We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Jardines del Teide

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Jardines del Teide to your Saves list
Melia Jardines del Teide
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avd. Agando, s/n | Urbanizacion Mirador del Duque, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Costa Adeje
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Fantastic hotel, beautiful, clean, spacious, the staff and so friendly they never stop working and can't do enough for you day and night. We had the junior suite, it didn't get any better then that. The food in the resturants was amazing every single time and there's plenty of choice. The pool bar was fab as in staff, food and drink. The area is lovely, clean, friendly and everything is in walking distance. Great for couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    580
    245
    91
    48
See reviews for
543
632
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Spent 12 nights at this hotel with my husband and two children.
wasn't sure on what to expect after the recent mixed reviews, but i have too say we had an awesome time.
we stayed in room 401, which had partial seaview and a view of the mountains, sofa bed was a bit uncomfortable but managed to still have a full nights sleep. It was our anniversary during our holiday so the hotel put a bottle of cava and some choc's for us in our room which was a lovely touch. food was good with plenty of choice, my kids loved the slush machine and the icecreams! Plenty of choice for both food and drink. Yes you did sometimes have to wait a little while at the bar but didn't bother me much, after all it was the Easter holidays and seemed pretty full. The staff are very friendly, my 7 year old made full use of the mini club the animation team work super hard and are such lovely people. The hotel is built into slope so some walking is involved but thats what i needed to burn afew calories! I will return to this hotel in the future, had such a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I sitting here in bed on the penultimate day of my holiday in Tenerife at the Melia Jardines. Its the first dull wet day in a week, which is not bad for early April (6th to 13th).

Overall this hotel is value for money as its reasonably priced, certainly at this time of year. Its all inclusive which means all drinks at the bar and snacks during the day, if you want them, as well as 3 ample meals per day. We were worried about the restaurant having read some other reviews about cold food. However, this seems to be fixed as the food was plentiful and hot even at the end of the meal times. Perhaps over hot in some cases if things started to dry up. The food was not top notch but pretty good and a large selection which should most tastes, good for kids with the obligatory pizza, pasta and lots of chips. Wines were drinkable and cocktails and spirits typical local brands and copious amounts. The restaurant is a bit busy and soulless though we only had to wait for a table once, however maybe this is off season, but it is the 2 weeks before Easter. The (restaurant) windows have a lovely view over the town and coast but with a lovely thick metal bar just at head height when sitting down, so in fact you cant see anything ! architects fail. Also somebody decided to build a large building in front of half of the restaurant, blocking much of the available view. fail 2.

There are more lifts in this hotel than a lift factory!! It takes a while to get to know your way around and a trip to the pool usually takes 2 or 3 lifts as the hotel is built on a long slope.

The hotel uses the slope quite well with its architecture and public rooms generally have good views. We were on floor 7 and got middle of the day sun and reasonable views over the pool with some sea view through the palms.

The rooms seemed a bit bare to me but were a decent size. I asked for bulbs to be replaced on the balcony and an extra chair for the desk and they were delivered promptly. The internet is received by getting a code daily from reception which seems very silly as its a basic requirement these days. We were roomed near the reception so picked up the wireless signal with no problem, but reports shows its erratic elsewhere. The bathroom was well equipped.

The main problem with the room is the noise. The architects have designed a cunning hotel that allows sound to be distributed about the entire hotel. A young child walking nimbly in their room several rooms and floors away, sounds like an elephant walking heavily nearby. The few women that do dress up and put on high heels can be plainly heard across the entire hotel, in fact I think I can hear stilettos in the nearby hotels. The hard tile floors and concrete construction obviously help in this regard - carpets do not exist in Tenerife. A mild form of torture occurs when somebody wheels their suitcase, when leaving or arriving, the whole 50meter length of the corridor! As we speak a family seem to be having a reunion outside our door, though if I look out the door they will probably be in the next door hotel. I really I'm getting older (52) and my kids are mostly grown up but it does seem that they (kids) get louder and more active, every year, and are not supervised. Perhaps they should be issues with carpet tiles to play on. I think playing football in the courtyard by the pool (under our room) is a bit off, though its only a 3 year old. What's wrong with the industrial wasteland next door?!

On the positive side, this is definitely the smart end of the 3 resorts (Christianos, Las Americas and Costs Adeje (we saw a sign to Adeje but never get there). We cycled the entire length of the front on the promenade (cycle track!). Adeje starts off very smart, clean and tidy with a nice smart beach. Gradually it becomes Blackpool (but hotter).

The location in the town is not great. There is shopping quite near by, especially expensive designer goods in the new centre - Plaza Del Duque. But its a long walk down (then back up) a hill to the beach. It would be too far with beach gear and kids, there is a bus but its only 3 times a day. So a car would be useful or taxis. We hired a car for the week and had no problem parking at the hotel, near the door. There is a market which is only a 5 minute walk away (once you've navigated the lifts and slope to the hotel lower gate!). The market is crap. Each stall is replicated 12 times and they all sell tatt and only 1 seemed to sell some local crafts of metal stick figures that you would be very sad to buy. It was also very busy.

The pool areas are nice and there was always availability of sun loungers. The management have a non enforced policy of not reserving loungers with towels. But somebody does reserve them, and some leave them there overnight (ground floor rooms adjacent to the pool). Really management should remove all towels at 9.59am and charge £20 to return them, then the policy would actually work. The pool guy creates a lot of noise at 6pm by dragging every pool lounger back to its original starting position. This week was also a good week to chainsaw the hotel's palm trees!

The lower pool has a snack bar and the inclusive drinks and snacks which was nice.

Also the management chose not to put windows in the hotel's outside walls, just holes! The problem with this is the hotel backs onto a road that has quite lot of traffic at "rush " hours. Hence from 7am (with the hotel's great sound transmitting quality) you feel you have a motorway in the room (exaggeration). Seriously the windows need to be in place.

Overall, its probably a value for money 3/4 * hotel, but we've realised we are wannabe 5* people. Last year we went 5* in Lanzarotte and had a better room and food etc, but the hotel was not well laid out for views and especially in the public areas, so it is a bit of a lottery. Tea and coffee in the room would also be nice. It's free in the bar right now, but its poor quality and weak from a machine, same at breakfast.

Finally, the all inclusive is great but there's no other choices. Other resort hotels nearby have a choice of 4-8 restaurants, not here - it's the buffet or nothing. So we've had several meals out for variety. But with 3 kids it would be a godsend for ease and cost. We'd like more choice.

Overall , not a bad effort but I think best for families on a reasonable budget.
So now I've got to decide what to do on a wet day on a sun holiday.......we've done the volcano (long drive but worth it), so it;ll have to be another bar I guess.....

Room Tip: Near the reception probably get's the wifi levels 5-7. We asked about paying for an upgrade but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We very rarely go to the same hotel twice but we love Melia Hotels and we were here last year and are just back from our second trip a couple of days ago.

The hotel is just 25 minutes by taxi from the airport, cost us just under 30 euros.

Hotel has absolutely fantastic views, the bar terrace has stunning views just fantastic to sit with a cold beer and watch the world go by.

Both pools are great but I definitely preferred the lower pool, again great views from the bar area, the pool is huge and water very cold which is great because it was very hot when we were there!

For people with kids watch out though pools are quite deep and although there are depth marking I got caught out last year and this year!

I don't understand the comments regarding getting around the hotel (someone has actually taken the time on their holiday to count the number of steps from their room to the pool - wow id much rather take that time to be grateful that I am on holiday and having a great time) , there are stairs as mentioned which will take longer to get from top to bottom but there are lifts everywhere, we were on the six floor and it took probably 3 minutes to get to the lower pool, not really a great hardship!!

The rooms are fine, cleaned every day, SKy tv etc everything you need, we paid extra for a sea view and were not disappointed, great to have a bottle of wine on the balcony at night looking out.

Food was good lots of variety, never experienced delays getting a table, they have an extra area which they open if main area gets too busy and we were there during the easter break. Drinks are fine also - not great wine but could be worse.

Also absolutely no problem getting a sun lounger at pools if you are up before midday, we were down at the pool by 9am every day and even at that time you had the pick of the pool area!

Staff are very, very friendly and professional.

We had a great time and will be back again next March/April time - the only things that I could say were not so good was they do not have enough staff on at any one time especially at the top bar, not the bar staffs fault but this is definitely an issue. Also the bottom pool bar, it doesn't open till 10.30 but they could easily switch on the self service machine so people could at least get a drink, if you are there at 8-9am (and its very hot) we were desperate for a glass of water!

In my opinion this is a fantastic hotel, its not 5 star so don't go there if that's what you want, otherwise I hope you have a great trip/stay, weathers fantastic and the beers cold, enjoy :o)



,

Room Tip: Any sea view room, well worth paying a little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We enjoyed our break here. It was excellent value for money. We were on level -3 and found that handy for everything. Food varied but sometimes a bit dried out from sitting under lamps. Internet was poor but apart from that we had no complaints. Pool areas clean and tidy as were rooms. Would definitely go back

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

You need good luck to make this one work. Lets start with the rooms, some have sea views, ours looked over some waste ground (although nice mountains in the background). The whole hotel is essentially spread out over the side of a hill so where your room is will have a big impact on ease of moving around. For example there were 192 steps between the pool and our room, we didn't mind too much as we like our exercise but other people we met wanted to change rooms. You could use lifts but because of the shape of the hotel there is no lift that stops at every floor, it took three separate lifts to get from pool to room with quite a bit of walking between each one, if this concerns you then ask for a room at level 5 or below. The beach is also about a 10 minute walk away, allegedly there was a free bus although i never saw it.

The food was ok if you are a meat eater. For vegetarians you will basically be limited to the salad bar. It seems ungrateful to complain about any aspect of food on these all inclusive deals because there is so much and it is essentially more or less nice, compared to others we have been to though, this one was not as good.

That brings me to the other aspect of luck (or planning) this hotel is too busy in-season. We were there a couple of days before the Easter break and it was nice, as soon as the break started, however, the hotel really filled up. There were sometimes queues to get a table for dinner, the deck chairs were 3 deep at the pool etc. in-season there are just too many rooms in the hotel for the facilities available.

Entertainment is varied but very low key. The children seemed to like most of it which is what counts, but don't go with too high expectations.

Room Tip: Lower than level 5 if you don't like walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hotel grounds are lovely with the palm trees and shrubs. Accommodation is fine but needs upgraded in some areas such as the shower large bathroom with two hand wash sinks. The toiletries holder is a lovely touch with its products such as tooth paste, cotton buds, shave cream etc.. Bedroom was large with double bed and large sofa bed. View from balcony was lovely could see for miles . I enjoyed staying hear but the hotel could improve on the service with drinks and food as only two people serving this was no fault of the staff as they were run off their feet all the time. In the dining area there was no one to direct guest to their seats very busy and caused a lot of confusion for guest at times. Food was okay good choice of drinks and lots of choice of ice-cream and lolly pops . The swimming area was lovely it was relaxing sitting by the pool eating and drinking reading a book then dipping into the pool . Pool was very cold when you first went in but was lovely and refreshing to cool down with the heat from the sun. I would recommended this hotel if they improve on some of the areas that I have pointed out i

Room Tip: Rooms are noisy above the dinning area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Jardines del Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Jardines del Teide

Address: Avd. Agando, s/n | Urbanizacion Mirador del Duque, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#19 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Jardines del Teide 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Jardines del Teide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Jardines Del Teide Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Costa Adeje
Melia Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Jardines Del Teide Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Jardines del Teide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.