We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A regal resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A regal resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Was there on company business for a three day trip and it was fantastic from start to finish. Food was lovely and the service was efficient and friendly. The only disappointing thing was the spa. The manicure I had was not as professional as it should have been. Once the varnish had dried I found air bubbles on every nail and unfortunately they as not gone up to the cuticle. A really minor niggle in what was overall a very good experience. If I get the chance to go back I wouldn't hesitate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. It is a pleasure to know that your stay with us was pleasant.

We are sorry about your experience with the manicure. The responsible persons have been informed about this issue in order to check our standards and procedures and avoid any similar situation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the Resort on your next trip, whether it be for business or pleasure.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    679
    179
    62
    35
    14
See reviews for
374
397
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was beautiful and the rooms were great with an outside patio with chairs and a little table. However, there were little ants or some kind of a gnat in my room. I told the hotel staff about it and it seemed to have cleared up for a couple of days, but the nasty little creatures came back. The Hotel staff were excellent and very helpful. Food was great, although it was very expensive and out of my reach. If it wasn't company-paid, I wouldn't have been staying here. But all-in-all it is a beautiful place to stay. The grounds were kept very clean and nice outside by the pools and security seemed to very good as well. There was always a guard at the end of the driveway that took us to our hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoltand, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the 2nd and 3rd week of July and really have nothing bad to say about it. Two things come to mind when I think of this hotel: Luxury but with the appropriate Price Tag.

On arrival at this hotel the reception staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly, they had kindly upgraded us to a sea view room at the 'Casa Ducales so I can only comment on this room. The room and maid service were fantastic. A few evenings the staff knocked on the door to turn down the beds at 5.30/6pm which is of course far too early. We just asked them to come back after 8pm though (as by then we were out) and they did this with no problem. The room itself was spacious enough and very clean, with more than ample towels and toiletries. When we ran out of toiletries we just placed the empty bottles in the sink and they were replenished.

Without a doubt it is the staff of this hotel that make it what it its. The surroundings are beautiful and the restaurants nice too, but it is the service that stands out. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.

One evening we ate in the buffet and the spring rolls were still 'semi frozen' inside, we called the restaurant manager over who took the platter of spring rolls into the kitchen and a while later he returned with a plate of piping hot spring rolls for us. Of course the middle should never have been frozen in the first place but mistakes happen and I always feel it is the way in which mistakes are dealt with that matter.

The hotel is very, very large. Far larger than you imagine, however because the restaurants just sit a certain amount of guests, you get the feeling you are just eating in a small restaurant.

The lounging areas through the day are also laid out in such a way that you don't feel that you are sitting 'with the masses'. We went in July and there were plenty of sun loungers available.

The spa was a treat and I would recommend a visit to it if you can.

The management have a welcome cocktail evening once a week and we attended. It was very pleasant... we were given a glass of prosecco and very tasty h'orderves, even a lovely rose for the ladies. This 'meeting' is a nice touch as once again it is the staff that make the evening.

We had pre-booked half board and occasionally ate in the buffet restaurant, which was fine, the food was nice but I have to say the choice was limited in comparison to other hotels I have stayed in. Mostly we pre-booked the a la carte restaurants, which you can do so well in advance. I read one review where they said that you had to do this on a daily basis, but this is not true. At the a la carte restaurants some (not all) of the meals indicate what supplement you need to pay if you are on half board, but it was not an expensive supplement. However, the drinks are expensive, for example 18 euro for a glass of champagne, 15 euro for a glass of whisky. Through the day we noticed quite a lot of people had been to the local supermarket and bought soft drinks and water (although every day a bottle of water is left in your room) and we did this too.

We ate lunch every day at the hotel. At the end of the holiday we were due an additional £1,500 for our lunches, supplements and evening drinks. We are not big drinkers but as a couple we had a bottle of wine every evening with our meal and then two our three drinks later in the evening. Our 12yr old drank soft drinks from the supermarket through the day and obviously the hotel drinks in the evening.

It is the service that stands out to me with this hotel and it is the service from the staff that make us want to return...and we will.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 115 and loved it's location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just back from a 10 day stay at Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque. We stayed in a villa and were really happy with the accommodation - it was extremely spacious, tastefully decorated, with decent outside space/plunge pool etc.

The staff were fantastic - very service driven and individualised service.

Provision for children was great - pony rides, kids paddling pool, mini disco and entertainment every day.

Spa was beautiful and treatments were excellent.

The only real negative was the food - we ate in the villas restaurant, the buffet restaurant, brasserie and la tasca, and also ate a lot of room service. More often than not we were left disappointed by the meals we had which is a real shame as the rest of the hotel was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As i just did check in at Splendido hotel in Portofino when i just remembered my first and only contact with GH BDD. Me and my son was out walking our last day in the area when we stumbled on to this hotel. We did stay at the Sheraton and the booking was made by a friend so obviously i did miss the BDD. Since we had only hours left before leving the island i did ask the man at the gate if we could go inside to have a quick look since we were thinking of coming back later this year.
The answer was NO from the man at the gate and when i finally spoke to the manager standing still outside the gate, the answer was still a big NO.
I wasn't given any proper explanation just a big NO..........
BTW when i travel around the world i usually ask for a guided tour to see where i can stay next, that's why i ended up at the Splendido this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for posting your comments in TripAdvisor and for taking the time to let us know your impressions.

We wish to take this opportunity to inform that the access restrictions in our Resort are defined to keep our guest´s privacy and security. This is one of the most important issues of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque philosophy

We would be pleased to show you the Resort in your next visit to the Island and have the opportunity to change your opinion about the Hotel. We are at your disposal. Please, do not hesitate to contact us (comercial@bahia-duque.com) to arrange a Resort visit.

If you finally decide to stay in our Resort in a future, we hope you would appreciate our efforts in keeping our installations with the maximum privacy and security for our guest.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is our 3rd year at the Del Duque. When we were there the statistic given to us by another guest was that 42% of July guests were returners. That figure kind of speaks for itself. The staff certainly recognise us and went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and memorable. The staff are the hotels best asset, you can clearly see the staff enjoy working for the management and actively tell you that it is a great place to work. The Managers are always visible and continually check that everything is ok and if they can help in anyway. Everything about the hotel and its service is class. Our children met several other families the first year we went and now they all arrange to meet up every year we go. The hotel is safe and secure for kids to be off on their own and it is like their own little holiday with Mum and Dad there too. They cry every year we leave as they have had such a great time. Yes the entertainment is very low key, but this hotel is really about total relaxation. We like being able to go to bed early and read and relax but also if we feel like it there is a piano bar where you can meet others for drinks. This year they had a fantastic beach party down at the beach club restaurant with fireworks on the beach. Everyone danced and had a great evening, so maybe a little more of this would be good. If the fireworks are expensive then maybe just have the band down at the beach club with the bar open. Everyone was saying what a great evening they had had. My couple of complaints are :- The Gym - for a hotel of this cost and standard the gym is very poor. No air con, ageing equipment, not enough equipment. There are only 2 running machines and 1 cross trainer. Please Del Duque update this facility. Also the children went bike riding everyday and the bikes were in poor condition, which I felt was very dangerous. If someone got hurt this would be down to the hotel. They really need to get these checked and serviced every month before letting children out on them. Minor gripes but still important to us. Overall another fantastic holiday, thank you for the wonderful memories again Del Duque Staff and we have already booked our flights for next year. Cannot wait.!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had sea-view rooms. Rooms are on a smaller side, but beautiful, cozy and very clean. Beautiful pools and plenty of them. Pool service is great, always plenty of pool beds and umbrellas available. Beach is right next to the hotel, and the location is great for beach lovers. Plenty of entertainment for the kids, great kids club. Breakfast buffet had plenty of options for different tastes, everything was fresh and quite tasty.

Service at the restaurant, pool, reception is excellent. Yulia and Tania at the reception have been very helpful with everything including advice for dinners outside of the hotel. Thank you ladies :).

We will gladly return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.