We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added HOVIMA Costa Adeje to your Saves list
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8 | Torviscas Playa, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Cookstown, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

the upgrade of this hotel is superb. cannot fault this hotel at all, the staff are friendly and helpful, everywhere is clean, rooms big enough and maids keep them clean, we had a partial sea view which looked over the pool area and out to sea it was really nice view. the food was plentiful and good choice, even when the restaurant was full there wasn't a que for food. the waiter service for drinks made the evening meal feel as though you were actually in a restaurant. the themed nights were really good, waiter service, with smiling waiters. mexican and spanish food, different to what we think as mexican and spanish food. the pool bar food was sandwiches and cakes, and ice-cream. soft drinks and coffee/tea were help yourself. the pool area was kept clean, particularly like the sofas near the top pool, i am not a subbed fan so this was ideal to sit and read in the shade. we didn't partake in the daytime or evening entertainment but there always seemed to be something going on. while there my husband and a back massage and i had a foot massage followed by the spa, although small was nice and relaxing. a bit expensive, but what spa isn't. the area around the hotel is full of shops and cafe and restaurants. with jewellery shops in abundance. the beach is a short walk down a slight hill is kept lovely and clean, only thing that spoilt it was the people selling sunglasses and things. went to a bar one evening down at the beach and were entertained by a fella called Rock DJ doing robbie williams. being a big robbie fan we had a brilliant evening. we also went on the Teide by night tour, watching the sunset over the clouds then after a meal,star gazing with a superb guide. the blanket trip is good (we go every year) its free and usually takes you to some interesting places. after a disastrous hotel in march and nice hotel in may this hotel really made our holiday will we be back.. oh definitely

Room Tip: if your really bothered about a view ask for a sea view or pool view. in the summer months when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    571
    285
    78
    26
See reviews for
240
913
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We spent a week from 13th to 20th December in Luabay. We were really apprehensive after reading the reviews. No need to be. We had a wonderful time, really relaxing and the hotel is spotless clean. We found all the staff pleasant and very hard working. They could not do enough for you. The Mexican restaurant was just fantastic and we really enjoyed our meal. The Spanish night was good but the food not to our taste but we did enjoy the experience. The rooms are lovely and the maids keep them very clean. All the areas of the hotel are well kept and are always kept clean. The food in the main restaurant was good, we found that after breakfast the snacks at the bar were more than enough for us. We only had lunch in the dining room once as we just had a sandwich and a piece of fruit at lunch time. At night time you could always get various types of food and there was always a chef on to make up you a pasta dish, with various sauces available, cheese, Bolognese etc. There was also a wide variety of other food available and if it wasn't hot enough for you a microwave was on hand. At the pool bar you can get slush puppies which were really refreshing there is also various soft drinks, water , beer and local spirits available. The evening entertainment was not too bad at all. We find that in Tenerife the entertainment is never that great no matter were you stay. We stayed in the hotel and gave the entertainment a go and as I say some of it wasn't too bad at all. The pool area is really good there are 3 levels with 3 pools. 2 Pool bars. There's a life guard on at all times and if he saw you struggling with a brolly/sunbed etc he was right over. He was really pleasant. We also never had a problem in getting a sunbed and we went down at different times of the day. We managed to get a sunbed every day without any hassle at all. There always seemed to be beds available. Maybe it was the time of year we went or maybe more sunbeds have been made available. The animation team did there best but we did find it hard to understand what they said on occasions. They were also always trying to get people to join in various games/competitions. The only thing I could find wrong with the hotel was a lot of the people who went there just seemed to want to moan about nothing at all. The thing that I could not get my head around is they came back year after year. It cant be that bad. It is defo a 4 star hotel so don't listen to the moaners go with an open mind to your holiday and have a brilliant time. We have been to various locations on an all inclusive basis and this is the first one that we had waiter service. Even if you went to the bar we found if a waiter was around he took your order and you sat down he would bring the order to you. As for the shower again no bother at all just put your bath mat down on the floor. Its really central and a good location. Few bars around you and shops restaurants. The beds are really comfortable and the air conditioning is really quiet. We had a brilliant sleep and the hotel was not that noisy at all. We would certainly return to the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on opposite side of pool get the sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have Just returned from after a 11 day break and can say apart from the weather we had four out of the eleven day rain its was the first time in the Canary island that we have had such bad weather. for such a long period. At that time we were limited to the hotel and to our dismay we were unable to watch the satellite T.V. in the Hotel which was limited to BBC world and Sky News, When we asked the Thomson reps they informed them that it was all the Hotel would pay for I even suggested it might be possible to pay for other channels as is the case in other Hotels Then again if the weather had been better who needs the telly.
The Location was good For the local Buses and shops bars walks ect, The Hotel has just had a refurbishment and is very modern the only observation it might have been a good idea to have a area that was a little less nosier all the lower bar and entertainment area was open plan The nightly shows were quite good . The food was very good indeed the quality and choice were very good . The rooms were comfortable and clean and we had a walk in shower which suited us fine . All in all we thought that the Hotel and location were very good.

Room Tip: Try and get a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Unhappy with the first room allocated but we paid to upgrade to one with a sea view which was fine.We found the staff excellent, the food we enjoyed and having the room cleaned every day was great. The reps on site were helpful. The sun shone after torrential rain and people enjoyed the sun beds.
Our gripe was the entertainment- boy was it bad! Very loud and perfectly awful. It truly would have been better to have had no-one rather than a mixed bunch of folk who,quite frankly were just plain hopeless.
However entertainment I know is a personal choice so we went out until it had all finished Some people seemed happy with it.
On the plus side it was the food,staff and the eventual sun that made this holiday good.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view as the rooms are plain and to be overlooking another building doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

First impressions were good. Quick check in at reception and had emailed hotel in advance for high floor quiet room, which they gave us.We missed not having the customary welcome drink on arrival. Room was adequate with tiny balcony. Towels and bedding changed frequently.
The Thomson reps Clare and Rob were new to the hotel, inexperienced and did not have much local knowledge. Rob gave us incorrect information on more than one occasion. Did not let us know about cancelled trip, had to find out from reception ourselves.
The animation team were also new to the hotel, and it showed. Their communication skills were poor, could not speak or understand English very well, they were extremely disorganised and found it difficult to operate the computer for the Karaoke or Bingo!! They did have some sports activities during the day. The area where the evening shows took place had very poor acoustics, plastic seating, and you could hear the other guests talking in the adjacent bar area. When the shows finished at 10.30p.m. that was the end of the night, no music or dancing. We sometimes went to other nearby hotels in the evening to watch their entertainment in much nicer surroundings. There was practically no waiter service for drinks which is unusual for a 4* Platinum hotel. There is only one copy of the Bar Menu in entire hotel to let you know what drinks are included in the AI option. We particularly liked the dry sherry, port and Kir Royale, other cocktails were pre mixed and not pleasant. Spirits and wine were passable.
The restaurant was bland and uninviting. No table decorations, paper serviettes at all meals, table cloths not changed between sittings, and some staff were unfriendly. Did not keep to dress code, even though it was pointed out to staff. If you were a couple they did not like you sitting at a table laid for four people, and on one occasion our table was cleared while we went to the service area for our food. We found the food to be ok, just used the microwave to heat it up if necessary. Went to the a la carte and enjoyed both the Mexican and Spanish menu. Carlos the waiter was very good, and coped very well when the restaurant flooded during the thunderstorm while we were there.
Pools were nice, the heart shaped pool was heated but not enough sun beds and rules about reserving them not adhered to. There were two outside bars but these were not always open, you could get snacks from one but only sandwiches, pastries and ice creams. The pool bars closed at 5.30 pm but the lobby bar did not open until 6 pm some days, which meant guests had to wait for their pre- dinner drink.
We used the spa and enjoyed the spa circuit, 2 people 16 euros, which included Jacuzzi, hot tub, sauna and steam room, showers and heated chairs.
The main attraction of this hotel is the location, it is very central and you can walk to Playa de Las Americas if you turn left out of the hotel. Turn right for nearest bus stop, Costa Adeje market and Playa del Duque, which is more upmarket with 5* hotels, a lovely shopping centre and good beaches. Go straight on for Port and marina. We took the local bus to Los Christianos for the Sunday market, which is much bigger than the market in Costa Adeje. We also took the bus to Adeje, which is a lovely town with a mountain walk (officially closed and not for the faint hearted).
For wifi use one of the local bars for a drink eg Bar Unique directly opposite, and they will give you an access code, much cheaper than the hotel prices.
Just felt that the management let the hotel down. If they were more proactive and made themselves aware of the problems, our holiday experience could have been so much better. Thomsons should not really advertise this hotel as a 4* Platinum as guests expect a certain standard which this hotel does not reach. On the other hand for price we paid we thought it was reasonable value.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel on higher floor, not facing pool, are quiet with sun most of day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Returned from luabay end of November. Have been going to this hotel for more than twenty year, before the refurbishment and name change. Apart from a dissapointment over the room we wanted, {Thomsons don't advertise a suite, the hotel wanted another four hundred and thirty euros on top of paying £800 each for 10 days} It was quite nice. We were in room 417 overlooking the pool and a good view of the sea area .A lot of the staff are the original staff and were very friendly. It is very modern and very clean. Rooms were cleaned every day, towels changed every day and sheets changed every other day. One thing we did notice was, the male holidaymakers did not take notice of the dress code on an evening. The entertainment was really good but as our friend is a singer and compare in a nearby bar we went out most nights .Will be returning in 2014

Room Tip: If you want a suite, book it before you go if possible as it costs four times more if you upgrade at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is one of the cleanest hotels ive stayed in but a few things let the hotel down , food !! its not that its not nice tasted its just that its the same things every day for lunch and then for dinner , a themed night now and then would help , also its the worst selection of snacks ive seen in any of the hotels ive stayed in even the 3 star , no choice the same every day , sandwiches which never changed and the same cakes , all ready prepared , for a premium hotel surely they can introduce some more choices for people , a/i drinks , you dont know what they have in their choice for a/i no lists for anything , good things for the hotel are excellent staff and spotlessly clean everywhere, rooms were lovely , i hope they can change the small but important things in a persons holiday to make this lovely hotel a premium class 4 star worth coming back too ., i would not have to have gone out a lot of nights for meals, a very large reception area and when we were stuck in with the weather no tv lounge or entertainment provided to keep people amused , hoping if i return they have improved on these things ive mentioned.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back and it was lovely and quiet , sunshine all morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8 | Torviscas Playa, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#23 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOVIMA Costa Adeje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.