We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Adult Only Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador to your Saves list
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Costa Adeje
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
cheshire
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Adult Only Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Spent a week at the hotel and had a thoroughly
enjoyable holiday.

We stayed in a superior room with sea view.
The room was very well appointed with a small
sitting area and an excellent bathroom with walk
in shower and bath.
The room had a lot of character and a very pleasing
mediterranean colour scheme.

The food throughout the stay was excellent.Whilst
not a lover of buffets I thought the breakfast choice
was excellent.
For dinner the starter/pudding are buffet and the
main course was a choice of waiter served or
buffet. This arrangement worked very well and the
quality was very good.

The hotel staff were attentive and helpful throughout
our stay.

Although the hotel was full there is so much space
in the grounds that you would not realise it.

My one disappointment were the a la carte
restaurants.Guests on half board were allowed 2
visits during the week to the 2 a la carte restaurants.
(Only 1 was open each night).We felt that choice,
quality of food and service did not enhance the
holiday experience.The main restaurant had more
atmosphere and food quality was generally better.

Whilst Tenerife would not be our personal top choice
as a holiday destination I would have no hesitation in
revisiting the Mirador for a relaxing week in the sun....
with the bonus of no kids around .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    148
    50
    20
    8
See reviews for
63
582
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Stayed for a week at the El Mirador and was most impressed. This adults only Hotel is an excellently located Hotel on the Playa del Duque with a small number of restaurants, bars and shops nearby. the service was of a very good standard ( free fruit ; Cava and newspapers supplied in your room at regular intervals), the staff were friendly, available and helpful ( rang regularly to check that all was ok). We had a deluxe suite (free upgrade) which had a lounge, walk-in wardrobe, separate bathroom and bedroom with a four poster bed. Our large balcony with patio furniture had an elevated view out to sea and was a great place to relax and watch the sun go down. Breakfast was above average with a plentiul supply and choice ( including Cava again if you wanted it at that time of the day). The pool area was not amongst the largest that I have experienced but the landscaping made it feel quite private and there was never a need to 'bag' sunbeds. Whenever we had the opporunity to chat with the locals, they would often ask where we were staying and generally held that the Mirador was the best Hotel on the island, even when compared with the Bahia del Duque. Only occasional niggle was the noise caused by people walking on the tiled flooring late at night when trying to sleep. Small price to pay in all fairness.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flims, Switzerland
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

The hotel is next to the famous Gran Hotel Bahia del Duque and looks from outside somehow similar. We stayed in all the three exklusiv hotels (Mirador, Duque, Vincci) for two nights in each hotel. Result: El Mirador is extrem special, you like it or not, check that first. The entrance to the reception is below level like you drive into the parking garage. The big lobby looks some how las vegas style. The service for the bar inside and outside is occupied from the same person and is also depot for the pool towels. It works, but you have to like that. The quality of the rooms is good. We needed to change the room, which was no problem. The staff is helpful but the service quality is not five star standard. The Hotel "Adults only" is very relaxing and you have your privat space. The breakfast area is very nice. The buffet is standard not fantastic. There were a plate with mangos and all were crumpy. Next day, the same mango were there. Nobody took them. Overall, the hotel is nice but you pay for that. Overall, we prefer to pay more and go to the Bahia del Duque or pay less and go to Vincci la Plantation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Great hotel in a lovely area. 15 mins walk to the front where the main bars are. Hotel clean and friendly , entertainment 2 star. Food always hot and fresh, half board allows you to have lunch instead of evening meals, which is great as there are loads to choose from. Ask for a room on the sunny side as sea view doesn't guarantee you one! Excellent value, most travellers were all inclusive which may be worth it as the drinks were expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed here for just one week with my husband and two teenage daughters (14 & 16). Had two interconnecting Junior Suites with full sea view. The hotel is really elegant, relaxed and the staff very friendly. We have stayed in many of the other sea front hotels in this area but I think this is now my favourite. I can usually find at least one thing to moan about but the Mirador was perfect for me. The restaurant right on the sea front just below the Hotel is fab also, just need to save up so I can go back.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

The hotel was perfect for a relaxing and peaceful break and in an excellent location for a lovely beach and restaurants and shops. We chose B&B and we ate in the Italian restaurant below the hotel a couple of times called La Noona, which was excellent. They offer you 10% discount for staying at the hotel. We also ate in the oriental restaurant, which was also good, but found the food to be on the cold side. There were plenty of sunbeds to choose from around the pool and plenty of space. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Our only gripe would be that ladies refrain from wearing shoes with heels in their rooms as the floors are tiled. This can be a nuisance to neighbouring guests as we had only lady who walked constantly around her room for about an hour late at night one evening. We can only assume she was unpacking or packing as she constantly slammed the cupboards shut! No consideration for other guests! The guests on the other side of her also complained. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We chose the hotel for its size, adults only policy, apparent comfort and star raing. Overall we were not disappointed but suggest it is more 4 than 5 star. The decor is a little frayed arounf the edges and service, whilst generally good, sometimes lacked the "edge" you should expect in the top hotels. Nevertheless we had a great holiday. The staff were very attentive and friendly, making us feel welcome guests. We stayed on a B&B tariff, eating only breakfast in the hotel. We found the breakfast, sittting outside, to be very good, with plenty of variety (and especially good when accompanied by a glass of Cava). There is a wide choice of restaurants of different types and prices within easy walking distance of the hotel.
Our room was very spacious albeit with the usual lack of tea-making facilities and abysmal TV. Our balcony, in common with most if not all, had a gorgeous view over the beach, the Atlantic Ocean and the island of La Gomera. The pool area was served by staff who were prompt providing additional sun-beds, if required and bar-staff serving drinks.
This hotel is a haven for people looking for a relatively quiet hotel (although you will hear music from the nearby bars and restaurants through the evening). This was part of its charm for us. Its location is ideal for access to the beach, restaurants, cafes and bars and a prmenade along which you can walk as far as Los Christianos, seeing every different aspect of the holidays Tenerife can offer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador

Address: Avda. Bruselas s/n, 38660 Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Costa Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Adeje
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Spa Hotel in Costa Adeje
#4 Luxury Hotel in Costa Adeje
#8 Family Hotel in Costa Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, attentiveness and elegance on the island of Tenerife (Canary Islands, Spain), is how the Grand Hotel El Mirador is defined, a boutique hotel with 120 Suites, belonging to the exclusive IBEROSTAR Grand Collection, located in a prime location in Costa Adeje across from the internationally famous Playa del Duque. Designed for adults only so they can enjoy themselves and relax peacefully, this intimate and personal 5-star deluxe hotel offers 72,000 square feet of unique, extensive gardens, large swimming pool, solarium, a 3,300 square foot Spa, sports facilities, suites and VIP area (La Balconada), a restaurant for every palate, attentive, personal service by highly qualified staff. The Grand El Mirador, an unforgettable enclave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Adeje
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador Tenerife/Costa Adeje

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.