We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is the second family fortnight at this hotel and after having been so impressed by the welcome, exceptional food quality, pools and upbeat customer service last year understandably I wondered would it be so so good again.
Well yes it is just as good! The menus in all the restaurants have been changed and updated and apparently are on a regular basis which gave a new look to our holiday. Food is a real strength at this hotel and on recommendation we tried the evening buffet (we tend not to buff)which was really fantastic especially the fish night when Chef is on hand to cook to order from a range of fish. I would recommend the fish baked in salt... outstanding.
Pool service is topnotch bed covers and towels all well maintained clean and to a high standard with no need for annoying towel cards.
This hotel, its staff and the attention to detail ensure that this hotel is still at the top of its game. It was so consistently good we are returning in a couple of weeks for another blast of sun, hospitality and great food.
One word to the wise due to the unique nature of the resort it can be useful to pack a range of heel heights!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    218
    71
    37
    19
See reviews for
454
470
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SW Wales. UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited the Gran Bahia during May half term week.
We found the resort local area to be very pleasant, nice beach with local bars restaurants and shopping upmarket area. Easy walking to nearby resorts via the promenade walkway.
We felt the hotel resort is better catered towards couples or families with small children; there is a teenagers club that was closed during our half term stay, as we were told it was not a Spanish school holiday.
The room was quaint a typical Spanish style, not modern but a nice change to the stereotypical hotel room. Very hard bed but surprisingly comfortable, turndown was offered way too early but always returned later if it was inconvenient. Room was kept clean during our stay.
I would not give the resort 5 stars it just does not live up to the standards expected, and will have to improve their standards to maintain the certificate. I understand why the resort has been given Leading Hotel of the World status, due to the local aspects being sympathetically incorporated into the hotel. I have seen this previously in LH. We could not justify the exceptional cost in compassion to other five star resorts that we have stayed in; it lacks the finesse and atmosphere required. We would happily pay the cost if the hotel lives up to the standards.
The resort is well maintained, with a good choice of evening restaurants. Breakfast and evening buffet were ok, took approx. 10 mins to wait for cold milk after your hot water for your tea has gone cold. Hard working staff in the buffet restaurants struggle to keep up with the demand. Evening entertainment was very limited and finished by 1030pm -11pm, the entertainment was quite cringe worthy, Its mostly enjoyed by the parents of exceptionally annoying and badly behaved children, who were oblivious to their youngsters bad manners and disruption they were causing running around and shouting. You may have thought it was the nannies night off except this was the same every night. I am a mother of 3 boys and work with children. I know what's acceptable I would have been embarrassed if my children were so badly behaved.
Some areas could do with improvement, there was work going on during our stay. Bikes urgently need updating and are verging on dangerous. Toppers on the sun loungers should be cleaned prior to reusing the following day. We did see one cockroach in the restaurant and lots of small birds flying in and out, we found this unhygienic not quite 5 star.
The staff were friendly, the spa was modern and worth a visit as a day guest but sadly did not make up for the lack of atmosphere in the hotel. We were disappointed with the Gran Bahia, it is not worth the 5 star price tag, we had high expectations after reading positive reviews but sadly did not live up to expectation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post your comments about your stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are most thankful for constructive reviews as they allow us to enhance our understanding of our guests’ needs and expectations.

We can assure that every single comment will be carefully analyzed and our standards will be reviewed.

It is our hope to welcome you back in the future and have the opportunity to cater for your needs and expectations.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Returned back to this hotel after 7 years, to find service, and upkeep still very good.
Breakfast had a really good buffet, with a lot of choice.
Rooms are comfortable and clean, with separate shower and bath.
Only negative is there is stairs to all levels of the pools, so don't go and leave anything in your room !!!!
Location right on beach, with plenty restaurants and shops to walk to.
Staff friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your stay in Tenerife and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is our hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

What a relaxing, fantastic place. Stunning views of hotel and sea. Staff couldn't do enough for you. We stayed in a deluxe double room, downside is 2 people and chairs could just about fit on the balcony...disappointed ESP as paid 600 extra for sea view. Location is perfect!! I'm gluten free, each morning they would bring freshly made bread/cakes. Staff so friendly. Try the mumm champagne bar towards the top of the hill outside of hotel. Can't pick a fave restaurant in hotel, all outstanding. Pools however are freezing, only downside. Really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed at the Bahia Del Duque resort June to celebrate our 25th wedding aniversary , we have stayed at the hotel before and was looking forward to another great break.
We were not disapointed as we had a fantastic holiday at this beautiful resort.
The staff. Are fantastic and cannot do enough , the rooms are stunning and very clean.
We stayed half board which is great value as you can dine at any of the seven top class restaurants , which are all different and make sure you have lunch at the beechview restaurant , its stunning.
Great pools , lovely food stunning location with a great beech , what more do you want.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great even the basic one's
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your confidence choosing again the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque to celebrate such special occasion.

We are delighted to learn that had a fantastic holiday with us. Your positive comments will help us in our continuing effort to improve services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

lovely setting and gardens, but rooms not as good as other only 4star hotels, not well maintained, had to insist on change of room, many faults, bar runs out of beer on saturday evening, breakfast restaurant runs out of bowels, service appalling, ingredients missed on dishes, pour your own wine, the only thing 5 star was the bill

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your recent stay with us. We do appreciate you sharing your concerns with us. It is thanks to your comments that can follow up and address issues internally.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns and it is our hope that you will give the opportunity to cater to your needs in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

After returning from Casas Ducales on our second trip we vowed to return again. Carlota and her team do an excellent job and make you feel as though you are home from home with regards to how comfortable you feel. Casas Ducales is wonderful, quiet and the breakfast area serene. Nora once again, along with Hector, Hans and the rest of the team make you not want to return home! Bit of a shame the mini disco was limited this year to certain nights. Looking forward to rebooking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your coments about your recent stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback. Your kind comments will be shared with all the team in Casas Ducales. We are sure that your words will encourage them to keep on working in the right direction.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
9.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#17 of 52 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 stars 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
25.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#9 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.