We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Anthelia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Anthelia to your Saves list
Iberostar Anthelia
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Londres 15, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I will generally try to cover just things not already covered by other reviewers:-

* Generally very impressed with all aspects of the establishment beginning with the spectacularly high-ceilinged atrium reception area - outstanding!

* The staff are all, as has been commented in other reviews here, very friendly, helpful and enthusiastic.

* One recent reviewer was, qute understandably, very upset that he could not get wifi in his room without having to sit in the bathroom. As heavy wifi users (3 laptops, 1 tablet, 1 Kindle, 1 smartphone and 2 Blackberries) we had been concerned with this but found, to our relief, that the hotel's free wifi worked well and at a reasonable clip in our room and all around the pool area. Maybe the wifi is patchy as it is difficult to provide universal good coverage in every room but, if there is a problem then it would be worth asking to be moved. The hotel provide an ID and password for each device which works OK but on some devices (mostly the Windows laptops) the whole lot had to be re-keyed for each session which was mildly tiresome.

* The room-safe is one of the best we have come across anywhere. It is quite big (although it will not quite take a full-size 15.6" laptop - but who would steal one of these monsters anyway:-) ) and the great thing is that it locks and unlocks with the swipe of a credit-sized card - no fiddling around on all fours trying to key in a combination!). On the last day the safe would not open, however, and a technical person had to be called to release the door - he came quite promptly.

* Another brilliant idea implemented by this hotel's enlightened management team is a clearly-stated policy that any sunbeds that are left unattended for more than half an hour will have 'reserving' items (i.e. towels) removed so that the sunbeds can then be released and made available to other guests (who don't have friends who get out at 6am to lay their towels out on all the best position sunbeds - you know who you are and you mostly speak good English too!)

* Food - we like the breakfast buffet - huge range of choice, we liked the Pizzeria out on the front terrace which needs to be pre-booked.

* The hotel access from the road is temporarily inconvenienced due to extensive road alterations outside. Our satnav took us to Calle Londres OK but remember to aim for the NW half of Calle Londres where it is on the south side about 150m from the junction with Plaza Fanabe.

Room Tip: If a sea-view is important it might be worth selecting a room above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubhouseTenerife, Director General at Iberostar Anthelia, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about Iberostar Anthelia. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very proud of our staff members, they always give their utmost to try and please all guests.

As you so state, our Internet is free of charge, wireless and accessible throughout the whole hotel: rooms, restaurants, pool areas, etc. Though we may suffer from isolated incidences or technical difficulties every now and then, they are only momentarily.

I am glad to read that you appreciate our new pool policy and this was made due to the various comments we received on tripadvisor at the beginning of our summer season. It is for the sole purpose of improving the pool area environment for our guests, though we only strictly follow it throughout our high seasons.

Our breakfast buffet offers wide choice of cold and warm food, various freshly squeezed juices as well as pancakes and eggs prepared in front of you the way you like it. We are glad you enjoyed Portofino, our a la carte Italian restaurant that offers delicious authentic Italian cuisine.

Thank you again for your positive words about our establishment.

Kind regards,

Alexis Barbovitch
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    353
    82
    17
    21
See reviews for
775
586
48
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed here for four days in Nov/Dec this year. Overall the hotel is pretty good and it is definitely more of a resort than a hotel. This area of Tenerife is super touristy and the hotel is an oasis in the middle of it all. The grand lobby is super 80's wooden finishes everywhere. The hotel is beyond huge. I was expecting bigger rooms however it didnt really matter as we were hardly in there. We had a decent sized balcony which was good. There were like 3 or 4 pools and loads of extra activities going on throughout the day like water aerobics etc etc. We didnt eat in the hotel at all but it might be a good idea for next time as the food around the hotel is not very good. The staff were ok the local knowledge of the staff seemed quite limited and I would doubt that any of them are from the area. There is free internet throughout the hotel. Overall if you want a resort and to sit by the pool for a few days then this is the place to do it in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubhouseTenerife, Director General at Iberostar Anthelia, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadviser about your stay in Iberostar Anthelia. I must agree that our location is exceptional, located between two beautiful beaches in Tenerife – Playa Del Duque and Playa Fanabe. Our guests also have the advantage of direct access to the promenade that leads to many restaurants and bars in the area. Costa Adeje is a perfect place where to relax from all the hustle. Watching a sunset is a must, it will be an unforgettable experience.

Throughout the whole day we have different activities organized by our unique animation team who always have something special planned covering all ages, from the little ones all the way up to the adults. We offer different sports activities such as mountain biking, aquabike, pilates, yoga, Taichi and many, many others as well as entertaining activities like Cocktail and Cooking demonstrations, bingo and, of course, the evening shows that take place in Anthelia Mall.

In Iberostar Anthelia we have three a la carte restaurants that offer Italian, Gourmet and Mediterranean kitchen and our main Buffet Restaurant Zeus that offers a varied and themed buffet every evening. Our gastronomy definetly receives a very warm and positive feedback from all our guests and I highly recommend you to try it for yourself during your next stay.
Thank you once again for your review and I hope to welcome you again in Iberostar Anthelia in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Alexis Barbovitch
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at Iberostar Anthelia for a week in Oct./Nov., family of 3 with a 6-year-old child. I’ve waited a bit to get some “distance” but it doesn’t change the fact that we were disappointed – mainly with the room. We normally stay at 4* hotels but this time wanted to see if paying the extra €1000 (!) would give a hotel going the extra mile – it didn’t. A lot of positive aspects, though:

- Beautiful, clean, impressive building both inside and outside.
- Good buffet with something for everybody’s liking – picky child included (although all it takes is freshly cooked spaghetti and parmesan…)
- Heated pool was a big plus. However, it was quite deep. Our daughter can swim a bit but could have used lower part as well. The water in the bigger pool with lower area felt rather cold.
- Service at the restaurant mostly excellent.
- Entertainment was good. Only hick-up was the Halloween show. We were told at the entrance that it was too scary for our child. Good to know. After the Halloween (why were they in this order?) there was an acrobatic show suitable for all. And the access was… through the Halloween-decorated (with live and scary ‘creatures’) space. We were advised to cover our daughter’s eyes but that was hardly possible. In the darkness even we had to mind our steps and with all the yelling and shouting it wouldn’t really have helped. Ended up arriving in the show room with a screaming child. And she was not the only one.
- Variety of activities was good. Pool biking something new!
- Good beds and quiet room.

The negative aspects mainly relate to the room. There was just about enough space but, of course, it was meant for 2.
- Not enough space to hang your wet clothes; on the balcony there was one clothe rail where you could barely hang one set of swimming gear, not two sets (because of the humid weather even over the night our swimming suits did not dry), let alone the jogging clothes. Inside there were two big cupboards to hang your clothes but hardly the place for dripping pieces of clothing. In the bathroom there were some short rails, which could have been heated, but were not! Space is not a problem – they could add some rails both on the balcony, in the bathroom and on the two walls at the room entrance but I guess they wouldn’t go with the decoration.
- No tea/coffee making facilities which you can find at 3* hotels.
- The air conditioning had several levels but no adjustment for temperature. Even in the lowest level the draft felt so cold we couldn’t keep it on during the night.
- The building had only 2 entrances (at least that was all we found) – a bit annoying having to go basically around the big lot (=several hundreds of meters) to get to the shopping center which was like 50 meters from the back of the hotel. Security is probably the reason for the missing gate at the back but taking into consideration that the beach side gate had been left open most of the time we used it, access by non-residents didn’t seem to be considered a problem.

So next time it’s back to 4*. Better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubhouseTenerife, Director General at Iberostar Anthelia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Iberostar Anthelia. We always appreciate all our guest comments as reviews like your help us in our goal for constant improvement.

Firstly, I would like to thank you for praising our architecture layout. Iberostar Anthelia is a very spacious hotel, all the rooms are located in 5 buildings and all themed by the Opera – Aida, Butterfly, Carmen, Dafne and Elektra. Our establishment also offers numerous large outdoor gardens and small hidden corners where to rest of just enjoy the peace and tranquility. We appreciate the kind words towards the cleanness of our hotel as all our housekeeping department work extremely hard to achieve just this.

I am glad that you and your family enjoyed our culinary offer, especially our main Buffet Restaurant Zeus, open all year round for breakfast and dinner, granting the guest with up to twelve different themed nights. Apart from this restaurant, we also have 3 other a la carte restaurants, to offer our guests the posibility of varying for some of their night dinners.

As to the swimming pools, we have 2 large salt water swimming pools from which you have spectacular views overlooking the ocean and also a heated fresh water swimming pool where daily activities such as water aerobics take place. There are also 2 pool bars available which offer direct beverage service to the sun loungers. It is true that our heated pool just not have a shallow end though the hotel has 3 children pools for the younger ones who have not learnt to swim yet.

I am sorry to hear that you did not like the tunnel of Horror that the animation team prepared and was a tremendous success with most of our guests, being the first time a hotel on the island ever prepares one. Though it was dedicated mainly to children and teenagers, we did advise parents mainly with children of the age of 0-3 to not let them go alone. Nether the less, I must apologize for the lack of information on our behalf as there was another entrance for those who did not want to pass through this tunnel.

In reference to the room, we have taken good note of your comments for future analysis in case there is room for improvements and appreciate you listing the proposals for us.

Thank you once more for the time taken in writing such a complete review and I apologize once again if there were truly some aspects of the hotel that did not reach your expectations.

My kindest regards

Alexis Barbovitch
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I'm writing this review while still being at the hotel. The reason I bother is because of the wifi, or to be precise, lack of it. I just can't believe how - based on current standards - anyone could grant 5stars to a place that doesn't have a fully operational wifi network. I'm in what they call superior location priority room and one would have hoped that this grants close to the best of what's regarded as 5 stars. The way things work around here the acces points were randomly located (by someone drunk) around gangways in spots which are not optimal and the signal is available only in rooms adjacent to those spots. If you like me are in a superior location your access will be restricted to the bathroom area (sitting on toilet seems to work best). Or you might want to grab a chair and seat outside on the corridor. Even my partner who thought I was exaggerating now thinks that this is a pisstake. The situation is beyond belief and below any standards.

I LOVE the location and would be willing to give the hotel a 5 star review (despite the overall quality which is between 3 and 4 stars by European/Asian business standards) but the wifi makes me want to give it a big fat 0.00.

If their strategy is to scare off the young generation it works well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubhouseTenerife, Director General at Iberostar Anthelia, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest:

First of all find my apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations in our Wi-Fi free service. I would like to point out that we have contacted our supplier in other to check and repair areas with an insufficient connection.

We installed a new Wi-Fi network all over the hotel 1 year ago. The installation was done considering a minimum sign of portable computers from -77 dB to -80 db. The location of the AP’s was chosen after a thorough study of coverage. We also have a 24x7 service of an external maintenance company in the following languages (English, Spanish, German, Portuguese and French) in order to find solutions to any problem that it may appear with the computerized devices which provide service to our Wi-Fi network and to any guest’s computer.

We hope to have all solved very soon considering that most of our hotel has full coverage with the latest technology.

Regards,


Marc Clement
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Very large, excellent, hotel, with plenty of willing staff. Good pools, with an interesting policy - if there are no convenient "empty" sun beds, but some that appear to be "reserved" (remember the Germans!), the staff will remove personal belongings, to free up sunbeds that have remained unused for 30 minutes.

Few good local restaurants, so half board is well worth while. The food is good and (much too) plentiful.

There are lots of stairs, but numerous lifts are strategically located.

Most of the guests were either Russian or German, with a few French, Dutch, Belgians and some English.

Room Tip: Try to face south. I think that we may have been upgraded, when we complained that our (first) roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubhouseTenerife, Director General at Iberostar Anthelia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at Iberostar Anthelia. All guest comments are always highly appreciated.

I am glad you enjoyed the food at our main buffet restaurant Zeus as well as our 2 evening a la carte restaurants, Portofino with authentic Italian cuisine and Poseidon – Canarian gourmet restaurant, where all dishes are elaborated with fresh and local products.

Thank you for praising the numerous installations and routes we have for the disabled and handicapped so that they can truly enjoy their holiday as everyone else.

Iberostar Anthelia is visited by many nationalities, the majority of our guests visiting us from the United Kingdom, Germany and Russia, as well as people Belgium, France and Switzerland.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you once more in Iberostar Anthelia.

Best regards

Alexis Barbovitch
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My mother and I went in October for twelve days. The hotel was absolutely lovely apart from the fact that there was roadworks widening the road outside the hotel, but we had sea views so therefore could not hear any noise where we were positioned. It was my mother's birthday whilst there, and they sent up a cake (which I must admit was one of the best tasting cakes I've ever tasted) to the room. The staff were friendly, helpful and well presented at all times. It's positioning was fantastic (especially to the designer mall just 500m from the hotel). The buffet was definitely 5*. (They could improve on the room service menu though). Plus although we didn't bring any children, we noticed the hotel was well equiped for entrtaining them and had a full staff dedicated just to the children. Would fully recommend and we will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubhouseTenerife, Director General at Iberostar Anthelia, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Clarey,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with others on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay among us.

I must agree that our location is ideal, located between two beautiful beaches and nearby Plaza Del Duque designer mall with many boutique stores as well as numerous excellent restaurants and bars. There is direct access to a beach promenade and as you noticed during your stay, they are also finishing a promenade on the other side of the hotel grounds that overlooks the Teide.

Our main buffet restaurant Zeus offers a different themed buffet every evening, as well as a show cooking area where you can order fresh meat or fish and a pasta station with numerous home made sauces.

As we vary greatly on the type of guest we receive throughout the year, we are fully prepared to cater and serve both couples, younger and older, as families with children. Thanks to this, we have facilities for children entertainment as is, for example, the newly opened Mini Club with its own swimming pool and pirate ship with waterslides, as well as a cinema room with Playstations for indoor activities and another indoor room for various other activities. Our animation team is always working extremely hard and has a wonderful time preparing numerous activities for the little ones.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to greeting you again in Iberostar Anthelia in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Alexis Barbovitch
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Lovely time spent with my hubby from 3rd - 10th Nov 2012,

Room was very comfortable and clean
Staff were happy & friendly, well worth the money,could not fault a single thing.
Thank you Iberostar Anthelia we will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubhouseTenerife, Director General at Iberostar Anthelia, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about Iberostar Anthelia on Tripadvisor. We are more than delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you are planning to return.

We appreciate your kind comments about our staff members, as they are truly one of the main strengths of our hotel.

I am looking forward to greeting upon your future visit at Iberostar Anthelia.

My kindest regards,

Alexis Barbovitch
Subdirector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.2 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.3 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#16 of 54 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 stars 3,672 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
25.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Anthelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Anthelia

Address: Londres 15, 38660 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Anthelia 5*
Number of rooms: 365
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Anthelia hotel is a fabulous 5-star resort located in Costa Adeje, Tenerife. Its facilities and luxurious amenities are designed for couples, families with children and business clients. It has 180 double rooms, 28 double superior priority location rooms, 15 sea view suites and 142 family-rooms in which to experience a truly luxurious holiday in Tenerife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Iberostar Anthelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Anthelia Hotel Playa De Fanabe
Iberostar Adeje
Hotel Anthelia Tenerife
Iberostar Anthelia Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Anthelia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.