We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service excellence with pride and humility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Customer service excellence with pride and humility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times before but this time we took my parents both in their 80's for their first foreign holiday in a very long time. It was to be a special event, taking them into an exciting and supportive environment to help rehabilitate them following a major change in their lives. They of course had their own anxieties about what to expect so we had to make sure that any fears they had were unjustified.
The hospitality business is about many things but the dimension that singles out the very best is the quality of their people. The Bahia has a formula that delivers people who listen to the customer, take pride in their profession and have a humility that means you never come up against any behaviours that feel like they are based on a commercial formula.You are treated like family and that is a rare experience.
My parents loved the Bahia and all the people they met, including the lovely member of housekeeping staff who ran around their bedroom hunting down a poor bug who had the misfortune to fly into their bedroom. It was a really wonderful experience for them and us that led to noticeable improvement in their health and well being.
Delivering this level of experience is no easy feat so it is a big thank you to Cristina de Juan, the Resort Manager and her team for making two elderly people such big fans of the Bahia. I am sure they will be back and so will we.
David & Kully

Room Tip: The Casas Ducales sea view rooms are best and offer privacy and a premium service
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for a 5-star review!!

It is a great pleasure to read that your stay with us was excellent, particularly taking into account that this was a special holiday for you and your parents.
The best feedback is to know that you felt treated like family. Thank you for this!!

We sincerely hope we can exceed your expectations even more on your next visit to the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    225
    72
    38
    21
See reviews for
481
478
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a brilliant stay. Hotel was more than i expected. Gasped when the bus pulled up outside. Could not have expected more. 100% will be back to stay again. Pools were very clean and comfortable, not too crowded. We stayed B&B, the breakfast catered for everyones need. Make sure and book in for a massage in the spa, well worth it.

Room Tip: Pool and sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

In a way, it was like coming home having visited once before a few years ago. Reception was just the same and very friendly with the offer of a glass of chilled cava while we waited to be processed. I had sent an email ahead of our arrival and Noelia, at reception, called it up and listed our wishes and then detailed how the hotel had responded to them - very impressive! The room was bigger than our previous one, this time on the fifth floor just round the corner from Reception and overlooking the piazza opposite the Brasserie restaurant, and over the pools to the sea beyond. New flatscreen television on the wall, sofa, table and a welcome plate of macaroons which was a nice touch. The bathroom is a little cramped but at least has a separate shower and high quality soaps and lotions. We were well pleased.

Dining
We were half-board so dined around all week. First night was the Hacienda which is a more casual restaurant with terrific staff and a good menu. Calamari followed by confit duck, then chocolate brownie with hot fudge sauce, to share, far too much for one!

Breakfast is buffet style in the Bernegal Restaurant, and it has lots to offer including cava or red wine, pastries, hot food, cold food, a chocolate fountain (at breakfast, really?!). A white chocolate fountain was added towards the end of the week too! I usually eat smoked salmon and eggs for breakfast on holiday, and so I did here, but the lady egg chefs were rude and reluctant to make scambled eggs because, they indicated, we should use the pan of scrambled eggs round the corner. These pans of scrambled eggs are never worth eating for a variety of reasons- too runny, too hard, been picked over, just not appetising. The male egg chefs, on the other hand, were delighted to fulfil the order with charm and panache! Similarly, the lady who cut the fruit on the fruit counter, rolled her eyes and sighed when a request was made for a kiwi with it's skin on. Not difficult! When the male chef was on duty he got me two nectarines, apologised that they were the best he could find, then washed them and handed them to me with a smile. Ladies, take note! The introduction of fresh orange juice machines and Nespresso coffee was really good!

The Brasserie was generally fine except on one night when they said they had held a particular table for a regular couple so we couldn't sit there, only to be told half way through the meal that WE were that couple! Laugh? I nearly spilt my gin and tonic, priced at £13! And which appears on the bill separately for gin and then tonic! Curious. Creme brulee is always good at La Brasserie, except when they forget the brulee bit! it was still delicious though. Sole Muerniere also delicious as were the prawn starters. Less good was the absence of much in the way of vegetables. The mush of sliced carrots and onions masquerading as 'julliene' was simply lazy cooking, in my opinion.

La Tasca was a hoot too. I ordered a starter which said something about eggs and potatoes with prawns. The waiter brought it, and it was 2 fried eggs, covered in fries with a few bits of prawn dotted about. Much to my surprise and amusement, he then proceeded to attack it with a knife and fork until he had pretty much destroyed it. He then handed it to be with a smile saying 'Bon appetito!' It was delicious, but so reminded me of when I was 7 and had egg and chips at my friends house. The lamb shank which follwed was unfortunately well overcooked and much was left uneaten, it was solid.

La Trattoria was next with the surliest waitress in the resort. The first time we ate there, she was simply offhand. The second time she was downright rude and kept us standing waiting for a table, of which there were plenty, and we had booked, and, to add insult to injury instructed her colleague to ignore us as well. (Need to note that there are three entrances to La Trattoria and I think she was trying to making a point). Being an Italian restaurant, you would think they could make Lasagne - they can't. It came as a Bolognese sauce and Bechemel sauce in the plate with pasta slices with tomato sauce in between sitting in it. Unlike any Lasagne I have seen or eaten, anywhere.

Pools
Where's the fountain gone I didn't ask until day3! But the water was cold and salty which I didn't mind but it did chiil on first entering the pool. That's when we weren't being splashed by young kids - I know, don't sit next to the pool! But they were everywhere, and UK school hadn't broken up, but clearly others had! On little angel climbed out of the pool and blew her nose on my partners towel much to the embarrassment of her mother - who did nothing to stop her! I note on another review the manager suggests that there are 'adult areas' and mentions the Moet section - this has about 8 loungers only and is opposite the pool bar kithchens and is very noisy and smelly. There are pools specifically for children up the hill with plenty of room, but I cannot deny, if I were a child, I would want to play in the big pool! Cool fruit at 11.30 on the dot was welcome. But where were the lifeguards around this very large amorphous pool? Answer there are none. given the number of (small) children, and the not so small, diving and bombing off the rocks, this is someone's tragedy in the making.

Gym
Early morning workouts were great, if a little lonely since I was the only one there most mornings but I either let myself in, turned on the lights, got my own towel, helped myself to water and fruit, said hola to the cleaner when she turned up, then left it as I had found it an hour later. Never saw a member of staff in there the whole ten days, either in the early morning, or during the day, as we passed on our way to the pool or room.

I think we had a good holiday, but not a great one, because of some of the issues above. Probably wouldn't return because of them. But the hotel is spectacular and its location is good, being within walking distance of shops, restaurants, bars and the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view although you'll pay extra for it. Note too that the hotel is on a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at this lovely hotel. This is the fourth visit and yet again the menus had been revised and refreshed. On this visit I particularly enjoyed the addition of the new wine bar located around the central square. Extensive wine list and tapas available to enjoy early evening until midnight. The Asian, Spanish and French restaurants were really tip top!
In July there is live music by the lower pool and this is always pleasant. Can't fault the service and food quality at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our week. Our first visit but we will return. The size of the site means there are plenty of places to go. Pools were all excellent - some heated, some sea water.

Breakfast buffet had something for everyone.

Room quite small with an additional bed for our 7 year old, but it was lovely that she was treated as a proper guest - her own towels, bath robe, slippers etc. Made her feel really special

Service was thoroughly excellent. Friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Kids club was simply fab - she had a lovely time and was so well looked after. They were very happy for her to drop in and out and cherry pick activities as she wanted. The rest of the time we all just relaxed together.

Many thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A great hotel/resort with fantastic range of restaurants and good helpful and friendly staff. A most enjoyable family holiday and looking forward to the next time. I originally used the hotel for a conference several years ago and it was very good then. It was great to find out it still retained that special quality and now with added Spa facilities.

Room Tip: As the hotel is not a standard single building, it's made up of several quaint buildings with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía Del Duque Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We re-visited Tenerife for 1 week 24th June to 1st July after some 12 years.....and I had always wanted to stay at this resort hotel.......it was absolutely fantastic!! The hotel staff were exceptionally attentive and nothing was too much trouble - the buffet breakfast was superb - tremendous variety - even a chocolate fountain if you so desired!!
There was a variety of pool areas with plenty of comfortable beds and towels and umbrellas.
We enjoyed cocktails over looking the sea and Walter the bartender was excellent.
The rooms were clean, spacious and well attended - we had adjoining rooms and it felt like a little apartment.
The reception drinks party was delightful - plenty of bubbly and canapes...always a winner - the staff made lots of effort to come and speak to every guest - and Erwin was really helpful with suggestions for night life et.
I am so glad we made it back to Tenerife and will return again - it really was top notch!

Room Tip: We were on floor 5 and it was easy to access the reception - there is a lift down to 3rd floor for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We kindly would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

As well, we wish to thank you for taking the time to fill in our satisfaction survey. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

We sincerely hope we can exceed you expectations even more on your next visit to Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#16 of 54 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 stars 3,674 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
25.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.