We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Facilities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Costa Adeje
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Service and Facilities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Recently returned from 8 nights here and loved every minute. We were travelling with our 15 month old son and the staff at the hotel did everything they could to help in anyway. Highchairs and plenty of food choices were available, all of the staff loved to chat to him and make him laugh.

The children's pool is lovely and was just the right height for him to walk about. Other pools were perfect for going for having a swim and there were always plenty of sun loungers if you were out in the morning.

The children's club was quiet given the resort wasn't that busy but was useful to go for our son to play away from the sun at times.

The food was also amazing, plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant at breakfast and dinner (different themed food every night). We also ate at the italian restaurant which was a lovely spot and equally as tasty food.

The only downside we had was that our room didn't have a balcony. This was quite a disappointment but it did give us extra space in the room for our son to play so we didn't request a move.

Room Tip: Request a balcony/terrace if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your holidays and for sharing your kind comments with the TripAdvisor users.

Great to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and you had the opportunity to discover some of the different services we offer.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back in the future. Please, do not hesitate to contact us in advance to inform us about your preferences regarding rooms.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    161
    57
    34
    10
See reviews for
355
367
12
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in Las Villas at the Gran Bahia last year and were blown away by the overall standards and service. So we were worried about returning but our fears were unfounded as again it was superb. Las Villas are away from the main hotel but you can still use all of the facilities. Not that you need them as we hardly left our villa all week! Each one is large with lots of room, a kitchenette, a massive bath or bathing area, a fully stocked fridge with complimentary drinks, plus each has a private plunge pool, and none are overlooked. Everything about the Grand Bahia is wonderful and the staff amazing, with special mention to Patricia and Theresa. Most nights we ate at El Bernegal restaurant which is buffet style and very good but the last two nights we ate at Las Aguas as it re-opened after a short summer break. The staff and food are first class and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is worth going to Las Aguas just to try the white chocolate soup for sweet as it is truly spectacular. If you want a location that is quiet, exclusive with excellent service and facilities then Las Villas at the Grand Bahia is for you. We have already re-booked to go back, which tells you all you need to know!

Room Tip: If you can afford it plump for Las Villas which are excellent if you are looking for something very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choosing again the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We appreciate as well the 5-star review posted on TripAdvisor. The best feedback we may have is that you have already reserved for a new stay.

We will share your candid comments with Patricia and Theresa who will be encouraged by your remarks.

It would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Tried to choose a place where we could go in the beginning of May from the UK with a baby - considered flight time, temperature and quality of hotel/food. My friend recommended me Tenerife and it was a great suggestion. We were recommended two different hotels - Bahia del Duque and Abama. Based on the Tripadvisor reviews - especially the one where a person compared Abama, Gran Melia and Bahia - we decided to go to Bahia. I was pleasantly surprised by the price, it was the cheapest holiday we had in the last few years.

We booked two rooms - one for a nanny in the main building, one for us in Casas Ducales. To be honest, my nanny's room was similar, but she also had amazing view :) We had access to the terrace (we stayed close to the Casas Ducales reception) and it was a very nice place to chill and feed the baby. Our parents also joined us and booked one of the villas. VILLAS are worth it if you can afford! Huge villa with a separate kitchen, huge bath (we used it as a swimming pool for our son) and a pool.Villa guests also have access to the Villas' main pool, which was amazing! Sunbeds were great, and we didn't feel the hotel was full! And it was full, you could feel it by the main pool.
Food was great. Observatory was a nice touch - never experienced it before. Everything was clean and kept in a good condition.
Building - first time I saw the hotel which looked like a small town with all the different sections, different architecture, small beautiful fountains and impressive reception of the main hotel. Worth exploring it, especially if you stay in one of the parts.
Kids club was good, well organized activities for children above 3 years old. Children receive a small gift as well as toiletries on arrival, which is a nice touch. Main building was exposed to entertainment place so was a bit disturbing for a baby to sleep up until 10pm.
I am not sure I understand the concept of public beaches in Tenerife, nothing to do with the hotel, but for those who like to swim in the sea and be on a private beach, Tenerife is probably not the place for you.
The temperature was ideal - not too hot and not too cold, just perfect. Rarely you can find such a nice balance. Will go back!
Again, an upgrade to a Villa is well worth it. Casas ducales has a separate place with sun beds, but it is still full.

Room Tip: Go for a Villa if you can afford - request villa closer to the pool, otherwise a walk to the beach i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had a lovely time at this hotel. There were loads for families and old people. But nothing really for my age group when your hotel is recommended by so many different travel agents. I would suggest opening the bar till later also the staff were not very nice to us at reception we should of been treated the same. We were not aloud to keep our room for long as families had priority. Wanted to spend last day round pool instead had to worry about cases. But overall nice hotel good food although avoid Mexican gave my friend stomach bug. Pools are great just to think about everyone else not just families

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I booked this hotel based on the recommendations of a number of travel agents, and particularly based on the favourable tripadvisor reviews.

Whilst driving into the resort we were a little underwhelmed at the surrounding areas, it seemed very built up, with lots of other resorts close by. However, driving to reception through the resort was far more reassuring. The reception area is simply stunning, the wonderful design and architecture is extremely interesting, but, as it was so hot we didn't find it the most pleasant of places to be. Check-in was smooth although we were given a little "hard sell" on the half board package, which I didn't expect of a hotel of this calibre.

A short walk brought us to our room, which I have to say felt small, dark and quite dingy, and was a bit of a disappointment, the TV was a very nice flat screen on the wall, but reception was appalling, luckily we always bring our own media streamer so it didn't really bother us, but, if you'd of wanted to watch the in hotel channels you would have been very disappointed.

We took a golf cart to dinner at The Hacienda, which was in a very nice setting. Unfortunately I was disappointed to find that more than 30% of items on the menu attracted a premium over and above our half board supplement, whilst being told at reception only approximately 5% of the menu items did so. The food was good, and it was nice to sit down and relax in such pleasant setting.

The grounds are absolutely immaculate, with lots of pools, and piazzas, more a kin to a small village than a hotel, there are lots of swimming pools to choose from, and they're designed to look like natural parts of the landscape, the gardens and pool areas are probably one of the most interesting I've ever seen.

Breakfast is the typical buffet style affair, with has an excellent selection, everything was either in chilled closed cabinets or under muslin, probably one of the most comprehensive breakfast buffets I've seen, with plenty of quality food for all.

Unfortunately whilst at breakfast my wife spotted the main pool was closed for maintenance, after breakfast we spoke to management who explained the pool had been closed for 3 weeks, and would probably be closed for another week or so. The management then went on to explain that all the tour operators had been informed over a month ago, and appropriate arrangements had been made to compensate for this, such as free Spa passes, the use of The Villas pool etc. etc. Whist we were checking in we weren’t informed the main pool was closed, this was highly disappointing, as we wouldn’t have checked in we’d have known.

With this in mind my wife and I decide that we would check out and find another hotel, the Bahai is a nice hotel, not for everyone, and has some faults, if you are a little less mobile then getting round the hotel is a real pain, the swimming pools whilst inviting aren’t very accessible.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Client,

Thank you for you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We have taken good note of your comments and impressions which will be analyzed following our continuous improvement plan.

In relation to the maintenance works in the pool, we can assure that all Tour Operators were informed months in advance. We are really sorry if this information was not provided to you by your Tour Operation accordingly.

We sincerely hope we have the pleasure to welcome you in the future and have the opportunity to meet your expectations.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We took our time when choosing a Tenerife hotel as it was our first time there, and a special time, to celebrate my husband's 40th, but I think what we found was perfect. We stayed at the Villa las Palmeras and this ideal for us, a family with young children – one of which spent most of his time in the villa's small pool, and the other, out of the sun in the air con. The villa itself was spacious, with a large sitting room where our boys had 2 single beds, separate main bedroom, a small kitchenette and an amazing giant bath that's more like a small pool...although, there is a shower in the large bathroom – filled with acqua di parma.

The resort is on a hill, and the villas are at the top of it, but staff are more then happy to drive you around in the golf buggies, but it's just as nice to stroll around the shaded gardens and take your time after breakfast – you're on holiday afterall! The breakfast buffet at the villa's are waiter service, but the hotel's breakfast is a buffet and definitely worth the walk down the hill. We tried all the restaurants, expect of course the adult only one, and enjoyed them all – Mexican, Italian, Asian and Spanish, the latter was not great for vegetarian like myself though – the food was fresh, delicious and different each restaurant, and the service was attentive. The children's menu didn't vary too much but were small versions of adult meals, rather then the food they serve in many restaurants in the UK.

We had a large private pool shared by the villas, which was very quiet as we went during term time, but there was plenty of space with shaded double sun loungers. The hotel has lots of pools to choose from but we stayed near the villa's pool and reception – well, the offer of free Moet to all the villa's residents does tend to keep you nearer. The kids club was enjoyed by both our 7 and 3 year old, the manager was lovely and great with children, and my eldest made plenty of holiday friends.

As for location, the hotel is as the website says, on a long beach, which provides plenty of seaside walking opportunities, or a day on the sand. Next door is a dated shopping centre, but a further 5 minutes up is a designer shopping centre, Plaza del Duque, where the likes of Cartier and Euro favourite designer fashion, enjoy the custom of your fellow hotel residents – mostly Russian. It's another 15 minutes further along to tourist shops and restaurants, and Costa Adeje's main seafront, which I imagine is quite lively at night...

Entertainment in the evening was family friendly, the usual dance or music shows, and a slightly bemusing magic show which produced a live rabbit. It continued later into the night at a bar inside for those without children, and not wanting over excited rugrats running around them. The spa, another adult only experience, is relaxing and tranquil with the most impressive spa pool I've seen. I tried the pilates reformer class, which is definitely worth a go, these classes are a lot more expensive in the UK, and a deep tissue massage to finish off – absolute bliss!

Overall, our stay at Bahia del Duque may have been one of the best, if not the best hotel stays we've experienced so far – the service was impeccable, friendly and sincere, the resort was spotless and the food memorable – it was faultless.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is one of the best hotels in Tenerife. it has all you need for a perfect vacation. Rooms are well equipped and very comfortable, Suites are spacious and well decorated, just like all rooms at the hotel.
Different pools, some heated, and walking distance to the beach.
The spa is one of the best in Spain in my opinion (and I´ve seen many), with excellent facilities, worth trying.
They also have a more private area, called Casas Ducales, with exclusive rooms and a more personalized service. And if you want to top up your holidays, take one of their private villas with plunge pool and outdoor pool. Perfect for couples.
Definitely, one of my favorites in Tenerife.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort and for taking the time to share your experience in TripAdvisor. We are proud to be one of your favorites Hotels!

We are pleased to know that you had a great time with us and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Escapio, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;