We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel El Duque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aparthotel El Duque to your Saves list
Aparthotel El Duque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av Bruselas 14, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, service and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just got back after staying for a week, 17th - 24th January and had a great time.
Yes keep in mind the hotel is 3* but we definately got value for money. Food was fresh and plentiful. Staff were always polite and very helpful. There is no wifi in the hotel but if you stay in block I you can connect to the local cafe's wifi. Pool areas were very well kept and clean. The tap wines may not be the strongest but is by no means crap. There is a supermarket (bottles of wine from E1.50!!) and an italian restaurant right next to the complex. If you want 4 or 5* then you pay for it. Want great service and good food at a value for money price then consider El Duque.

Room Tip: Block I you can use wifi from local cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    212
    95
    34
    21
See reviews for
212
140
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just got back from this hotel , and believe me I'm not a picky person at all , bad points food disgusting , breakfast everything freezing cold ,orange juice was like drinking water, dinner and tea the same chips either soggy cold or solid cold ,meats always eithier raw like pink chicken or super tough like chewing brick , the drinks machines never working,
It's says there is a snack bar ,no snack bar at all, sun beds locked till ten and pool bar don't open till 11.am so if u thirsty unlucky.
Good points clean hotel lovely staff lovely pool area, and when bar opened served pretty quick, lovely hotel if u went self catering,

Room Tip: Our room sea view was massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lucky Paul B who stayed in H006 an dgot exactly what he paid for. We were less fortunate!! Although the First Choice Winter Sun brochure states "all one bedroom appartments have a pool view" we didn't argue when the advisers asked for £112 suppliment to "guarantee a pool view." We got F005 with a tatty building a couple of feet from our balcony. This building was our view for two weeks! The onsite rep' and the 24/7 helpline considered a refund of the £112 to be a satifactory solution to the matter. The extremely pleasant but timid rep' did speak with the intimidating Accommodation Manager but predictably but, predictably, failed to alter the situation. We booked with a reputable company rather than independently to ensure that we would have on-site professional support in the event of any problems but First Choice failed to comply wih their customer commitment to provide a satisfactory solution within 24 hours.
Furthermore, we would agree with all the critisisma and comments made by cheshirechrissy and her recommendation to avoid this place, there are indeed much better places to coose from.

Room Tip: Pool views from G and H block only Avoid F block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I have just returned 4th-11th January,AIl inclusive you can drink the alcohol all night you wont get drunk,I am a casual drinker one night I had 6 glasses of Rose and was sobber as a judge,on arrival we were dropped at the gate by the driver no rep bothered to accompany us we rang the buzzer and spent some time waiting for it to open it didn't someone coming out let us in(we had to let a German party in when we were leaving) we had no idea where reception was and had to ask a guest, not good first impression,reception staff appeared disinterested.I was surprised when we eventually found our room on the 2nd floor as high as it goes and yes all the young able bodies on the ground floor and Oh yes they were German.the room was large for a studio but very cold at night and no option of a heater.
Food:Meat small and boney,chicken (I think?),Goat,Pig,Duck dried out with cooking,same breakfast spanish bacon,fried eggs,scrambled, cold beans,sausage cooked till there was no middle,Im sure its recycled as you see the same meats dressed in a different dish,overall DISGUSTING AN INSULT TO ANYONE'S PALATE, restaurant staff pleasant enough,some rude and every time you move whatever is on your plate or drink they remove,if you get food and time is up they will remove from you,plenty of variety for other nationals if you like continental,I read the reviews thats why I chose this place,in a word and the word of many British guests AVOID THIS PLACE THERE ARE MANY OTHER NICE ONES.We ate out some nice restaurants lovely Steak House Gran Reserva near to the beach area,Sirloin steak,pepper sauce,creamed cauliflower and onion,mash with a long potato crisp,plus bowl of chips and a large Rose wine 16 euro for 1

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for seven days in June 2012. Our apartment was exactly where we asked for it to be - with a view of the pool - and the staff were always friendly and helpful. The smaller heated pool was usually empty, so we tended to stay there for most of the time. The beach is a ten minute walk down the road, and there are plenty of restaurants and shops. It was sometimes a struggle to get a sun bed next to the pool, but apart from that I cannot flaw this hotel. The apartment was beautiful, spacious and clean, we had a big balcony with a great view, and there is a complex located inside the resort with shops, restaurants and a mini-golf course. Also, a local free bus service to the island's biggest water park which was amazing! I would definitely go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollingworth cheshire uk
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here 18-28th December 2012 room H006. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here in 2 years and we love it.The first time we stayed self catering and had a first floor apartment with a stunning mountain view. This time all inclusive studio ground floor on the main path to the restuarnt which was nice as you could say good evening or morning to people as they strolled back and forth to dine. The hotel is spotless,nothing is to much trouble for reception or the rest of the staff. Beaches are 5-10 walk, Hipo Dino supermarket just down the road is cheaper than on site super market.Plan to come back October ish. Asked at reception if you book early enough can you have a choice of apartment,I was told the they would do their best but not always possible. My only reason for asking was as already stated in an earlier review the lady in the room above us wore clicky shoes morning and night on a tiled floor,I thought Gingers rogers was staying upstairs!.Given the choice I would request a top floor room. All inclusive food was superb,very big choice. Entertainment is repetative but the kids love it,but entertainment galore can be found if you have a walkout at night. Roll on October.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

There were four people in our party one of the party being a fifteen year old and we stayed at this hotel from the 14th December to 28th December on a all inclusive basis
Our first impressions of the hotel was that it was well mantained and clean and tidy and the location was ideal as just outside the hotel was where all the buses for the area picked up if you wanted to use this means of transport to travel around the island
The reception area was basic but served the purpose it was required for and the staff were very helpful and efficient in dealing with any problems that you had
The rooms were large and set up for anyone who were on a self catering basis (micro wave,juice extractor,coffee perculator,toaster)but no kettle?
The rooms were cleaned every day and towel and bed linen changed twice a week
The food in the restaruant was of a good variety and plentiful which suited us as one of our party was a vegatarian
Our biggest complaint was around the pool area where the sunbeds were chained up to ten am every day also there were two swimming pools but only one bar which meant that if you were by the smaller pool which was heated and you wanted a drink you had to walk to the main pool aproximately two hundred yards away
The other complaint was concerning the animation team which consisted of one lady who never spoke to any guests around the pool the whole of the fourteen days that we stayed
Her idea of getting people to take part in the daily activities of which there was only four was to stand by the pool lifeguard and quietly announce the activity was about to start
The evenings entertainment was very poor with the animation lady announcing the childrens disco was on and when it was not very well supported by the children because it was the same tune in the same order every night with the impression this was the only tunes she knew how to do the steps to announced that it was the parents fault for not sending there children up to dance with her
This happened on two occasions
The entertainment programme needs to be run on a fourtnightly turn around as it seems to be on a seven day at present which means that you see the same acts if you are staying for fourteen nights
If there was a good animation team in this hotel I would certailnly return as the hotel would warrant a four star rating

Room Tip: We stayed in block I but you needed to be on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel El Duque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel El Duque

Address: Av Bruselas 14, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel El Duque 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel El Duque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel El Duque Hotel Costa Adeje
El Duque Tenerife
Aparthotel El Duque Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel El Duque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.