We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added HOVIMA Costa Adeje to your Saves list
HOVIMA Costa Adeje
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8 | Torviscas Playa, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Good Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

On returning from the Luabay I looked up on the Thomsons web site to see how they describe their platinum range. I quote “ they come with great extras like bigger luggage allowance” This hotel just about merits its 4 star rating but it must try harder on the little things. All in all though, we did have a great holiday.
We stayed for 11 nights. The hotel has been refurbished and is of a good standard. We were on the 9th floor and our room although a bit small was fine. Plenty of wardrobe space but only 3 drawers for clothes. A kettle is provided but no milk, tea or coffee is supplied. Good sized bathroom with walk in shower, which to my mind is perfect. A supply of soap and shampoos are supplied along with a shower gel container on the wall of the shower. Food is generally pretty good. A decent selection so no one can go hungry. Quality is reasonable, but some nights a few dodgy dishes. We were allowed to use the themed restaurant 3 times, (you must book this at the reception. Choose your dates ASAP as there are not many spaces. The Mexican night is better, a choice of 3 dishes. The Spanish night is a selection of various Tapas dishes which were OK. The waiters in here were excellent (give them a good tip and they will spoil you). Swimming pools were warm and spotlessly clean. WiFi is charged at 10 Euros per day or 30 Euros per week. Absolute rip off. DO NOT PAY THIS. There is a lovely bar directly opposite the hotel, The Unique. Very friendly staff, go there have 2 beers for 4 Euros and use his WiFi. We paid 22 Euros for the room safe which was very small. Towels are available 15 Euros deposit for each towel. The evening entertainment is of a good standard. The Blues Brothers are good, but see them in one of the bars and it is a different act, very funny but extremely rude, do not sit near the front or get up while they are on if you do not want to be picked on. The Charlie Chaplin act was also excellent. We have never gone to the same hotel twice, so will not return but would recommend the Luabay for a good stay. Just accept that this is a good hotel but not an exceptional one.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a view of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guests, thank you for staying at our hotel and taking the time to share your experience. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the hotel in general. We will look into your comments about which things could be improved to make our guests’ experience even better and would love to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    498
    248
    69
    18
See reviews for
228
762
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just returned from a lovely holiday staying at The Lulabay. The Hotel was always clean & tidy. Reception staff friendly & helpful. Rooms clean but could do with bedside cupboards. Didnt like having to carry the safety deposit box key around with us! Food was very good although not always hot. Pool area was ok & we always managed to get a sun bed. One of the best evenings we had was a trip to the Music Hall Tavern - best show we have seen for ages!

Just another thing there is a pool side bar but the barman wasn't there all the time which was a bit annoying!

Overall a good Hotel which was good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floor 4 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. Your feedback is very important for us and we appreciate your help so we can spot areas that can need improvement. We will pass your comment about the safety deposit box key and the pool bar not always being attended to the corresponding departments. It would be a great pleasure if we could welcome you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 14 day all inclusive stay. Very clean hotel, all staff extremely friendly. Requested a quiet room with a pool view on a high floor after reading reviews and had a lovely room on the fifth floor. Didn't see any cats as they seem to be at the back of the hotel (much to my relief!). I notified Thomson when booking the holiday that I cannot eat gluten and the hotel was notified. I did have gluten free bread and cake every morning with my breakfast, but for lunch and dinner managed on the buffet supplied. I prefer to eat vegetarian so was pleased with the choice of food, but the fish and meat were overcooked and very salty. (but when in another country we cannot expect the same type of food!) The infinity pool on the upper terrace is the quieter part of the hotel, but you will have to reserve your sunbeds early if you want a good position, but there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols. Pools were very clean. Try the local drink (Ron Meil) with ice. You will have to ask for it as it is not on the counter, but available in the all-inclusive. Although this hotel is in a busy part of the resort, turn right out of the hotel to first roundabout, and turn left, past exclusive shops to pick up the coastal path, much more tranquil, fab walk with breathtaking vista. In the welcome meeting the Thomson reps tried to discourage you to use the local bus service but we caught a local bus to Los Christianos which runs every 10 minutes and costs 2.9 euros for both of us, and only took 20 minutes. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Quiet room on the upper floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed your holidays and were satisfied with your room, our staff’s friendliness, the cleanliness of the hotel and the food we offer in our restaurant and that special arrangements were made to your satisfaction. Your feedback will be shared with our staff and we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a 7 night stay with my partner (ages 25&35) at the start of September and really enjoyed our holiday.
Hotel reception was clean and modern and staff were helpful
Room: we stayed in a room on 1st floor facing the back of the hotel. We enjoyed watching the cats on the path behind the car park and they never ventured near the hotel. The balcony doors blocked out pretty much all noise and the room is air conditioned so no need to keep them open. Fresh bottle of water was delivered to the room daily but the fridge wasn't very cold. We had no bathroom door which seems to be a frequent problem in the hotel! It didn't bother us to much being a couple and we excused ourselves to the balcony for a cigarette if needed! Shower was fine if you angled it slightly to the wall, no flooded bathroom.
Food: enjoyed the food the majority of the time. Varied selection and lots to try. I didn't come to Tenerife to eat English food so enjoyed trying new things. Plenty of pizza and chips for theless adventurous. Pool bar also had snacks in the afternoon. Good selection of drinks and white wine was ok.
Location: beach just across the road and down the steps with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. Bout half hour transfer from airport
General: enjoyed relaxing by pool most days. Could always get a longer although a lot of people did reserve them. Pool area was always clean and served by 2 bars. Entertainment team tried to involve people but weren't pushy. Evening entertainment was usual cheesy acts but we went out most evenings.
WiFi was ridiculously expensive especially since most local bars had it free
Thomson reps were very helpful and we booked a trip to Siam park which is highly recommended

All in all we had an enjoyable stay here and would recommend it and would return

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

just got back from a weeks stay.. dont know why thomson rate it as platium as it is nowere near... ROOM: clean room on 7th floor lifts took ages to come. room quite small overlooked pool n had seaview...very noisy could here music in room night and morning if facing the pool. shower leaked had to put towel down to stop it. rooms cleaned everyday although sheets not changed everyday. fridge is warm so is aircon. FOOD: ok but repetitive i lived off chips n rice meat overcooked. LOCATION: rite by the beach n some bars me n my bf in twentys felt like there wasnt much going on prefer playa americas. pool area ok ppl put towels on sunbeds early saw ppl even doing it at night nothing gets done. entertainment ok some nights better than others. recomend siam park. thomson reps nice n helpful. staff ok some more ignorant. all in all had a ok stay but would of spent my money on a nicer hotel just doesnt make u feel special considering its meant to be four star premier. i would highly recomend h10 gran tinife in playa de las americas very good standerd and preferd the hotel alot more.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sammie, thank you for being our guest and for sharing your experience on here. We are glad to know you were satisfied with the cleanliness of the room you were allocated and had an overall good stay at our hotel. Your feedback will help us improve some areas that you mention such as repetitiveness of food and guests reserving sunbeds. We will pass your comments on to the responsible departments and would love to present some changes to you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Recently returned from the Luabay in mid September. Felt I had to write a trip advisor review as received an e mail from Thomson requesting a review of the hotel and was disappointed to find all Thomson customer reviews for this hotel have been removed from the website !! perhaps that says it all.
We found reception staff to be helpful, 14 euros for the safe per week and 15 E deposit for each pool towel. Rooms clean and tidy, but who thought a frosted glass door on the bathroom and a shower that at times pours onto the VERY slippy floor is a good idea?
Pool areas nice, and superficially clean, but unlike other hotels we have stayed in, the area surrounding the pools isn't cleaned daily, tables given a cursory wipe over only. Some rubbish remained for 2-3 days of our stay.
Poor air conditioning and very warm in the lifts.
Restaurant - a major let down, hard working waiting staff, but no greeter at the door led to chaotic patchy service;dress code not enforced, so what's the point in having one ?. Food warm and never hot, minimal seafood and fish and after 8 30 pm- don't expect the griddle cook to cook- they just serve the precooked meat or fish. My husband said the food reminded him of school dinners. One drink offered when you sit down.
We had a sea view on a high floor and that was very nice and would return to Costa Adeje but not this hotel, as it needs a visible management to improve standards and customer service.

Room Tip: Sea view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for staying at our hotel and taking the time to write this review. We are glad you were satisfied with your room and our staff on reception and in the restaurant and overall enjoyed a good holiday. Our guests’ feedback is very important for us and helps us spot weak points that we need to work on. We would be very delighted if we could welcome you at our hotel again and present you with some changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOLVERHAMPTON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I totally agree with so many of the reviews now we have returned from a 9 day stay in this hotel in mid September. The hotel is clean although bedrooms a bit dated and not much storage space. Fridge only gave of warm heat never cold, and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor unless you have just a dribble of water to shower with. The main disappointment for us was the food. It was very repetative and mainly catered for germans and spanish, not much english food at all, and what was considered english was under cooked, such as vegatables but what they called meat was dry and over cooked. The last four nights of our stay we eat out as we could not stand the thought of facing the same food over and over again.
We stayed in room 539 which had an ok view, but if anyone finds themselved anywhere near that room you wont get much sleep. Refuse collection every day at aboout 4.30am and they dont care how much noise they make, bottle bank was right under our window and they used that at regular intervals all through the day and night irrespective of time and made as much noise as possible. Staff in the hotel were rude and not pollite at all, except for the cleaners who were always pleasant.
Overall not the four star rating as shown in brouchure, would rate it as three star but only if the food situation is improved. Would recommend the loction, as Costa Adeje has mush to offer with lots of restaurants and bars to choose from, but would definately would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless drastically improved.

Room Tip: Dont stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Administradors, Cosme Pou Mestre - Hotel Manager at HOVIMA Costa Adeje, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Gill, thank you for being our guest and writing a review about your stay with us. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with our hotel and hope you still enjoyed your holiday. Your feedback is being passed on to the corresponding departments and looked into in more detail. We will be sure to look for ways to improve the mentioned issues and would love to welcome you as our guests again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOVIMA Costa Adeje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA Costa Adeje

Address: Avenida Ernesto Sarti 8 | Torviscas Playa, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Luabay Costa Adeje)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#20 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#24 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA Costa Adeje 4*
Number of rooms: 303
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your HOVIMA Costa Adeje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luabay Costa Adeje Hotel Costa Adeje
Esmeralda Hotel Tenerife
HOVIMA Costa Adeje Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOVIMA Costa Adeje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.