We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a room with no road noise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Jardines del Teide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Jardines del Teide to your Saves list
Melia Jardines del Teide
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avd. Agando, s/n | Urbanizacion Mirador del Duque, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% discount
Ranked #19 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Finally a room with no road noise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 10 days over the Christmas period and felt we had struck gold in Costa Adeje by having a hotel room where you didn't get any road noise. Both previous stays in the resort have lead to being kept awake throughout the night with traffic noise but not this time.

Our room was above the main bar/reception area but we never heard anything with the exception of people going to their rooms on the same corridor, but that is acceptable anywhere.

I agree that the food could have been better in as much as the menu was on a 7 day turnaround instead of the usual 14 days, but the food we ate was very good, I can definitely say that we never had a bad meal, even down at the pool bar, which seems to be a bone of contention with some holidaymakers.

In the restaurants we did feel that the dress code was a little lacks, people came into evening meal still wearing what can best be described as beachwear. Some people made an effort but I do feel that they need to be a little stricter on this. Unfortunately I never saw a manager in the restaurant that could have enforced this policy.

The staff all seemed to be friendly and everyone was polite, yes they did seem to be a little understaffed at times but they did cope really well.

What I liked about the hotel was that everyone staying there was all inclusive so where I have found previously inparticular in Spanish hotels that all inclusive holidaymakers seem to get treated differently in this instance it did not happen.

At the bars it wasn't waiter service you all had to go up to the bar to be served which again made it fair because you just waited your turn and never did I have to wait more a couple of minutes to be served. In both bars there was a coffee machine and a soft drinks machine so you could just help yourself no waiting required.

The hotel is built on the side of a hill which actually makes it very pretty and the hotel is built going down the hillside so rooms are dotted about giving the impression of a little village more than a hotel.

It is quite a steep hill so probably not for the hard of walking, There is a courtesy bus 3 times a day to take you down to the beach and shops and at the bottom of the hill near the pool there is a gate to get out, which is a very good idea, unfortunately during our stay it was a little tempremental in letting people back in, as it is activated by your room key and doesn't always work, but then you get to walk off the food excesses by walking back up the hill and a welcoming drink when you get there.

There was a childrens club and evening entertainment but I cannot comment on these as we didn't use either.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be all inclusive and is happy to just go with the flow and relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    654
    285
    95
    52
See reviews for
621
706
35
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over Christmas with Husband, teenage daughter and two mothers so this hotel had a lot of different tastes to please. Initially when we were dropped off (free airport transfer if you book direct, thanks Melia!) and having played the old hotel transfer lottery where you are pleased not to be dropped off at other people's hotels, we were very pleased with the hotel and the reception. Lovely friendly ladies on reception and smooth check in. Luxury of a porter to take the cases to the room served to add to good impression.
We stayed 9 nights, the rooms were large and comfortable ( be sure to pay the extra and book a sea view) the mattresses were lovely and my husband had the best sleep in a hotel he has ever had. We asked for extra pillows and were spoilt for choice. Room was spotless for entire stay.
All inclusive was OK, restaurant food was not all that inspiring but edible. The cooking stations need to be better managed as there was never enough meat/fish being cooked with the result that the chefs cooked it too quickly once a que built up resulting in undercooked fish. Waiters were friendly .. Look out for Juan Carlos, he was great and made our Christmas morning by borrowing our festive antler headgear to wear with us( we were the only ones at breakfast with Antlers!)
Food at snack bar was a bit disappointing cheese and ham toasties only acceptable food really. husband did try the paella, however spent the night being violently ill. We both work in catering so know the dangers of Luke warm rice and considering it had been out for some time we put it down to this.
Pools lovely and no problems with the comfy sunbeds, bottom pool quite bracing though. Consider the chill out sun terraces for child free sunbathing.
All inclusive drinks, good choice. However, the bar staff seemed to think I was talking martian. Although I asked for things in Spanish and was polite, I found them very rude and I was quite upset by their attitudes on more that one occasion. I know that if I behaved like that in my job towards the customer I would have been fired. Perhaps it was a male thing as they were more than pleasant to my husband. In the end I stopped going up to the bar for fear of getting shouted at. All in all an alright hotel and good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view, and use the bottom gate to get down to the shops, but remember your key,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A week in the sun at this surprisingly classy all inclusive hotel was just the (pre xmas) ticket myself and my partner needed. We are all inclusive addicts with very high standards and in my opinion hotels like this one are few and far between. Some aspects of the hotel are worthy of 5 stars, for example, the exceptionally beautiful pools, sunbathing terraces, waitresses coming round to your sunbed with melons on skewers, and let’s not overlook the very coveted location on a hill above upmarket Playa del Duque – a posh enclave of very attractive luxury hotels a few minute’s walk from what must be one of Tenerife’s most beautiful stretches of sand. The star attraction of this hotel would be the incredible panoramic views all over the Las Américas area, at night it’s quite spectacular. We booked a sea view room which did not disappoint, it was smart, comfortable, modern and spacious, tastefully furnished (see pic) with a large sofa and comfy chair, the balcony looked over the smaller of the two pool areas and the sea beyond. The sunsets from here were gorgeous. The all inclusive buffet was good with a great selection of different foods, unlimited house wine by the bottle (you can pay a few more euros for a selection of better wines from a menu if you like, it’s good value however I personally found the house red to be very acceptable) and friendly, attentive service. The restaurant is low key but quite smart and has amazing views out over the resort. The bar is particularly lovely, again very smart and contemporary with comfy sofas and a large panoramic terrace. The drinks offered were very good, however I generally stuck to beer (Cruzcampo – delicious) and in the evenings, Baileys’s or coffee liqueur. There is no table service but the bar staff are friendly and smartly dressed. For lunch, we particularly enjoyed the selection from the pool bar – salads, kebab meat, pitta bread, pizzas, olives, etc, it was just what we needed. There is entertainment each night for those that want it, this varied in quality (I was accosted and dragged on stage by a psychotic belly dancer on one evening) the best of which was a particularly impressive flamenco group. The main pool is absolutely gorgeous, like a tropical lagoon with the mountains on one side and sweeping views of the sea and resort on the other. Beatriz at the pool bar deserves a special mention, she was was delightful, always smiling and very efficient. The pools are much deeper than average – be careful if you have young children, for adults, it’s perfect for swimming. We booked directly with melia.com – a very good deal. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room to guarantee a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel has beautiful grounds and is well located near to the fabulous Del Duque beach. It is clean and the staff are polite, but not particularly friendly or helpful. I think they are understaffed in many areas like the freshly made foods and bar.
(When I asked for an additional pillow, I was told there were none available?!)

The food is tasty although a bit like a school or hospital canteen, the fresh baked breads and pastries are wonderful, and there is plenty fresh fruit and salad, albeit coarsely presented.
The food at the pool snack bar, however, is inedible.
We had an overall pleasant stay but would not return mainly because the pool is not heated, and the kids entertainment is inadequate and the very average food, poor wine and poor quality cocktails using generic cheap alcohol.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbllach, Director General at Melia Jardines del Teide, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear friend of MJT,
We would really like to thank you for sharing your experiences with everyone and especially for your reviews, which always give us the opportunity to achieve continuous improvement.
We are looking forward to hearing news of your next stay. Thank you again!
See you soon!
Ruben Llach
TF+All Inclusive=MJT
365 days 4U
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is good, located on a hill. Please don't expect any kind of luxury or VIP touch.

We spent there 2 weeks and enjoyed it. The food was ok, especially cheese and fruits. No serious complaints about the service, just strange attitude of some staff members but nevermind.

There is a cortesy bus to the nearest beach La Playa del Duque but we didn't use it because the beach it's about 10 minutes away, anyway don't go to this hotel in case you have trouble walking. Somebody mentioned hard and uncomfortable beds - totally agree, it was like sleeping on the floor.

Also I would mention a huge soundproofing problem in case you have very sensitive hearing. You'll be able to hear everything your neighbour does. Be ready for this!

Anyway we had a good time there, would have stayed longer because the weather was great and sunny.

Room Tip: 837 room was very good.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbllach, Director General at Melia Jardines del Teide, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear friend of MJT,
We would really like to thank you for sharing your experiences with everyone and especially for your reviews, which always give us the opportunity to achieve continuous improvement.
We are looking forward to hearing news of your next stay. Thank you again!
See you soon!
Ruben Llach
TF+All Inclusive=MJT
365 days 4U
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have just returned from our 5th visit to this lovely hotel. My wife and I love Hotel Jardines Del Teide it ticks all the boxes for us. We had fantastic sunny weather for our entire stay

The panoramic views from the hotel are breathtaking and the all-inclusive is tremendous value for money with bottled wine, beer or soft drinks served at Lunch and Dinner. There is a varied selection of Salads, Fish and Meat Dishes available which covers individual tastes.
The bar with its beautiful Vistas is open till 1 a.m. Entertainment is provided every evening

The Hotel is spotless and located on a hill in the plushest area of Costa Adeje and caters for couples and families alike. A courtesy bus leaves regularly to and from the fabulous Play del Duque beach. Close by is the Plaza Del Duque shopping centre, which contains many quality designer shops.

As for the staff well they are all just fantastic and can not do enough for you Ivan the guest experience manager and the staff on reception all worked hard to make our stay very enjoyable

When we left and were going through security at the airport, we thought we were in trouble because two security guards beckoned us. However it was only that they had noticed ,we still had our all-inclusive wristbands on and they recognised they were from the Jardines Del Teide Hotel . They explained they loved going to the hotel themselves and were so enthusiastic about it.

You will not get better value/quality staying in this hotel unless you are willing to pay
3 times the price elsewhere. We enjoyed our holiday very much and look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbllach, Director General at Melia Jardines del Teide, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear friend of MJT,
We would really like to thank you for sharing your experiences with everyone and especially for your reviews, which always give us the opportunity to achieve continuous improvement.
We are looking forward to hearing news of your next stay. Thank you again!
See you soon!
Ruben Llach
TF+All Inclusive=MJT
365 days 4U
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

2 weeks hols,rooms basic,staff good, food had rabbit 4 times, ox tail 3 times .they are catering for eastern european tastes, never mind, 1 chef to cook fish/meat to go between grills.so you wait at each 4/5minutes a joke.food either cold/tepid an outbreak waiting to happen, dress code in restaurant evenings, there was none!!!!! swim suits -shorts anything went no one was in charge,canteens culture,complained to management ,just shrugged. Its a shame really because given proper management and supervision it could be a decent venue .Altogether not a good hotel to holiday in ,it certainly cost enough,only to be ruined by indifferent attitude and very poor food

Room Tip: try adeje gran
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbllach, Director General at Melia Jardines del Teide, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear friend of MJT,
We would really like to thank you for sharing your experiences with everyone and especially for your reviews, which always give us the opportunity to achieve continuous improvement.
We are looking forward to hearing news of your next stay. Thank you again!
See you soon!
Ruben Llach
TF+All Inclusive=MJT
365 days 4U
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Jardines del Teide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Jardines del Teide

Address: Avd. Agando, s/n | Urbanizacion Mirador del Duque, 38670 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Adeje
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Costa Adeje
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#17 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#18 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
#20 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Jardines del Teide 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Melia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Jardines del Teide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Jardines Del Teide Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Costa Adeje
Melia Hotel Costa Adeje
Melia Jardines Del Teide Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Jardines del Teide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.