We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay... but with some remarks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay... but with some remarks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We’ve stayed in this hotel for a week. As we arrived early morning the hotel was quiet and really affecting. It seams like you’ve got into a fairytale.
To cut the long story short my own impressions are the following:
1. ROOM. I’ve stayed in room # 328. It was very spacious and clean, with both shower and bath. I had some problems with light but this issue was solved in 20 min by a very pleasant man. Please note that you can hear your neighbors from next room.
2. FOOD. Breakfast is amazing! The variety of dishes is great, taste is marvelous. As regards other restaurants take a chance and choose your favorite. But when you are in La Trattoria try pork medallions with orange sauce – it’s adorable!
3. STAFF. Three words to describe: smiling, professional and helpful.
4. BEACH. According to Spanish Law hotel cannot own a beach. So you should go out from hotel area and use a public beach. Thereafter you have to pay for sun beds and umbrella (20 Euro for 2 beds and 1 umbrella). The ocean worth this money be sure! It’s better to come at 9.30 a.m. to have a good bed.
5. NB! We had very early flight back home. So I asked to prepare for us boxes instead of breakfast. I was really surprised to be informed that they cannot do it complimentary so I have to pay additionally 32 Euro (for sandwich, apple, juice and water). Normally in European hotels I receive this option free of charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your room and the food. We also appreciate your kind words about our staff.

Regarding your comment about the boxes on point 5, we wish to mention that Continental breakfast is served in the room free of charge from 3 until 12 am. Using our “in room breakfast” you have the opportunity to enjoy your breakfast in a comfortable way in your room before leaving the Resort. Any other Food and Beverage service in not included in the reservation package.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future and have the opportunity to meet all your needs and expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    170
    60
    34
    10
See reviews for
363
381
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from our third visit to The Bahia del Duque. We cannot praise the hotel enough - we love the location, the room we stayed in was divine, everyone is so friendly and eager to tend to your every request. There is never a problem getting a sunbed, and we love the evening cabaret.
Our only problem this time was the food. Apart from breakfast, which is always fabulous, we did not really have a good evening meal for seven nights!
The Bernegal food was extremely poor - it all looked overcooked and was unprofessionally presented. In previous years the dessert table was splendid but this year it all looked bought-in. Hacienda and Trattoria very average and only Asian was slightly better.
Want to return again next year and will be hoping management will look into improving standard of cooking - please.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are delighted to know that you loved the location, the room and our staff.

We appreciate your comments about the food as these observations assist us in monitoring our performance. We are committed to continuing to improve into the hotel to meet the needs of all our guests and your comments relative to the food and beverage service are important for us.

It would be a real pleasure for us to welcome you back next year at our Resort and have the opportunity to meet all your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from an eleven night stay at the Bahia del Duque which we enjoyed enormously. On our arrival we were very impressed with the architecture of the main building, which is stunning, and the greeting from the staff which we thought was geniunely friendly and helpful. In fact the attitude, friendliness and efficiency of all the staff was a very positive feature throughout our stay and there were always more than adequate numbers of them to ensure we were well looked after. We didn't appreciate the extent of the hotel at first and the buggy ride to our room gave a some idea of the size of the complex. It covers a very large area stretching down the hillside through various levels to the beachside (accessed through a gate with guarded, guest-only access; security is very tight generally) with pools, gardens, sun decks and other features making the most of the topography and giving a very pleasing vista. The layout of the accommodation is in various different buildings each with their own architectural style and set on different levels. We were allocated a "garden room" which faced inland, so no sea view but overlooking a small childrens' play area, which was not a problem at the time we were there but could have been in school holiday periods. The room was spacious and very well equiped with a very large bed( the pillows consisted of two bolsters and a square French style one, okay if you like them but can be uncomfortable if you don't) comfortable seating, good lighting and good sized wardrobes which had a built-in safe. The bathroom was also very well designed with twin sinks, a separate shower, bath and toilet cubicle. The only small criticisms related to the internal doors. There was a door which separated the entrance lobby from the bedroom but it was of the slatted variety so it provided no sound or light insulation from the bathroom, which also had slatted doors, or noise from the outside corridor. There were also clear glass doors to each of the shower and wc cubicles within the bathroom which had insufficient frosting to provide privacy. The room was serviced twice a day with complete changes of towels and if required a change of bed linen each day.
The leisure facilities provided were probably the best we have encountered anywhere. There were very comfortable sun beds everywhere with an endless supply of towels and we found it possible to find spare sun beds at whatever time of day we chose (although the practice of bagging by placing towels still occurs). There were four different fresh water pools, two cold, one heated and a pool for small children, and a large free-form salt water pool. The gym was very well equipped and there are two squash courts, one of which has been given over to various fitness classes, including spinning.
There were eight restaurants on the site, serving different styles of food (Spanish, Asian, Italian, buffet etc.) although each of them is not open every night. There are not many restaurants off-site nearby so we actually had all our evening meals at the hotel restaurants for the whole of our stay. Our experience was generally good with only one poor meal (at the Trattoria), a memorable one at Las Aguas (the gourmet restaurant) and several at our favourite, the Hacienda. They are all expensive, although not excessively so compared with other restaurants nearby, but we did feel the buffet at 52.50 Euros a head was poor value for money unless you had a gargantuan appetite or smuggled food out (as we saw some of our fellow guests doing). The buffet breakfast in the El Bernagal restaurant was excellent with a wide range of food, endlessly replenished and of good quality, that it would be difficult to imagine how it could be improved upon, .
The situation and layout of the hotel means that there are many flights of steps to get between the various levels, particularly once you pass below the level of the freshwater pools, but there are plenty of lifts in the upper part of the complex and the staff are always on hand with buggy transport for the infirm, tired or just lazy.
We can understand some of the adverse comments made in Tripadvisor reports (we were overcharged by 10 Euros on two occasions for bottles of wine with our meals and for bread we hadn't ordered, corrected when we pointed it out) but we did not encounter anything that might be described as more than a minor irritation. Overall we had a great stay and were fortunate with the weather, virtually w t w sunshine apart from a tropical downpour one morning, so we have overwhelmingly good memories and would definitely like to return in the future.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the small childrens' club (noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort.

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the room, restaurants and the leisure activities. As well, it is always great to hear compliments on our staff and we can assure that your comments will be shared with all the team.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our fourth visit is our last sadly. Shocking billing issues and a fall in standards mean I will not be returning to this hotel.
Coackroaches in the rooms, overcharging and other guests meals on our account are the final straw.
We have enjoyed our stays here in the past but it's time to move on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are sorry to know that, in this occasion, your expectations were not meet.

We always want to provide our guest with the best service and we would have been pleased to know your discontent during your stay in order to take the appropriate actions while you were here with us.

In relation to your comment of the insect, we wish to apologize for the inconvenience caused. As well, we wish to mention that we have regular pest control according to the Spanish law. The warm weather is a very important factor and for that reason we double our efforts to minimize the inconveniences caused. It is very important to remark that our service level is not affected by the appearance of insects due to it is an isolated issue.

Nevertheless we wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused and we hope that your last experience will not deter you from trying us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in the villas at Easter of this year. The villa comes complete with its own plunge pool,garden,outdoor dining area,kitchenette. It is simply perfect for a relaxing family holiday.We have stayed at both the main hotel and the villas, the villas are certainly worth the extra money. We have booked again for this Christmas and Easter next year. we certainly would recommend the villas for any families looking for a relaxing holiday. However the hotel is also next to the beach so water sports or more adventurous activities are not out of the question!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us at the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our second time here and just as good if not better than our first visit last year.
This is a serious 5 star experience and once again the staff seem to have a knack of knowing what you want before you do!
This year we had a room in Casa Ducales which was superb. With an adjacent small private terrace it was another world with a super view across to Port Colon to one side and the sunset on the other - we were extremely lucky with the weather for our week (constant sunshine) as they had had a lot of rain the previous week.
The food in the restaurant El Bernagal has definitely improved and we saw no need to eat at any other restaurant with such a fantastic fresh selection every evening. The only criticism would be that the wine by the glass selection is very limited as a whole bottle can be a bit too much.
We managed to avoid the UK half term but there were a number of children from - shall we say far eastern Europen regions who with their parents could be rather a pain - especially when it came to manners. Still this is not the fault of the hotel but seems to be a creeping worldwide problem!

Room Tip: They are all superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found superb your room in Casas Ducales. As well, we kindly appreciate you have noticed some improvements in our buffet El Bernegal.

Please, know that our Food and Beverage Manager has been informed about your comment regarding the wine glass selection.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your 3rd visit!

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Unfortunately, considering the actual ranking- level this hotel was not able to fulfill the personal and family- acceptations.
Place was absolutely not prepared for a rainy period for 5 days, people must wait for more than 20 minutes in the rainshower before breakfast and dinner. Hotel was overcrowded with Russian people, very noisy and arrogant atmosphere. Food in restaurant "Brasserie" was spoilt and cooked by microwave. Had breakfast- buffet in Salon Espagnol, no cooling devices were used so the different products were also warm presentated. Very noisy atmosphere in the corridors and elevators from 06.30 hr am till 23.00 hr pm. Very noisy rooms, bathroom, open terras .... could hear the neighbour. Lack of maintenance for the rooms, spots were out, bacterial rests on shower.

Room Tip: Don't take a room at the elevator or corridor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with us.

We value each and every comment from our guest and we are sorry to learn that some of our services did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the head staff members and will be used to guide our ongoing efforts at improvement.

We wish to provide clarification on your comment regarding the food in Brasserie and Salón España: we have a strict HACCP plan managed by an external company together with our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Manager. Regarding our purchasing policy, we would like to mention that, since our opening, we are orientated to buy the most high quality products as our goal is to provide our guest the best gastronomic experience.

Thank you again for your value feedback and we do hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Best regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#7 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Escapio, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.