We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, unrealistically rated, old fashioned” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Princess Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia Princess Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia Princess Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Bruselas 1 | Playa de Fañabé, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced, unrealistically rated, old fashioned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The quality of food very poor and so was the selection, the dining room decor was older than me (i'm 35) and the hotel is old fashioned, was like stepping back in the 70's, the rooms were awful: the decor , the tv that wouldn't look out of place in a history museum, air conditioning that didn't work and an extractor fan that didn't work. Cracked tiles, faded wallpaper and furniture. Although rooms were cleaned well by the cleaners, there was a constant musty smell but that probably due to age of hotel I suppose, even the towels had seen better days. This hotels ratings need to be reviewed and we are in the process of asking Thomson how this hotel rates as 5T platinum (this is some kind of joke) and the hotel rates themself as a official 4 star (another joke!!) as I wouldn't even put it under a 3 star. We paid a lot of money to stay here so expect to get what we paid for. Also, you have to pay for everything on top too that should be included in a platinum such as fridge and safety deposit! There wasn't even any tea making facilities in the room. Stayed in other platinum hotels and they are a world away from this. I've also stayed in 3 star hotels in the past that were more modern and didn't charge you for extras and that had quality food! The only good points at this overhyped and overpriced place is that the staff were friendly, the rooms were cleaned daily and that the location was good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    474
    160
    38
    20
See reviews for
284
741
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel with my husband and daughter as a last minute booking from 11 - 18th October as a present to my daughter for doing brill in her highers. Arrived late at night and as we had missed dinner were given a voucher for dinner or picnic lunch on the last day. As we were not going til 9pm we stayed for dinner. I'd emailed previously and requested a high room away from the road. We got a suite on floor 2 at either side of the 52 steps which lead from the piano bar to the large pool. It was great, really spacious for the three of us with two separate rooms, two old fashioned tellies and a large bathroom. Room 2022. The towels were replaced every day and the rooms kept spotlessly clean. The staff are amazing, really friendly and very hard working. The entertainment staff, who we met at the guayarmina princess in the summer do an exceptional job, and yes there are some new inexperienced ones but everyone has to learn. My daughter was a bit disappointed that there weren't many her own age as it was many older clientele. She did however participate in all of the activities between the two sister hotels and racked up a stack of diplomas. Well done Glen, Joe, Kiko, Rachel, Nicole, Paula and the gang! The only disappointment was the hotel although clean and stunning to look at is a bit tired round the edges and could do with a lick of paint but other than that.......
The food was good with variety each day for even the fussiest, fresh grilled fish, meat, roast, stews, salad etc. breakfasts with hot food, cereals, yogurt, creeps, omelettes etc. we loved it and would definitely return. Well done Princess hotels, keep up the good work.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a fantastic holiday at the Bahia Princess beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean and staff were courteous polite and very hard working,the food in the Restaraunt was perfect and plentiful.
Rooms are very spacious and spotless with clean towels every day although there is a charge if you want to change your pool towels, only down side of the rooms there are no sockets only one in the bathroom . Safe wifi and fridge are available but at a charge.
Drinks and snacks are a liitle on the expensive side 4.50 euro's for a CUP of tea, 2 beers a bacardi & coke and southern comfort & lemonade 20 euro's, happy hour 6.30 - 7.30 is a little early.

Room Tip: Dont ask for a ground floor room a lot of these have very tall trees and bushes right outside the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheff
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I am a bit sad to say that the hotel needs updateing, television are old and bulky .Sunbeds need mattress on them ,because it says it is 5 star and all 5 star hotel have mattress on sunbed.The hotel needs painting.The happy hour needs to be sorted out instead of it being 6.30 to 7.30,it should be 9to 10 ,as this would keep people in hotel to watch eveing entertainment whereas at the moment people go out as the drinks are a bit expensive.The entertainment is not as good as it use to be .while we was there we enjoyed comedy elvis and the opera singers other than that the entertainment was poor.When we first arrived we where given a terrible room on ground floor wich over looked the pool it smelt really bad the room was 1017 avoid this room at all cost.I emailed the hotel before hand and did not get the room I wanted.But the next day we was moved to really nice room .The reception staff were really lovely .All the staff are lovely and can not do enough for you .The food was really nice its just little bit that their need to sort out like entertainment sunbeds and painting hotel .we went for weeks end of September and the weather was fab!! .Went for lovely walks down to Bahia del duque and browse around the shopping centre near the hotel is a one euro bar san eugenes bar is really good, harriett tea room is nice and if you sleep in and miss breakfast sunset harbour is really nice for breakfast papgayou is a really nice bar and it is lovely down at the safari shopping centre near the singing fountain is really nice their are lots of little bar restaraunts down there.Ijust hope their do the hotel up a bit

Room Tip: avoid room1017 at all cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed from 27th sept to 4th oct. I had emailed in advance for a room overlooking the pool which we received. It was nearer the road and could hear some very dodgy karaoke until all hours. Tho once the balcony door was closed and air con on this did not disturb us.
The staff at the hotel are lovely and friendly. The maids do an exceptional job. The rooms were always spotless and clean towels everyday. Only downside to the room was there is only one plug socket and its in the bathroom.
The tv has English channels 1-5 which was nice if having a quieter nite.
Having to pay for the safe, fridge and wifi was expensive. But wifi coverage was good all over the hotel.
The restaurant staff were very friendly and always quick to tidy away any unused plates. The only downside was the lack of vegetarian options. Very day dinner consisted of potatoes and pasta for me. But my partner loved the variety of mains available and was often stuck for choice.
The pools are lovely and clean and the top 2 pools are really quiet and get a nice breeze from the hot sun! Overall the hotel was good. Wouldn't say 5 star as a bit tatty round the edges. The location of the hotel is great and lots of nice bars and restaurants near by. Would possibly return again a few improvements could be made to get its 5star rating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

had a lovely stay at the bahia princess. beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean and staff were courteous & polite. stayed in a 2nd floor room overlooking the pool initially which was fine but had emailed before hand for a high level room so was a liitle disapponted but after a chat with one of the reception staff were able to move to a 4th floor room half way through the holiday which was great. we are thinking of returning in the new year, something we have never done before so must be have been good.

Room Tip: ask for a high level room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We visited the hotel for the first time in 2007 with our teenage daughters, the food, evening entertainment and daytime activites were excellent and therefore decided to return in 2008 and again in 2010. We have just returned from our 2013 holiday and we are sad to report a rapid decline. Whilst the actual hotel (Rooms, swimming pools etc) are still aesthetically pleasing, the entertaiment has been reduced from acts sutch as irish riverdance and chinese acrobats to the same old tribute acts who think they can sing. There is no variation in the type of acts and to be honest we came accross better singers in the local karaoke bar. Whre do I start with the food? What used to be 5 star quality has been reduced to less than 3 star, the same thing dished up every evening, which, quite honestly was reminiscent of the all inclusive slop we once experienced when the girls were young. There is no longer any service in the restaurant and chicken nougetts and chips appeared on the breakfast buffet!!! The entertainment team seemed to be very inexperienced and a different person popped up each day so no opportunity to build up a rapport. Our return flight home was in the evening therefore, we were offered a picnic on day of departure, we ordered the previous day and was advised to collect from the restaurant at breakfast time which meant it would be in 26 degree heat for almost 9 hours, when I mentioned this to the receptionist she was a little offhand.All off that said the rooms and general cleanliness of the hotel, pool and bra areas was excellent.
All in all we were really dissapointed with our recent visit to the Bahia Princess and sad to say that we will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia Princess Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Princess Hotel

Address: C/ Bruselas 1 | Playa de Fañabé, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia Princess Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Bahia Princess Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Princess Tenerife
Bahia Princess Costa Adeje
Bahia Hotel Princess Tenerife
Bahia Princess Hotel Tenerife/Costa Adeje
Hotel Bahia Princess Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia Princess Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.