i would say this is my main gripe about the hotel is that it needs a Re paint, its a Horrible Brown, if it was painted white it would look so much better & pleasing on the eye!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from 10days in this awful place 4stars is a joke couldn't breathe for smokers and no no smoking areas at all rooms tired and dirty maid useless an food very salty don't waste your money its a very very down market place full of drunken stag do,s no relaxation at all

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is definitely not a 4 star but you don't pay 4 star price so the old saying you get what you pay for is true. Rooms in need of some TLC, Food was good -always something on menu that would suit all. Entertainment normal for this sort of hotel, Rooms cleaned every day to a good standard. 2 adult pools one heated and is very warm other not and very cold! Rooms around entertainment area, Block A, very noisy. staff very helpful and friendly. If you want luxury look else where but for what you pay its good value.

Room Tip: Not Block A if you go to bed before 11pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaBonitaPR-mngment, Public Relations Manager at Isla Bonita, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Feedback helps us to improve our services. We are happy you have valued the food, the cleanness of the hotel and kindness of our staff.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just got back from the Isla Bonita we have been to this hotel 3 times just to see the Animation Team Danny and the gang only once we arrived we later found out that the 3 girls we met last year Bonnie, Marina and Nerea has left the team and Danny was leaving on our last day, we are so disappointed with this. My Daughter loves them. And we will not be going back just for that reason. Management are bringing a cheaper team in which I think is wrong cause these guys were the heart of this place and it won't be the same without them. The hotel is ok and the food was much better this year but the kids choice is not upto much it's good if you like chips and salad. The lifeguard in the warm pool needs to stop moaning at the kids for having fun. We won't be coming back and will definitely go and see the guys in their new jobs. Do not go for a meal at the Azar restaurant 52 euros we paid for a meal and it was disgusting. This place will not be the same with the Animation team they have just got rid of. FACT.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslaBonitaPR-mngment, Public Relations Manager at Isla Bonita, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Kerry,

We thank you for your review. Feedback is very important for us, as it helps us to improve our services, and also gives us the opportunity to set things right in case there might have been a misunderstanging.

As you might have already read in earlier management replies, the reason for the change of animation team has nothing to do with either profesionality on behalf of the team (far from it, as we do know how well loved the team is, both by guests as well as hotel staff) or the hotel cutting costs. The hotel is part of MPS group, who manages 21 hotels throughout the Canary Islands. Most of theses hotels were working with different - external - animation companies. The MPS group has decided - merely out of practical reasons - to only work with one sole animation company. The animation company that we work with since 01/05/15 offered the MPS group the most fitting program. As it is a different company, there is a change of animation team. The new team also provides the service of fully qualified life guards with language skills, that will be organizing more fun activities in the pool areas.

We hope we have informed you adequately, as we would regret to lose you as regular customer. If you would like to have more information, you can contact us at:
publicrelations.islabonita@mpihotels.com

Kind regards,

The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Isla Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Bonita

Address: Avda Bruselas 8, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Adonis Resorts Isla Bonita)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#25 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Isla Bonita 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable hotel is located in the tourist area of Playa Fanabe and in the area you can find a lot of shops, bars, pubs, restaurants and nightclubs as well as public transport. A 400m is the beach promenade and Fanabe beach.The cozy and comfortable rooms are air conditioned and equipped with bath, separate living room, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, , sitting area , hire safe and a balcony or terrace. Guests have access to two swimming pools for adults and two for children. In addition, a snack bar, sun loungers and a terrace for sunbathing. If you want to keep fit you can use the gym. As for sports, you can play tennis, table tennis, basketball, billiards (additional fee) and bocce. You will also have the chance to practice archery. The nearest golf course is three kilometers away. We have an ample entertainment program for both adults as well as children. On arrival, guests will need to pay a deposit or provide a credit card number, the deposit will be refunded upon departure after deducting any extra expenses (telephone, laundry, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Isla Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis Resorts Isla Bonita Hotel Costa Adeje
Isla Bonita Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Jardin Isla Bonita
Hoteles Isla Bonita Jardin Hotel
Isla Bonita Hotel Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Bonita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.