We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday from heaven!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Holiday from heaven!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel and we now all wish we had booked two weeks, but this was our first visit and we wanted to check it out!!! Firstly it is a beautiful hotel great location, 15 mins from airport and right on the beach. Lovely pools, no fighting for a sunbed, fantastic friendly service and great food. We had a lovely large suite with ample wardrobes, and so many drawers we didnt even use half. Lovely big bathroom with triple shower, bath and his and her sinks. A MASSIVE bed and a separate lounge. Outside was a sea view terrace with sun loungers and a table and chairs. The bed was very comfortable and there was even a pillow menu!!! The staff were wonderful, so friendly, couldn't do enough for you and always seemed very happy and cheerful!! Towels were provided for sun loungers and food and drinks were brought to you at the pool if you wished. There were several restaurants and the food was very good, we were half board which worked well for us. We met some lovely people and my daughter made some great new friends. We cannot wait to go back to this hotel, I have travelled a lot for vacation and business and this is the first time I have been keen to return as soon as possible!! The Spa is fantastic, the best I have been in and if your budget stretches to the
villas, they are stunning!! All in all I would highly recommend this hotel and will be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    198
    70
    36
    17
See reviews for
411
449
17
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing stay at Bahia
Was expecting alot more from a member of LHW
Small suite for a family
One wardrobe and four drawers to accommodate all our clothes for 10 day stay
Small bathroom
Tired decor
Pool areas clean but presence of volcanic rock in pool bottom made them tricky
Food at resturants good
Overall ,, would not return or recommend will stick to the Sheraton for a garanteed better holiday experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We value each and every comment from our guests and it was disconcerting to learn that your experience with us was under your expectations.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you give the opportunity to cater to your needs in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was a bit worried about going to this hotel after the reviews, but I have to say it was great. We loved the location. The hotel was very 5* and very family friendly. The restaurants were all very accommodating to my little boy’s dairy allergy and even made special pancakes for him each morning.
We went in part over the British ½ term holiday week when it was noticeably busier, but still lots of room and sun loungers!
The hotel did close some of the restaurants altogether. The week we were there the Asian restaurant did not open at all. The restaurant down by the beach on the promenade was our favourite and the service was impeccable and friendly.
Kids menus are the same from restaurant to restaurant which was a bit disappointing for them.
Room service was brilliant.
Small niggle – pool service for food and beverages is lacking quite a bit, and when we did get food it was not really on par with the quality level elsewhere in the resort.
Rooms were more than comfortable, good size and very clean. Nice toiletries and ample of towels. Very good 5* room accommodation.
You have to pay to access the SPA complex, which is normally part of any accommodation and I felt a bit miffed about. The price of the treatments is also high too because if you book a massage they bundle it with a cost to use the spa facilities for the day. Thompson holidays who we booked with also did not highlight this.
Kids club area was really nice and no issues getting in. The lady running it was super friendly and the kids settled in well – although they only went once.
Evening entertainment stops about 10:30. A prior post thought this too early, but I disagree. For a family hotel where kids need to sleep it’s a great balance. Also a 10 minute taxi ride away and you move from upmarket Tenerife to great nightlife.
All in all I give them a solid 8 of of 10. Id recommend it and go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we wish to thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your stay in Tenerife.

As well, we appreciate the time you took to share your experience on TripAdvisor. With comments of guests like you, we have the opportunity to know what really your expectations are, which we always want to fulfil.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Resort in a near future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I don't normally write reviews. Infact I never have, but on this occastion I couldn't not. I stayed here in june 2013 with my boyfriend when I left, iv stayed in some pretty nice hotels from dubai, america, africa but this hotel just took by breath away. The location is perfect 15mins from water park.. 15mins from safari shopping centre were there are amazing resterants there aswell as. 5min walk from shops, bars, another modern shopping cenrte. We only ate 3 times in the hotel as we wanted to explore more of the island. Breakfast there was amazing eating on a huge balcony fry ups, cerial, fruit, cakes anything you could think of they had! We went to the spa once it was 33 euros for an all day pass, but it was worth it they had plunge pool, heated water and two sorners. They have kids entertainment which you think it would be to childesh but it wasn't, infact it was very intertaining. They also had a piano bar which closed when the last person left, you can hear it from you room so you want a early night you can easily have one but we enjoyed the singing. We couldn't help but go on jet skis and paragliding which was amazing. 5star? No way. More like 7star.. X

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your awesome review! We are thrilled you had such a great experience with us!

Our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is the second family fortnight at this hotel and after having been so impressed by the welcome, exceptional food quality, pools and upbeat customer service last year understandably I wondered would it be so so good again.
Well yes it is just as good! The menus in all the restaurants have been changed and updated and apparently are on a regular basis which gave a new look to our holiday. Food is a real strength at this hotel and on recommendation we tried the evening buffet (we tend not to buff)which was really fantastic especially the fish night when Chef is on hand to cook to order from a range of fish. I would recommend the fish baked in salt... outstanding.
Pool service is topnotch bed covers and towels all well maintained clean and to a high standard with no need for annoying towel cards.
This hotel, its staff and the attention to detail ensure that this hotel is still at the top of its game. It was so consistently good we are returning in a couple of weeks for another blast of sun, hospitality and great food.
One word to the wise due to the unique nature of the resort it can be useful to pack a range of heel heights!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Wales. UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited the Gran Bahia during May half term week.
We found the resort local area to be very pleasant, nice beach with local bars restaurants and shopping upmarket area. Easy walking to nearby resorts via the promenade walkway.
We felt the hotel resort is better catered towards couples or families with small children; there is a teenagers club that was closed during our half term stay, as we were told it was not a Spanish school holiday.
The room was quaint a typical Spanish style, not modern but a nice change to the stereotypical hotel room. Very hard bed but surprisingly comfortable, turndown was offered way too early but always returned later if it was inconvenient. Room was kept clean during our stay.
I would not give the resort 5 stars it just does not live up to the standards expected, and will have to improve their standards to maintain the certificate. I understand why the resort has been given Leading Hotel of the World status, due to the local aspects being sympathetically incorporated into the hotel. I have seen this previously in LH. We could not justify the exceptional cost in compassion to other five star resorts that we have stayed in; it lacks the finesse and atmosphere required. We would happily pay the cost if the hotel lives up to the standards.
The resort is well maintained, with a good choice of evening restaurants. Breakfast and evening buffet were ok, took approx. 10 mins to wait for cold milk after your hot water for your tea has gone cold. Hard working staff in the buffet restaurants struggle to keep up with the demand. Evening entertainment was very limited and finished by 1030pm -11pm, the entertainment was quite cringe worthy, Its mostly enjoyed by the parents of exceptionally annoying and badly behaved children, who were oblivious to their youngsters bad manners and disruption they were causing running around and shouting. You may have thought it was the nannies night off except this was the same every night. I am a mother of 3 boys and work with children. I know what's acceptable I would have been embarrassed if my children were so badly behaved.
Some areas could do with improvement, there was work going on during our stay. Bikes urgently need updating and are verging on dangerous. Toppers on the sun loungers should be cleaned prior to reusing the following day. We did see one cockroach in the restaurant and lots of small birds flying in and out, we found this unhygienic not quite 5 star.
The staff were friendly, the spa was modern and worth a visit as a day guest but sadly did not make up for the lack of atmosphere in the hotel. We were disappointed with the Gran Bahia, it is not worth the 5 star price tag, we had high expectations after reading positive reviews but sadly did not live up to expectation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are most thankful for constructive reviews as they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests’ needs and expectations.

We can assure that every single comment will be carefully analyzed and our standards will be reviewed.

It is our hope to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to cater for your needs and expectations.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Returned back to this hotel after 7 years, to find service, and upkeep still very good.
Breakfast had a really good buffet, with a lot of choice.
Rooms are comfortable and clean, with separate shower and bath.
Only negative is there is stairs to all levels of the pools, so don't go and leave anything in your room !!!!
Location right on beach, with plenty restaurants and shops to walk to.
Staff friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your stay in Tenerife and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Splendia, Escapio, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.