We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit fancy for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Horse and Jockey

The Horse and Jockey
Grindley Brook, Whitchurch, England
01948 662723
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Whitchurch
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: We are a family run country pub that welcomes Children, dogs & mudddy boot. We concentrate on producing quality, home cooked fresh pub food made from local produce at competitive prices. We have 8 ever changing real ales, along with quality wines and refreshments for all your requirements.
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bit fancy for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good food, but a bit fancy for me - I prefer simple pub food. My meal was served on some sort of chopping board, rather than a plate. They have an excellent range of beers from several different breweries; however, some of the locals who were enjoying the beer were using very bad language and this was not challenged by the staff, who were otherwise very pleasant and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    29
    7
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
w
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely food close to canal & locks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

havent been in here for years so the refurbishment was a welcome surprise excellent service plenty of choice good value very accomidating when i wished to change some of my main course will be back

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food and venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We met some friends here for a chat and lunch on Sunday. What a lovely pub and restaurant, we were made very welcome. We noticed that many of the tables were reserved but it was no problem for the staff to sort out a table for us to sit and eat at. It was pleasing to find that the owners were quite happy to allow dogs into the pub, in fact they advertise that muddy boots, children and dogs are welcome. We all enjoyed our meals, which were a selection from the main and light bites menus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bank holiday lunch for 4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent lunch all four of us really enjoyed everything, steak was very nice, staff were happy and helpful. We will be returning soon !
Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lovely warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a dog friendly pub, and was recommended to us by some friends as a friendly value for money place to eat. We stopped off recently on our way to Chester on what was a wet miserable day. How refreshing to receive a warm welcome, and a "warm" pub. The food was nicely presented , and we thought was very good value. The owners both took time out to come and chat with us, which was really nice.. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse and Jockey also viewed

 
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Whitchurch, Shropshire
 

Been to The Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Horse and Jockey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.