We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence of customer care still exists” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellence of customer care still exists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

"We chose the Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort for a special break in Tenerife following a long cold British winter. We were especially looking forward to the luxury and pampering following a busy few months at work for both of us. So you can imagine our disappointment when the online booking agent we used contacted us two days before travel to say they had changed the hotel we were staying in. We contacted the Bahia Del Duque directly and the resort manager Christina De Juan was absolutely fantastic, she immediately got on the case and sorted the problem out, and got us a fabulous room. She phoned us and emailed to confirm our stay, she came to reception and greeted us personally, when we got there. The hotel and the room exceeded our expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed the luxurious surroundings, fine dining and felt totally pampered. It was a dream holiday, my thanks to Christina and her team. We will be coming back."

David & Kully

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr. David & Mrs. Kully,

Thank you for posting your recent experience with us at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

We work hard to provide the best service to our clients, especially in such particular situation. We are always at our client’s disposal and it is our goal to provide them with the best holiday experience.

Your kind comments are highly appreciated and it is great to know that the Hotel exceeded your expectations.

It would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back in the near future and have the opportunity to cater for your needs.

We remain at your disposal.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    179
    62
    35
    15
See reviews for
376
397
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just returned from a few days at this top of the hill hotel and once again enjoyed the slightly decadent feel of the place and genuine 5 star accommodation. Wonderful breakfast in the sun, overlooking the fabulous gardens and coastline. Evening meals leave much room for improvement. We dined at 4 seperate restaurants within the complex and, sadly, the food offerings were well below 5 star standard. We twice had to return my food as it was dreadfully undercooked in the Asian Restaurant and stone cold in the Itallian. However--we did not exactly starve, and lunch on the terrace was a treat--especially with the newly introduced 'Moet with ice' -! Big grumble? Cold pools. Even though they claim to be heated --they were freezing! All in all a nice place, but needs looking at through new eyes, to see and experience the place from a guests perspective. Great staff--great service--especially room service which must hold the world record for quick delivery--[ shame the mix up the orders so often!]

Room Tip: Try to book Suite 120----Possibly one of the largest suits within the building-- with seperate, full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

We value each and every comment from our guests and it is disconcerting to learn that some of our services did not meet your expectations. However, it is thanks to your comments that we can keep improving.

Our Food and Beverage team is working hard in our standards, elaborating new menus and checking our procedures in order to provide the highest service and attention to detail.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We wanted some guaranteed sun for the weekend, so had to fly all the way to Tenerife! We picked the hotel based on other reviews and it was just what we were looking for. It's in a great location, far enough away from the masses of Playa de las Americas, but a 30 min walk if you feel the need..

I went with my girlfriend, but the clientele is more families, which isn't a problem as the children were well behaved!

Great restaurants and the breakfast selection is excellent, including Cava! Hurrah!!

Would recommend.

Steve

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Steve,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be pleased to welcome you again for a weekend or a longer stay!

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We've waited a long time to visit this hotel. It comes top in all the very posh brochures so we were excited to have booked it. We were picked up with no problems from the airport, short transfer. Were given our rooms, had inter connecting 414. These rooms were small dark and in need of a revamp and water pressure in the shower was poor. We unpacked and ate in La Trattoria. service was very slow to start but once we ordered food was excellent and we tried a local wine La Crater (like a rioja) which was excellent too. That evening we'd never got a wink of sleep. upstairs terribly noisy and outside the room too.
I expressed my disappointment to the receptionist the next morning we were moved to 630 and 631. Larger rooms and lighter. early that morning we had decorators outside our room scraping the walls and painting. We were told the hotel was 95% full so why they were decorating then I don't know. We complained and sent a bottle of fizzy wine up.
The room next to my daughters room had people shouting and arguing from 3am the following night and next to our room lights going on and off drawers going in and out. You can just hear everything.
Breakfast was mainly good few hick ups on some mornings. Food was generally very good in the hotel. Hotel itself is lovely. Just lots and lots of steps. I was forever getting lost!
Pools were cold there was a heated one which my husband went in and stood on someones earring which went right into his foot.
Spa was lovely hydro pool were warm everything very clean. massage was excellent. I had a thai massage with Noo she was very good.
Club house we used to book Siam park tickets.
We wanted to hire electric bikes one day when we asked reception they said everyone keeps asking about hiring them don't know where you get them though! Also asked about shops being open on a Sunday again she said I don't know some might be. When we asked about what time our transfer was picking us up they said we didn't have back. We did because we had a voucher be again having to sort these things out on your holiday eats into the short time your on holiday.
Well we've experienced it now don't think were be back maybe try The Abma next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied after your recent stay with us and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We do appreciate you sharing your concerns with us so can follow up and address issues internally.

We can assure that your all reviews are monitored very carefully so we can constantly gather feedback and make changes or improvements where needed.

The time you took to share your concerns is much appreciated and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to cater to your needs in the future.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is our third visit to this wonderful Hotel and we still couldn't fault it. We only had B &B this year but found the breakfasts just as delicious as previous years, we didn't eat in any of the Hotel Restaurants but found plenty just outside the gate. Many of the staff are still there and all seem extremely happy in their work. The only miserable person we can across was the guy that gave us a lift back to the airport after our stay but I don't think he was anything to do with the Hotel.

We had fantastic weather, on our last day our flight didn't leave until 9 pm and we asked if we could pay for a room to use to shower and change and they let us keep our two adjoining rooms for no extra charge.

We did notice this year that there were a lot of sunbed hoggers, guests that bagged the best beds and then went out for the day. I do think the hotel should put a stop to this, having said that, we sat right near the bottom pool and didn't seem to have a problem.

A wonderful hotel, we have never been anywhere more than once before but are already planning our next trip as we all love it.

Room Tip: We would always choose a room with a sea view, it's worth every extra penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your confidence choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort one more time to enjoy your holidays. Undoubtedly, your return is the best feedback we could have and it is great to know that you are planning your next visit.

As well, we thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to know your experience with the person in charge of the transfer to the airport. We kindly ask you to contact us personally (gm@bahia-duque.com) and provide us with details in order to take the necessary actions.

In relation to the sunbeds, we are working in a new procedure, following our continuous improvement plan.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Recently we stayed at the Bahia del Duque hotel in Adeje, we very much enjoyed our holiday. The hotel has a great location (close walk to playa de las americas and a short taxi ride to the airport). There are ample taxis available from the hotel. The hotel has great facilities (plenty of restaurants, a gym , a sports bar and an observatory) which made a good holiday. And very helpful staff.
However there are things which the hotel could improve, such as very dirty paths,over priced restraurants which served average food (52 euros for a adult at the buffet). The beds are not the comfiest and we also got woken up most mornings by the noise in the corridors. There are many steps which will be a obsticle for disabled people or prams.
If the hotel brushed up on these little problems, the resort could truely be 5 star. Athough i would certainly recomend people stay there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thank goodness others have decided to write about the poor food and service regarding the hotel. The restaurants are constantly booked until 9.30/10.00 in the evening leaving us to find alternative arrangements outside. Management couldn't have cared less when we asked if there was anything earlier. The staff truly do just grunt at you, they aren't interested in you. The food in the hotel is very average and overpriced. Everyone is in bed by 10pm, lights out, no entertainment after that. The shower room had nose dirt on the wall on arrival and is still on the wall 3 days in despite complaining to reception. No replenishment of shower cap, despite asking reception. It's also overun with babies and toddlers! Not major but not 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.