We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - entertainment not so good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Gran Tinerfe

Save Saved
You added H10 Gran Tinerfe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Gran Tinerfe
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rafael Puig Lluvina, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 38 hotels in Costa Adeje
Brierley Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - entertainment not so good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Spent Christmas here. Arrived 24th December until 31st December. On arrival were told to take a seat and we were given a glass of cava. Waited for about 15 minutes and then were called to reception desk to be given information. This was "mind blowing" to say the least. So many instructions that it was hard to take it all in. Then told to see lady on adjacent desk to book table in bar for Christmas Day. This was at a cost of 28 euros for a bottle of cava, which you had to pay for or would not be given a table. The entertainment on that night was not great, it would have been much better if we were not absolutely frozen, due to it being staged outside and doors left wide open so that we could see and hear. This is not acceptable in the winter as it gets quite cold at night. Also we were given Room P38 on arrival. Do not accept this one. It is in the basement and you are looking at a brick wall from your terrace. But in fairness when we complained we were moved to another room the following day. This is a lovely hotel with wonderful sunbathing areas, fantastic staff, cannot do enough for you and so friendly. I would definitely visit again, if they sorted out the entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for giving us feedback on TripAdvisor,your opinion is very important for us and we will take very good note of it in order to improve in the future.
We are happy to know you like our hotel and as our daily mission is to improve and achieve our guests complete satisfaction we would be glad if you give us the opportunity to recover your confidence in us and let us welcome you again in our Hotel in a not too distant future.
For any information or request for your next visit pleas e-mail us at rrpp.hgt@h10hotels.com

Kind Regards,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    835
    570
    174
    48
    20
See reviews for
88
1176
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel with a two year gap so we could compare changes.
Some things were better some worse many the same
The Good
The sun beds that were more like couches were still there these are so much better than the average sun lounger and every decent hotel should offer them.
The location is ideal allowing you to walk in either direction along the shore with equal amounts of interest.
The Las Americas golf course is within 15 minutes walking distance.

Restaurant staff were very friendly

The Bad
The hotel is clearly pushing its Privilege guest offers harder than before leaving us feeling a bit second class in comparison.
Last time we stayed here our view was no more than a hedge we went with room numbers in mind from Trip Advisor but were told we had to have the one given which was 103. The view was over the car park for the kitchen staff where they went for a smoke so dozens of cigarette ends were below our window. Also it was where the bins and air conditioning units were located which were quite noisy all night.
Some but I should add not all of the reception staff were less than helpful they just seemed stressed and therefore not in the mood to help much. The oldest of the staff was the worst he was the same two years ago.

The Average
The food was a bit better than before, it’s not as good as some hotels we have stayed but it is more than acceptable and there should be something for everyone’s taste.

Entertainment is every night but we chose to go out of the hotel for ours where there is plenty of choice and better quality.

Overall we might come back at some point in the future but it would be because the price made it worth it.

Room Tip: Unless you are a privilege paying guest forget about asking for a room with a decent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for for writing your review on TripAdvisor, it is important for us and helps us to improve and thank you also for coming back to our Hotel.
We can assure you that we take very good note about your opinion in order to turn "the bad" into good, "the average" into best and "the good" into perfect. It is our one and only mission, to make your stay here the most pleasant.
As we say in Spain: "there is no two without three", so we hope to welcome you a third time in our Hotel. For any information or request for your next visit, please e-mail us at rrpp.hgt@h10hotels.com

Kind Regards,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel over the Arona Gran which we had been to numerous times in December over the last 10 years and we thought it might be time for a change! It had also been recommended to us by a couple of friends! But wish we had went to the Arona gran. on arrival we were told that we had been upgraded for that night to one of the bungalows but would need to be back at reception for 1pm the following day to change rooms, I asked for a good room because of this, and to be fair we did get a room with a sea view although it was a bit small and the shower was not very good. This also meant that we were inconvenienced on our first day, could not really do much as had to spend time moving!
The food - breakfast was fine, we were given an 8.30 for dinner time which we found a bit late and the choice at this time was very poor, food was not hot and limited. We ate out two nights because of this. The food at lunch time at the pool bar was very limited with very little choice, only 3 or 4 things to pick from and very slow service getting your food.
If you did not want to go to the entertainment at night there was only the reception area to sit in which was not very comfortable and the chairs and sofas were very uncomfortable and a bit tired looking.
The pool area was nice and plenty of sunbeds available, although on our first couple of days one of the pools was closed.
the location of the hotel was very good and very central for going out for walks in either direction! the staff were very nice and rooms were cleaned to a high standard.
would we go back, not sure that we would!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We care about our guests opinions and it helps us to improve as it is our one and only mission to have our guests pleased, and we are sorry to know that in your case we did not achieve your entire satisfaction.
We are taking very good note about your opinion hoping that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our Hotel at a future.

Kind Regards,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really good Hotel just spent Christmas and New Year, good food great entertainment,lovely clean rooms. Great walks to Puerto Colon and Las Americas.Staff are lovely. Free wine and Champs all through Christmas and New Years evening meals. We had a fantastic time. Go on give it a try.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 224 on the second floor and 424 on the four floor these are corner rooms whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the 5 points rate on TripAdvisor.
It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a fantastic time with us and we would be happy to welcome you again in our Hotel in a not too distant future.
So fo any request or information please contact us at rrpp.hgt@h10hotels.com

Best Regards,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel, the staff, the food was good! Most of the couples we spoke to had stayed at this hotel numerous times, which in my book says a lot. I would be very to stay at this hotel again. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome and glass of cava in reception. The room was delightful and had a fabulous sea view. Every evening we sat outside on the terrace and enjoyed a wide verity of foods. You could have a selection of fish or meats cooked by the chef to your liking. I am a vegetarian, my husband is not and we both enjoyed the breakfasts & evening meals.

The location was super, lots of places to walk out to have a drink or snack. The hotel is right on the beach, and is secure as you have to use a room key to access the hotel.

If it's a relaxing holiday you want with some entertainment in the evenings provided then I think this hotel has it all. It's a 4* going on 5* than it is a 4* going on 3* which so many hotels are.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and for the 5 points rate!
We are so happy to know you had a great holiday with as for us our guest satisfaction is our major priority.
On the oder hand, it would be a pleasure to give us the opportunity to welcome you again in a not too distant future, so for any information or request please e-mail us at rrpp.hgt@h10hotels.com

Best Regards,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our stay at the hotel was from 24th to the 31st of December, we have visited Tenerife for around 12 years in various areas and hotels ,this the first time in this particular hotel, only booked because of adults only. Our first impression of the hotel suited us fine, maybe the room could have benefited from a comfortable bed and although or because we were on floor 11 the shower never held the temperature one minute warm the next scalding hot not good!

The following observation will probably not bother you if you are not visiting the hotel at celebration times, however it has clouded our overall impression. Christmas Gala Dinner was about average, have experienced worse. correct me if I am wrong but in with cost of a hotel included is the cost of entertainment, WRONG apparently guests who visit ever year have a secret, it seems you book a table in advance, therefore we were greeted by staff on the doors not allowing anyone in without a ticket, for a show we had paid for, we also tried sitting outside in the smoking area we do not smoke but still staff stopping us. being very angry we visited reception and waited for a manager to speak to, Maria attended and by magic found us a table.
as agreed we attended a meeting with the Manager the next day, I believe she is names Nieve who was sure that she ran the hotel perfect, and has mere guests what right had we to complain, believe me any problem ask to see Maria much more professional.

At this time not sure if we will return next Christmas, will probably look for another hotel adults only

Room Tip: Floor 11 good views of sea and people watching
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Director General at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you, first of all, for giving your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us and it really helps us in our daily mission to improve.

Regarding the room, I am sorry that we did not know that you were not comfortable, in that case we would have solved that problem quickly as I understand that people's preferences at night are different

About the Christmas Gala Dinner, we hope you will understand that needs of a special night like this, we try, in the proper way, to organize it. For that reason each one of our guests choose to reserve a table for the show in order to have a relaxed dinner, without worries or rush and enjoy entertainment and show in a pleasant and arranged atmosphere.
Please believe, our only aim is to get the best satisfaction of our clients, and I am sorry to know that in your case we did not achieve our goal.
After speaking with Maria, concerning the table that she found for you, I would like to clarify that surely it was one of the last minute cancellations, and she offered it to you with the best intentions so you could enjoy and take part of that special Christmas Gala.

In the end, I would like to thank you again, and assure you that it would give us a great pleasure if you would give us the opportunity to recover your confidence in our Hotel and wish to welcome you again.

For any further information please contact us on rrpp.hgt@h10hotels.com

Yours sincerely,

Nieves Damas,
H10 Gran Tinerfe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 11 nights over the Xmas period after having stayed the same period two year earlier. I must say I think the standard has dropped quiet a bit.

We had a Superior Sea View room which was described as recently upgraded but unfortunately this was not 100% true. The main room had been "modernised" but with what I would describe as cheap and chearful materials. The laminate floor was poorly laid and the skirting boards were made of MDF with the vinyl wood effect peeling off in numerous areas. The bathroom was a disgrace with the mirror degrading in areas. The taps, shower handrail.etc were showing their age with the chrome plating almost gone showing the brass base metal. It was impossible to shower without the floor getting flooded, no matter how you adjusted the shower screen and we resorted to covering he floor with towels when having a shower.Not only a safety slip hazard but not what you would expect from a four star hotel.
Storage is totally inadequate with only two drawers in the wardrobe and one in each bedside cabinet, not a lot for a couple out for over a week. Half the hanging space in the wardrobe was spoiled by the siting of the room safe making hanging of even short items a waste as these would be crushed. The bed was the only good feature that I could recomend in the room furniture. We hired the room fridge (at cost) but found this was another bone of contension. You have to insert your room keycard into a slot to "power up" the electrics in the room so when you leave the room the fridge is powered down. We tried leaving our second keycard in the slot when we exited the room for the day, but on return the card had been removed by the maid and the fridge was defrosting and leaking water. Requested with reception to leave our card in place but card still removed.....what is the point of a fridge being switched off ??

The dining room is nice and the food OK but never very warm. Getting to the food was another issue, battling thro` bad mannered people trying to get to the food, was like a war zone !!
The Xmas Gala Dinner which cost us 350 euros instead of the normal 127 euros day rate was a rip off. The dinner itself was no differant from any other day except that you got a glass of cava prior to entry and two half glasses of wine at the table ( had to ask for these also). I appreciate that the staff have to be rewarded for working on xmas and the short cabaret had to be paid for but it was no where worth the money and we would not return over the xmas/new year period.

The bathing areas are really nice with a variety of locations and there is a strict "no reserving beds" policy which saves all the usual suspects reserving loungers in the morning and dissapearing until later.

My review is s bit negative but this is a true reflection on what I see as a hotel dropping its standards and keeping its 4 star rating.

Poitive points were nice staff and superb view from sea view room and perfect location.

Room Tip: If you visit try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10GranTinerfe, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Gran Tinerfe, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time writing your review on TripAdvisor, it helps us to improve daily.
Our main target is to satisfy all our guests and make them have a lovely pleasant holiday with us, and we are sorry to know that in your case we did not achieve our entire goal.
We want you to know that we took very good note about your opinion in order to improve as we hope you to give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in us by giving us the chance to welcome you again in our Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
H10 Gran Tinerfe - Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to H10 Gran Tinerfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Gran Tinerfe

Address: Rafael Puig Lluvina, 13, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Gran Tinerfe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Gran Tinerfe hotel is located in the south of Tenerife on the Costa Adeje, right on the seafront. It has three swimming pools and sports facilities for enjoying your holiday time. Its wide-ranging culinary offering will bring you the best of local and international dishes. Hotel guests receive free admission to the Playa de las Americas Casino, which is located in the same building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your H10 Gran Tinerfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Gran Tinerfe Hotel Costa Adeje
h10 Gran Tinerfe Resort
Gran Tinerfe Tenerife
H10 Gran Tinerfe Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Gran Tinerfe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.