We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Carlsberg did fish & chips...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newcott Fish and Chips

Newcott Fish and Chips
Old Little Chef, Prees Heath, Whitchurch SY13 3JT, England
01948 258082
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 41 Restaurants in Whitchurch
Cuisines: Pizza, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If Carlsberg did fish & chips...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

8 of us went there early Saturday evening, quite busy, the staff seated us without fuss. Quite surprised at the large menu and even desserts on offer.

We ordered a combination of fish & chips (cod is highly recommended) kebabs (lamb & chicken) as well a large meat feast pizza. Oh, beers all round too.

Food was lovely couldn't fault it to be honest, my chicken kebab was delish and I have to add not greasy at all for this type of food. The rest of the table were of the same opinion too, pleasantly shocked.

Service was great, considering they were quite busy and all orders were spot on even when most of customised our orders.

I have to say this place is like a hidden gem, it's clean, friendly, great service and most importantly tasty grub. Next time I think we will book a table in advance though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Perfect Every Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have enjoyed perfect fish and chips at every visit to Newcott be that At the Prees or Ternhill shop. Service is always fast and friendly the and the food always cooked perfectly. Staff are eager to please so let them know if you have a special request regarding the cooking of your food.
A very long menu should satisfy the most discerning chip shop a-'fish'-anado (ha ha) and with its smart restaurant surroundings we prefer to eat in, there is also a licensed bar and ice-cream to follow. Great place to take family or meet friends for a chip shop treat. This really is THE tip top spot for fish and chips.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chip shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have been to Newcott several times usually coming from grand children visit and I must say it is one of the best I have been to, The restaurant is second to none and the service is very good.You arrive, find a table then one of the friendly staff com to give you a menu which as a good selection,after a short while the staff come back to take your order and ask what drinks you would like (from a cup of tea to beer or wine). After another short spell your food arrives which is well worth the money and very enjoyable.When you have finished you go to the bar to pay were they ask if everything was ok.We have been a few times and never had a bad meal the fish and the southanfried chicking are really good so I would recommend Newcott to any one passing on the A41 at Press Heath.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Chippy ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the 5th September. It was a really good meal. Three of us went and we were fed for less than £20. The food was really lovely. It was fresh, hot and served by friendly staff. The restaurant was clean and tidy. The toilets were also spotless and well maintained. They deserve their Hygiene rating of 5. Although they were fairly busy with a steady stream of clients we were served really quickly and the food tasted really nice. Not greasy at all. There is a fantastic choice on the menu and all at reasonable prices. I will definitely be visiting there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spot on kebab!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

First visit after a recommendation. Spot on kebab and chips, will be returning for more. Seems a good clean place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newcott Fish and Chips also viewed

Whitchurch, Shropshire
 
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Whitchurch, Shropshire
 

Been to Newcott Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newcott Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.