We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first rate hotel that is deservedly described as 'the best hotel on the island'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A first rate hotel that is deservedly described as 'the best hotel on the island'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

From the outset this hotel offers travellers a warm welcome being highly organised and boasting friendly and attentive staff. The hotel rooms live up to expectations, the separate shower cubicles being a real bonus, the balcony furniture being of high standard. The hotel is really quirky; designed as a small Canarian village with a range of restaurants, shops, and pools. I would recommend that flat sandals are taken for negotiating the quaint bridges and walkways during the day. Due to the layout of the site a buggy service is available to take customers to the Beach Club, Spa and reception. This was popular but did not however involve queues or delays although we only used this service once as walking through the hotel grounds is a pleasure.
The food at this hotel is first rate whether you dine at the buffet or one of the many restaurants. I enjoyed a lobster starter at the French Brasserie which although subject to a very small supplement represented good value for money. All options in the restaurants have 'includio' choices for those on half board. Having stayed at hotels that have this type of choice of restaurants I would commend this hotel on their reservations system which unlike other 5* hotels does not expect customers to stand in line at 8 in the morning to secure a reservation (no bun fight here!). Equally the hotel has a highly efficient pool service; quality loungers, towels, umbrellas and tables and plenty of them! I did not feel at anytime that service was an issue at this hotel. All in all great holiday, great hotel!

Room Tip: Travelling with parents in thier 70's we were located in the main hotel building where there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHBDR, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We feel so proud to read your comments and know that your expectations were met during your stay with us.
We look forward to your return to Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort and have the opportunity to create unforgettable memories for you again.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    225
    72
    37
    20
See reviews for
477
478
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here in June, and thought we should leave our review.The Bahia will be our first choice from now on when in Adeje.Staff all very friendly, room and facilities all clean.I have never seen such a breakfast before ! including champagne, chocolate fountains, and just about every thing imaginable.Normally we would prefer smaller hotels, but this hotel has everything just right.The pools here are wonderful, and the food and service top drawer.The hotel is also directly on the Del Duque beach.We were on the 5th floor with amazing sea/pool view. We had a lovely relaxing time. Loved the lake area, and Moet Terrace was beautiful with all the lovely day beds. We loved this place and will surely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear clients,

First of all, we wish to thank you for publishing your review on Tripadvisor. It is great to know that the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort will be your first choice for your stay in Adeje. We are delighted to learn that your experience with us was memorable and hope to see you again in our Resort in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here in May and enjoyed every single minute. We had passed this hotel when staying in Americas a few years ago and thought it was way out of our price bracket, but to our delight we were able to book in here and it is fair to say that it met and exceeded our expectations. The staff provided great service without being obtrusive and were friendly and helpful. The swimming pools are great, the gardens are beautiful and the buildings look as if they are from a fairytale. The sun beds are really comfortable and the soccarista was attentive and truly demonstrated 5 star service. It was the most relaxed I have been for years. We both fully intend to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort to enjoy your holidays.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay in May. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your comments will be shared with our team, who be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here in May, and thought we should leave our review, although a little late.
Having stayed at both Salome, and Anthelia hotels, we were expecting something of at least similar quality.
The Bahia exceeded both hotels, and will be our first choice from now on when in Adeje.
I have never seen such a breakfast before ! including whole legs of gammon, champagne, chocolate fountains, and just about every thing imaginable.
Normally we would prefer smaller hotels, but this hotel has everything just right.
Its well worth taking the upgrade to include all the a la carte restaurants, as each one is like a different night out.
The pools here are wonderful, and the food and service top drawer.
The hotel is also directly on the lovely Del Duque beach.

We were on the 5th floor and side elevation with partial sea view, so we found the room slightly dark, but not worryingly so.
Loved the nature reserve/ lake area, and Moet Terrace was beautiful with all the lovely day beds which were deserted for some strange reason.
I dont think people realise this is NOT a private area because it is stunning.
We loved this place and will surely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear client,

We greatly appreciate your review and we are so proud to know that Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort will be your first option for your stay in Adeje.

It would be a pleasure for all the team to welcome you back!

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We've just returned from our 6th visit to Bahia Del Duque, and our 3rd visit to Las Villas within the resort. It really is a little bit of heaven, and peace and quiet from the rest of the world. The staff are absolutley fantastic, and really do demonstrate what 5 star service is all about. We began to call the Las Villas staff the 'Ninjas', as everything is carried out to the highest standard without actually seeing anyone carrying out their tasks - perfect! The resort is perfectly maintained, and all the staff we saw, including the maintenance staff, are incredibly polite and friendly. For breakfast, we prefer going to El Bernagal, rather than the exclusive Las Villas breakfast. There is more choice there, and the staff are more responsive. Our favourite restaurant is 'La hacienda', which is informal and lively, and the buggy ride back to Las Villas after a glass of wine is such good fun! I would happily holiday here forever - I hope you feel the same!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we wish to thank you for your loyalty to the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort. We are so proud to have regular clients like you. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back on your 7th visit!

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saf
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Fantastic hotel. only issue- there is no real kids playground. There is a signpost to a 'playground' but wihht the numer of children there i really think they should put something there! Even a simple climbing frame or just some monkey bars -would be a great addition.

The earliest the restaurants open is 6pm- would it be possible to have one open at 5 or 5.30pm? Also no entertainment for children in the evening. Childrens club finishes. It would be nice to have a kids party once a week up to about 6.30 or 7pm. We saw a parrot show and another clown but entertainment every evening would be good.

the childrens pool is very basic. a very small slide would relaly improve this.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for publishing your comments on TripAdvisor. Your feedback help us to know the services that met your expectations and the ones that have to be improved.

We wish to inform that the Resort has the DUQUI CLUB for all children between 3 and 12 years old (children under three must be accompanied by an adult) and it’s open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
As well, the Hotel offers a babysitting service that can be booked in the Club House and we have children’s menu in our restaurants.
There is an area in the Resort with climing frame, swing and a rocker.

Depending on the kids occupancy, there is a Minidisco in La Placita at 9pm.

Regarding the opening time of the restaurants, we would like to mention that La Brasserie restaurant is from 10:00 Hrs to 23:00 Hrs. (it only closes from 18:00 to 18:30 Hrs. to prepare the dinner service). At 18:30 Hrs. opens our Italian restaurant La Trattoria. Room Service is available during 24 Hrs. where there is children’s menu available.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Resort. Please, do not hesitate to contact us and we will send you more information about the children’s activities.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June 2011 for 7 nights.

We were in suite 768 which is supposed to be a sea view suite. It was more land view with the sea in the distance to the right. However, come night time you are actually better off with this kind of blend as the inland lights provide a much nicer view off your balcony (very good size) at night time.

The hotel is kept spotless and looks lovely on the inside in the evening. The food at the main buffet restaurant was nothing short of excellent and the service was also very good indeed. They also keep a bottle of wine for you if you're not going to finish it so you can go back to it the next night, which I've never seen before.

Heard reports that the food was also very good in the other restaurants, including the Asian one called Asia-Kan which I never got round to trying, even though I love Indian and Chinese food. I suppose that's testimony to how good the food is in the main restaurant.

We went at the May half term, but there's a possibility that it may be a different place during the summer holidays. The staff were all brilliant and I wanted to make a special mention to front office manager Alejandro Peraza who made sure that our stay was a pleasant one.

I would recommend taking the half board option as the food is great. Make sure you also take a half day to go to the Siam Water Park which is only a short cab ride away. Awesome fun, but I don't advise going on the "Tower of Power". No value in it. You're blinded by the water on the way down and it's straight up your nose, not to mention the fact that you'll probably pants it on the way up the stairs. One tip: Take your flip flops with you when you walk about because the ground gets very hot as the day evolves. You just leave your footwear in a designated area near whatever water ride you are going on. You must go there though as it brings out the child in adults too.

The Bahia Del Duque is a very nice traditional hotel, decked out in lovely pastel colours. I would certainly recommend a visit and don't worry yourself reading countless reviews on here. I would not advise bringing toddlers. It's more suited to kids 4+ due to some steps here and there, and some of the rockier areas around the pools.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suites vary depending on location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Gran Hotel Bahía del Duque Resort for your stay in Tenerife, as well as for taking the time to post your review.

We are really glad to know that your stay at our Resort met your expectations. It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here.

Your positive comments will encourage us to keep on working in our client’s maximum satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Adeje
0.5 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.4 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#16 of 54 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 stars 3,661 reviews
9.5 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.1 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
25.4 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#1 of 81 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort

Address: Avenida Bruselas s/n, 38670 Costa Adeje, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#11 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Duque is a charming hotel inspired by the traditional Canarian architecture of the end of the 19th Century. This adaptation of a tropical oasis rises majestically on the azure shores of the beautiful Duque Beach. Apart from the original 19 buildings of the resort, 40 exclusive villas designed by the prestigious interior decorator Pascua Ortega have been opened in January 2008. Additionally, the inauguration of the luxurious Spa is planned for this summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Adeje
Gran Resort Bahia Del Duque
Bahia Del Duque Tenerife
Gran Hotel Bahia Del Duque Resort Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.