We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilltop hotel with great views over Adeje Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Jardines del Teide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Jardines del Teide to your Saves list
Melia Jardines del Teide
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avd. Agando, s/n | Urbanizacion Mirador del Duque, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #18 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Hilltop hotel with great views over Adeje Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here in a junior suite in July 2014, entire hotel is all inclusive and all wearing bands. We were originally placed in room 328, but requested to be moved to a room with a better view. Reception duly obliged and we were given room 705, which had fantastic views over the pool area and Adeje Bay. Food was of a good 4 star standard, chef cooking fried eggs, pancakes and omlettes to order each day, scrambled eggs and crispy bacon also available daily, with "English sausages" on offer ever other day or so, so basically a full English if you want it every day. In addition, there was also the full continental variation of fruits, breads, pastries, cheeses, meats available each morning. Lunch is either again in the restaurant or less formal poolside bar, that cooks fresh toasties to order, pizza, hot dogs, kebabs, chips and wraps. This closes at 6pm, thereafter it to the terrace bar for drinks before dinner. Evening meal is dress as you please, again with an extremely varied selection of fish dishes, complimented with meats and other variations of favourites for all to savour over. At meal times, it's a full bottle of wine or Cava opened at your table for all to enjoy, none of this waiting for a waiter to fill your glass nonsense here. Great selection of desserts too that I unfortunately found irresistible. Entertainments team done well with the kids, who hosted various activities throughout the day for the children, which my 6 & 8 year olds thoroughly enjoyed. Evening entertainment however was less than 4 star quality, I mean I'm not expected Las Vegas acts, but they really were exceptionally poor. Reception staff very welcoming and other hotel staff friendly on the whole. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but would probably try somewhere else next time, purely based on the fact we emailed the hotel a week before our stay for a small token gesture for my 6 year old on his birthday night (balloons at table, etc..) while we were there, but they failed to deliver.

That's just me being picky though, price was not the most expensive, then again it wasn't anywhere near the cheapest, although pound for pound I've probably had better value pound for pound in other 4 star hotels, most notably as a result of the poor evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Ask for room with as high a floor as possible, there are 7 floors in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    670
    287
    96
    53
See reviews for
632
738
37
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in September 2013 , hotel is very clean and well kept. The food is very good with plenty of choice to suit the majority of guests. The rooms are perfectly OK for a holiday stay. We spent most of the days near the smaller pool and used the loungers in the adults only bays,lovely touches by staff bringing around fruit or little bags of fries. Our main gripe was the lack of seating on the terrace near the bar,probably less than forty tables for a hotel this size is inadequate. The entertainment room was horrendous,dark,small and again inadequate for purpose. If these matters have been improved in the last year I am sure it will make this hotel more comfortable

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The title sums up my stay at the Melia really. This was our second time around at the hotel and firstly let me say that the general staff are excellent and very helpful,however there is a lack of any visible management support . This shows up in particular in the restaurant where I can't fault the work rate of the waiters in any way but they lack direction and all honesty probably a few extra pair of hands would help enormously. Another problem we had in the restaurant was I found 3 flies encapsulated in oil in my soup so they obviously got in during the cooking process . I work in the food industry and it took 3 attempts including going over to the soup containers to explain to the waiter that ALL the soup in that batch must be thrown away not just mine in the bowl. There was no direction towards any form of kitchen or restaurant manager.

A shame really as the food is actually very good and please don't let this isolated incident put you off. Trust me I see many kitchens in my job and this one was very very clean.

Bar area large and good standard of local drinks, bit of a queue but no more than you would get at home.
However and this is again due to anyone directing staff the tables in the bar area were left uncleared for far too long, up to over an hour on some tables. Not being funny but 4 star should not mean you have to clear a table every time when you want to sit in the bar area. Little things like this are letting this hotel down hence me saying it us at a crossroads .

Also the rooms are now starting to show their age and in the 12 months since I last visited they are getting tired quickly . The furniture is cheap pine and is scuffing and very old fashioned. Our sofa was creaky and seen it's last days. There was also vomit on the back of the sofa that the cleaners had missed. This surprised me as generally the standard of cleaning is very good throughout the complex. The wardrobe doors were not moving that freely and only had 8 hangers , not enough for 2 people. Drawer in there had a broken handle. Our fridge had to be replaced as it was not working. The bathroom is very poor, lukewarm water and no pressure from an old fashioned shower over a bath , tiles need regrouting and I don't think having bare wires going into a wall beside the plug is acceptable in a 2 star in Ibiza let alone a 4 star in the good part of Tenerife.
Little niggles I accept but overall shouts a lack of care and NOT what you should expect from a 4 star and not from a Melia hotel.

The entertainment is typical all inclusive , not of any great standard but passes the time . Few more chairs and tables wouldn't go amiss either as not enough for everyone in the evenings .
One exception to the rule on the entertainment is they know have a lovely lady singing most nights in the top bar area and she is excellent and a real good idea to have this. My fiancee and I spent a few lovely evenings sat drinking listening to her.
They have also got rid of the annoying "hey baby" singalong that happened twice a day by the bottom pool . The kids entertainment is now more focused by the small kids pool and kids club building which is better than last year as you can chill and relax more by the pool. Childrens ents staff are very good and your children are in safe hands.
To sum up we enjoyed are stay but the hotel is at a crossroads in that it needs to get management to show an interest or change them . It also now needs to spend on the rooms as they are very dated and no better than an average 3 star.
The location was fine for us, 5 minute walk to get a paper, 15 mins walk to Fanabe or 4euros in a cab. 12 euros to las Americas. Had some fun nights in Ye Old Ocean on the front in Fanabe if you want some good old fashioned entertainment of a good quality.
To sum it up I wouldn't say the hotel is all fur coat no knickers but I'd say it certainly needs to update it's underwear very soon.
Last year I was definite that I'd come back, this year I'm not so sure.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My friend and I stayed at Melia Jardines del Teide during the first week of June '14 and we would quite happily return for a second holiday!

It is worth staying at Melia Jardines for the views alone! The hotel is situated at the top of Costa Adeje and you would be guaranteed a great view down the coast from most places in the establishment. It really made the experience to have such beautiful views whilst eating dinner or sitting out on the lounge terrace. Be sure to take a stroll up the watch tower - we took some great panoramic shots up there. The style and decor of the hotel was appealing and the layout was quite quirky with all amenities spread over different levels. The pool area was lovely to relax in and was well kept. We spent most nights at one of the two bars; we enjoyed playing pool at the lower level bar and loved sitting out on the lounge terrace of the upper bar whilst listening to old classics sung by a live soloist. The bar staff were really friendly and were too happy to recommend clubs and bars that we should visit. We were very satisfied with the food. We pretty much had a little bit of everything that we fancied over the course of the whole week - fish, ribs, rabbit, steak, chinese food, paella, chips, omlettes, plenty of salad bits among many other things. We also took full advantage of the all-inclusive cocktails - I can recall just one that we were served that we thought tasted a bit rubbish. We had a very spacious room with a mini patio overlooking Costa Adeje - very pleased with that! Reception provided help with whatever we needed whether it was providing us with wi-fi access (free with a password) or booking a trip to Mount Teide. There were a couple of nice beaches nearby - Playa del Duque offers a lovely clifftop walk - and you can easily walk to them in 10 minutes from the hotel. If you are keen for a night out (or two!) as we were, the place to be is Playa de Las Americas. You can ask reception to book you a taxi there, which will set you back about 12 euros. Although Melia Jardines is also a family hotel, we felt that the place was not over-crowded with children and were able to enjoy the hotel as adults!

All in all the hotel exceeded our expectations and I would happily recommend Melia Jardines to anyone for any sort of holiday... couple, family or friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in June 2014. Had a fantastic holiday at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. The food was of good quality and always fresh , the one thing i would say is to check cooked chicken and fish as some of the chefs tend to under cook it, I always asked them for "well done" . The staff are really friendly and helpful. Rooms were spotless and cleaned every day to a good standard. Entertainment for children was fantastic. The drinks were of good quality and you could have food all day long if you wanted as the eating area at the lower ground pool always seemed to have fruit and sandwiches no matter what time you went down also the fridge had wrapped icereams and ice lollies all day long, all good qaulity. Although the hotel is on a steep hill the hotel provides a bus throughout the day to take you down to the beach and back up again the last bus back is at 18.00pm. The views from the hotel are fantastic,you can see the mountains,sea and town from most of the hotel. Adeje market can also be seen from the hotel on a Thursday and Saturday and is well worth a visit it's only a short walk! You dont need to put your towels on the sun loungers every morning as there are plenty. This is an excellent hotel and I would definetly recommend it.

Room Tip: Have no problems with the lifts getting to the top floors. Room 802 over looks the swimming pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Melia is a 4 star hotel, Spanish standards. We got a good deal with all inclusive at this hotel. The rooms are quite spacious but very common, nothing special. But all you need is there.
Some of the rooms have wonderful views but they also have some with horrible views. Ocean or ugly parking lot..
There is lots of stairs in a beautiful waterfall garden like and at the end of it all you find the big main Swimming Pool, very nice.
Everybody is on all Inclusive, which basically means that you can eat and drink all day long. So that was what we did... Inside the big restaurant the waiters worked very hard to maintain order, and they did good, despite the fact that more than half of the guests come from Russia. The food was based on Spanish and Russian guests, but off course you can find something if you come from Scandinavia like we do. But i have to say that the food all in all was average, not fantastic neither bad.... You can if you want upgrade your all inclusive experience if you pay 15 euro more per day per person, you will then get the good brands regarding wines, alcohol, fresh juice in the morning and so on.... But why?? Why not do this for free, serve good wines instead of the very poor red wine that was served, it could make the dinning experience much much better...
Allmost every night there was a lot of noise in the hall ways to our room, let us just say that the Russians were partying and they did not care about other people. Tried to tell them one night at about 00.30 but they ask me to p... off.
Would i stay here again ? No i will not, but that is only because off the all inclusive thing. We found out that we like the free Restaurant life much better, but thats us.
The hotel does a lot for children and it looked like the children was taken very good care of, and the children also liked the all inclusive thing, easy as it is. Hope this was informative :-)
Remember a four star in Spain/Canarias is not a four star in Dubai....

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with ocean view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My boyfriend took me to this hotel in February for my 21st birthday and it was fantastic!! Really couldn't complain about anything. The food was good, the drinks were good in that they had branded drinks and all inclusive until 12am. The rooms were nice and were clean and the staff were very friendly. Only slight moan would be tables in the restaurant... Sometimes you had to wait for a table and the restaurant didn't seem to have enough tables for the amount of guests however this is an issue which could easily be resolved. Overall excellent hotel, staff and service!

Room Tip: We didn't have the best view we were on the side of the mountain however this didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Melia Jardines del Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Jardines del Teide

Address: Avd. Agando, s/n | Urbanizacion Mirador del Duque, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#16 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#19 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#19 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Jardines del Teide 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Melia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Jardines del Teide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Jardines Del Teide Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Costa Adeje
Melia Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Jardines Del Teide Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Jardines del Teide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.