We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Horse and Jockey

The Horse and Jockey
Grindley Brook, Whitchurch, England
01948 662723
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 45 Restaurants in Whitchurch
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run country pub that welcomes Children, dogs & mudddy boot. We concentrate on producing quality, home cooked fresh pub food made from local produce at competitive prices. We have 8 ever changing real ales, along with quality wines and refreshments for all your requirements.
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have visited this pub on several occasions and as always our most recent visit was great. The food is really good and not overpriced. The decor is lovely and the staff very friendly. Recommended

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    35
    10
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Our local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Helen and Steve are doing the job right! A choice of eight real ales, a varied menu, reasonably priced, and a warm welcome. Oh, and don't forget Blaze, the pub dog!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Food very poor, not a patch on how it was a few months ago”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This pub has been a firm favourite of ours for the last couple of years, usually we manage to visit once every three months or so. Visited today for an early supper with the children. The Thai fish cakes were dreadful, overcooked and served with some stir fry slop. Have had this before and it came with a salad and had been very pleasant but not today. With our order we also had another fish meal and had to inform the staff the fish was tasteless and so rubbery in texture. Such a pity, we won't visit again, not sure what has happened in the kitchen but it is a real shame from the last visit we made around 4/5 months ago.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A bit fancy for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good food, but a bit fancy for me - I prefer simple pub food. My meal was served on some sort of chopping board, rather than a plate. They have an excellent range of beers from several different breweries; however, some of the locals who were enjoying the beer were using very bad language and this was not challenged by the staff, who were otherwise very pleasant and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lovely food close to canal & locks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

havent been in here for years so the refurbishment was a welcome surprise excellent service plenty of choice good value very accomidating when i wished to change some of my main course will be back

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse and Jockey also viewed

Whitchurch, Shropshire
Whitchurch, Shropshire
 

Been to The Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horse and Jockey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.