We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super relaxed stay with wonderful service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Costa Adeje
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super relaxed stay with wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Really enjoyed our week. Our first visit but we will return. The size of the site means there are plenty of places to go. Pools were all excellent - some heated, some sea water.

Breakfast buffet had something for everyone.

Room quite small with an additional bed for our 7 year old, but it was lovely that she was treated as a proper guest - her own towels, bath robe, slippers etc. Made her feel really special

Service was thoroughly excellent. Friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Kids club was simply fab - she had a lovely time and was so well looked after. They were very happy for her to drop in and out and cherry pick activities as she wanted. The rest of the time we all just relaxed together.

Many thanks for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    170
    60
    34
    10
See reviews for
363
381
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

A great hotel/resort with fantastic range of restaurants and good helpful and friendly staff. A most enjoyable family holiday and looking forward to the next time. I originally used the hotel for a conference several years ago and it was very good then. It was great to find out it still retained that special quality and now with added Spa facilities.

Room Tip: As the hotel is not a standard single building, it's made up of several quaint buildings with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía Del Duque Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We re-visited Tenerife for 1 week 24th June to 1st July after some 12 years.....and I had always wanted to stay at this resort hotel.......it was absolutely fantastic!! The hotel staff were exceptionally attentive and nothing was too much trouble - the buffet breakfast was superb - tremendous variety - even a chocolate fountain if you so desired!!
There was a variety of pool areas with plenty of comfortable beds and towels and umbrellas.
We enjoyed cocktails over looking the sea and Walter the bartender was excellent.
The rooms were clean, spacious and well attended - we had adjoining rooms and it felt like a little apartment.
The reception drinks party was delightful - plenty of bubbly and canapes...always a winner - the staff made lots of effort to come and speak to every guest - and Erwin was really helpful with suggestions for night life et.
I am so glad we made it back to Tenerife and will return again - it really was top notch!

Room Tip: We were on floor 5 and it was easy to access the reception - there is a lift down to 3rd floor for r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We kindly would like to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

As well, we wish to thank you for taking the time to fill in our satisfaction survey. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our goal to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us.

We sincerely hope we can exceed you expectations even more on your next visit to Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Having stayed here a few years ago we decided to give it another try as we like the location of the hotel and had a good time. To be honest I wish we hadn't.

We knew what to expect re the layout and amenities of the hotel. Yes the rooms and balconies are smaller than most but we knew this so weren't overly disappointed. The hotel also accommodated our requests to give us a decent sea view room (which we had paid extra for).

The big disappointment however is the lack of service around the resort which frankly is below par for 5 star even for Tenerife.

A few examples:

- asking the female egg chef for scrambled eggs. She said no on 3 separate days and said they were already out on the buffet ready made. True they were, but they were also cold and runny which I did not want. Every other 5* hotel makes fresh scrambled eggs at the egg station. ( the male egg chef however was happy to make them)
- the fruit counter where I asked the lady if they had any kiwis as none were out. She rolled her eyes and walked off, then said she didn't understand. I had to ask someone else who eventually managed to get me one.
- the stroppy waitress in the Italian restaurant who simply chose to ignore us and told another waiter to do as well whilst we waited to be seated. She actually walked past us twice and started clearing tables before she acknowledged us. Just rude.
- breakfast is pretty much self service. The waiters prefer to entertain kids and chat to each other rather than clear plates away, replace cutlery or get you coffee. The good news is cutlery and nespresso machines are all easily accessible so you don't actually need the waiters. Who knows, maybe they can be done away with completely ??
- the small free water in our room and toiletries were replaced once in a week. We had to ring every day to request it.
- wifi is free but beyond dreadful. Incredibly slow


Whilst the above are 'niggles' that don't spoil a holiday in itself, when they happen day in day out for 7 days when you've paid handsomely to stay here, it makes you feel a bit ripped off.

In addition to the above, it is pretty much impossible to have a decent meal in any of the restaurants without the kids club entertainment disrupting your meal. It starts at 9pm sharp every night and only hacienda and las Aguas aren't affected. There really should be a separate area away from the main restaurants. There is really nowhere to escape other peoples children.

Finally, whilst not the hotels fault, a good proportion of the guests leave a lot to be desired. Being woken up at 1am by banging, tv, squealing and music is not my idea of a relaxing stay. If I wanted this I would have stayed in las Americas. The sound quality insulation is non existent, you hear every noise and voice as it walks down the corridor. I could also tell you the language spoken by all my neighbours as I could hear so clearly through the walls.

In summary, if you have small kids, I'm sure you'll be better catered for as this is clearly the target audience. If not, please avoid as you'll only regret it.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Client,

First of all, thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are truly committed to providing our clients with the highest level of accommodations and service and we regret to learn that this may not have been the case during your stay. We can assure that your comments have been taken seriously and will be analyzed in detail to take the appropriate actions.

The Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort is a family Hotel, where only adults areas are also offered: Spa, Moët & Chandon area, restaurant Las Aguas,…

For a future stay, we would be so pleased to inform you about the most quiet periods in the Resort. We stay at your disposal at gm@bahia-duque.com.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Recently returned from 8 nights here and loved every minute. We were travelling with our 15 month old son and the staff at the hotel did everything they could to help in anyway. Highchairs and plenty of food choices were available, all of the staff loved to chat to him and make him laugh.

The children's pool is lovely and was just the right height for him to walk about. Other pools were perfect for going for having a swim and there were always plenty of sun loungers if you were out in the morning.

The children's club was quiet given the resort wasn't that busy but was useful to go for our son to play away from the sun at times.

The food was also amazing, plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant at breakfast and dinner (different themed food every night). We also ate at the italian restaurant which was a lovely spot and equally as tasty food.

The only downside we had was that our room didn't have a balcony. This was quite a disappointment but it did give us extra space in the room for our son to play so we didn't request a move.

Room Tip: Request a balcony/terrace if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your holidays and for sharing your kind comments with the TripAdvisor users.

Great to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and you had the opportunity to discover some of the different services we offer.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back in the future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us in advance to inform us about your preferences regarding rooms.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in Las Villas at the Gran Bahia last year and were blown away by the overall standards and service. So we were worried about returning but our fears were unfounded as again it was superb. Las Villas are away from the main hotel but you can still use all of the facilities. Not that you need them as we hardly left our villa all week! Each one is large with lots of room, a kitchenette, a massive bath or bathing area, a fully stocked fridge with complimentary drinks, plus each has a private plunge pool, and none are overlooked. Everything about the Grand Bahia is wonderful and the staff amazing, with special mention to Patricia and Theresa. Most nights we ate at El Bernegal restaurant which is buffet style and very good but the last two nights we ate at Las Aguas as it re-opened after a short summer break. The staff and food are first class and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is worth going to Las Aguas just to try the white chocolate soup for sweet as it is truly spectacular. If you want a location that is quiet, exclusive with excellent service and facilities then Las Villas at the Grand Bahia is for you. We have already re-booked to go back, which tells you all you need to know!

Room Tip: If you can afford it plump for Las Villas which are excellent if you are looking for something very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choosing again the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We appreciate as well the 5-star review posted on TripAdvisor. The best feedback we may have is that you have already reserved for a new stay.

We will share your candid comments with Patricia and Theresa who will be encouraged by your remarks.

It would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Tried to choose a place where we could go in the beginning of May from the UK with a baby - considered flight time, temperature and quality of hotel/food. My friend recommended me Tenerife and it was a great suggestion. We were recommended two different hotels - Bahia del Duque and Abama. Based on the Tripadvisor reviews - especially the one where a person compared Abama, Gran Melia and Bahia - we decided to go to Bahia. I was pleasantly surprised by the price, it was the cheapest holiday we had in the last few years.

We booked two rooms - one for a nanny in the main building, one for us in Casas Ducales. To be honest, my nanny's room was similar, but she also had amazing view :) We had access to the terrace (we stayed close to the Casas Ducales reception) and it was a very nice place to chill and feed the baby. Our parents also joined us and booked one of the villas. VILLAS are worth it if you can afford! Huge villa with a separate kitchen, huge bath (we used it as a swimming pool for our son) and a pool.Villa guests also have access to the Villas' main pool, which was amazing! Sunbeds were great, and we didn't feel the hotel was full! And it was full, you could feel it by the main pool.
Food was great. Observatory was a nice touch - never experienced it before. Everything was clean and kept in a good condition.
Building - first time I saw the hotel which looked like a small town with all the different sections, different architecture, small beautiful fountains and impressive reception of the main hotel. Worth exploring it, especially if you stay in one of the parts.
Kids club was good, well organized activities for children above 3 years old. Children receive a small gift as well as toiletries on arrival, which is a nice touch. Main building was exposed to entertainment place so was a bit disturbing for a baby to sleep up until 10pm.
I am not sure I understand the concept of public beaches in Tenerife, nothing to do with the hotel, but for those who like to swim in the sea and be on a private beach, Tenerife is probably not the place for you.
The temperature was ideal - not too hot and not too cold, just perfect. Rarely you can find such a nice balance. Will go back!
Again, an upgrade to a Villa is well worth it. Casas ducales has a separate place with sun beds, but it is still full.

Room Tip: Go for a Villa if you can afford - request villa closer to the pool, otherwise a walk to the beach i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Escapio, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.