We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday - enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday - enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

We spent a week in a sea view room at the Bahia Del Duque the first week of July.
Overall we had a great time, loved the hotel, the facilities and the location. Having visited Coste Adeje for the last 5 years, we feel this truly is the nicest area in Tenerife and feels a thousand miles away from the typical resorts associated with Tenerife (i.e. Playa).

The resort is on a vast scale, the grounds were beautiful, established and well kept and it meant it didn't feel cramped although the hotel was very busy when we were there - probably around 80% capacity. Liked the layout with the restaurants scattered throughout the resort gave it a Spanish villagey feel. As the hotel is built on a hillside, there are loads of steps from the main buildings down to the pool so probably not great for people with walking difficulties (although there are golf carts that will pick you up to take you to other areas of the hotel to avoid all the steps).

Had a great room, overlooking the pool towards the sea, although the rooms are a little on the small side - fine for the 2 of us, but definitely couldn't be described as spacious. In our opinion, the Sea View is worth paying for - some of the garden view rooms were behind other buildings and overlooking rooftops so wouldn't have great views.


We stayed half board and went to the buffet the first night. This was standard buffet fare, and to be honest we found it disappointing although we're not fans of buffets generally. The whole buffet restaurant was disorganised, empty bowls weren't replenished, queues for everything, so by the time you'd queued for one thing, the rest of your food was cold. They seemed very short staffed and it took an age for drinks to arrive and plates to be cleared from the table.

The same was true at the breakfast buffet, they seemed short staffed - we were in breakfast fairly early - around 8/8.30 and it wasn't busy, but we probably returned to our table to have to clear our own plates at least 3 or 4 days out of 7. Whilst not a big deal, it's not the service you would normally expect at a true 5* hotel.

For the remainder of our stay, we went to the other hotel restaurants for dinner each night which were much better variety and quality. We enjoyed the brasserie, the Spanish restaurant and Hacienda, didn't make it to the Trattoria which was standard Italian pizza/pasta. The hotel had a special HB offer whilst we were there that was really good value. The a la carte restaurants had a HB menu - roughly 5/6 dishes per course to choose from, as opposed to the full menu if staying BB which offered greater selection and variety. We felt we got the best out of each restaurant's HB menus in a week - in the absence of a special HB offer, I would definitely go BB so that the menu choice is not limited.

Overall, this is the best hotel we have stayed in in Tenerife and would definitely return again in future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    216
    71
    37
    19
See reviews for
449
469
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

My partner and I spent along time searching for that perfect first family holiday. Somewhere not too far (travelling with a 3 yr old, and a 3 month old!), somewhere not too hot, and somewhere luxurious to meet everyones needs catering for both children and adults. This is when we found the Bahia Del Duque resort. On arrival we were taken to reception to check in and then offered a welcome drink in the bar. First impressions of the resort were definately great. The staff were lovely and helpful and great with the children. When we got to the room we were very impressed and as previously requested an extra bed and a cot were ready for the children. We also had a large balcony with table and chairs and a sun lounger ( which i thought was great just in case our 3 month old needed to sleep in the day). I asked for a kettle and one was brought to the room immediately. There are 5 pools (some salt water, some heated) and the resort is huge! So much so, we didn't even get around everywhere in the week! I highty receommend half board or else you will be paying alot for food. Yes we ate in the same place all week for the buffet dinner - but it tasted great!! So much food and something for everyone. The chef even went out of his way to have a pizza made at the italian restaurant and sent over for our little boy because thats what he wanted to eat that night and it wasn't on the buffet. Now I do have some negative things to say about the resort that could be improved. The childrens pool is just a round little thing and when u look at all the other pools it looks like they spent far more time designing them. They could have a little slide or something for the kids. The other thing is if your travelling with a pram/buggy. The walkways can be very bumpy which makes pushing the pram a bit difficult at times and your little one wakens from being jolted around. It was a bit annoying at times. My partner took his 3 yr old to the kids club daily which he loved. The kids club was fantastic and the lady that runs it, Gemma, was lovely. The clubhouse even has dvd's and dvd players. You can book excursions through them. We went to aqualand and Jungle park. It was great for the kids to get out for a couple days. Aqualand even has dolphins and a dolphin show that was fantastic.
Another tip - when you wake up make sure you get towels before breakfast and put them on the sun loungers you want as they are taken quickly and during the busy season you could be left without one. They also have ducks and fish at the resort in a large pond. Everyone takes bread from breakfast/dinner to feed them! The kids and some adults love it. If your travelling with a baby there are shops to get formula/nappies - but beware they are double or triple the price. If i'd known that i would have just packed my own. The staff everywhere were wonderful and made the week even more memorable. there were times our 3 yr old wouldnt eat his food and the waiter was saying "eat your food and i"ll give u a free icecream." The clientele of this resort varies from some british families to alot of russians, spanish, and Italians. Needless to say the designer gear was everywhere! I do love desinger myself but sometimes its a bit much when people have clearly gone all out at breakfast. Dinner yes, breakfast no - especially when you want to spend the day relaxing in the sun. Its just not needed. I heard th.e spa was really good, and the entertainment was good but cannot comment as we didnt make it out that late with the kids .All in all we had a fantastic time, and would definately return again. Its the ideal destination for families and exactly what we were after

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Back again for the 3rd time the hotel bahia del duque resort is still a fav of ours the hotel has new owners from sol melia theres not the same amount of staff the restaurants were only opened 3 at a time which is a shame but on a plus point for us about 20 % full

our room 332 jr suite nice view of gardens and sea very private and large terrace. it was nice foc to have breakfast here which was nicely set up until 1130 am no waiting for sun beds you can get free iced bottled water where towels are.

food was good i would advice to go half board as a meal 3 course would be around 55 euros each ask for garden view or sea view as rear or side views are not nice.

new spar was to expensive between 160 -180 euros 1hour and 35 euros to use pool ect
however you can have treatments in grounds of gardens for half this price strange.

this is still one of our favs however we did visit 2 other hotels while here for the day the Abama Hotel which was nice but not in same class as here. the Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora ***** LUXE this was specail even better as a hotel as in food restaurants their suites were fantastic it was not as laid back as this resort but we have booked for a week in sep this year. i would say the area is not as good no beach but the pools are really great worth a look as here there was only 15% full so you can get a bargain if you do your home work craig.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

We stayed in BdD with 5 people last week, a standard double and a jr suite. We had a really good time, as the resort offers everything one needs when wanting to relax for a week. The resort is beautifully laid out, there are 8 wonderful pools and the poolbeds are majestic. The standard room was very good, great bathroom with a fantastic rain shower and good maid service (quick & friendly). The bed is huge, yet a bit hard. The jr suite was okay, the decor and furniture a bit worn/out of date, but the terrace is huge with a nice view. My 9 year old niece stayed in the jr suite with my sister & brother in law. Although the hotel knew she was coming, they only provided her with a very worn and old couch bed. The entertainment in the evenings was very nice (not outrageous, but just enough for us), we hired a car which was well organised and all the staff was very friendly.

What really bothered us was the prices of the food&drinks and the spa. We had dinner in the buffet restaurant one night and they did not tell us the price. It turned out we had to pay €55 per person (excl drinks) for the buffet. Which to me is outrageous for good, but not great food. A fresh Mango juice cost us €8 per glass, a little pot of tea €5. The Spa is massive and very new, but does not have many clients. And I know why. For a 1 1/2hour massage, they charge €135. I have stayed at many 5 star resorts, but these prices are rare.

All and all pretty good. Would I recommend it? Yes, buth with mentioned side note. We had dinner outside the resort a few times (at the boulevard) which was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
9.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#17 of 51 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 stars 3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
25.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.