We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bickerton Poacher

Bickerton Poacher
Wrexham Rd, Malpas SY14 8BD, England
01829 720226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in Malpas
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
essex uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stopped here for a spot of lunch enroute to Essex .never been before . Ordered fish and chips and my better half had lasagne . Both meals were of good quality .staff friendly .will defiantly come back for more when oop north .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiggygotone, Owner at Bickerton Poacher, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us what you thought about your visited to the Bickerton Poacher. Its always improtant for us to here what paople think. Hopefully you will recommend us to your freinds. Maybe you could stay in our lovely Bed and Breakfast or our Campsite next time your visiting from Essex. Take a look. bickertonpoacher@btconnect.com
Many Thanks Tracy & Ian Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    40
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited here Saturday with some friends,after having made a reservation ealier in the week. On arrival the lady who we spoke to (found out later she was the landlady) we found to be very abrupt to the point at times of being rude. Our main meal was ok, for desert I ordered the bread and butter pudding, which was nothing like any bread and butter pudding i have ever had before, it was more like a chelsea bun with custard poured over it, it was very very heavy, and I was unable to eat it. I than ordered coffee, which was so bitter i could not drink it and sent it back.Would not eat here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiggygotone, Owner at Bickerton Poacher, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thankyou for taking time to tell us about your visit to The Bickerton Poacher. We do pride ourselves on the service we offer tp all our Customers. On this occation we quite clearly got it wrong.
Our Bread and Butter Pudding is made fresh on site and the one you had was quite cleary not to your liking.
We do hope you will viit us again and let us show you our usual high standard of service we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Bickerton Poacher dear? Yes please...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Christmas day, any day, always worth the visit. Great Carvery. Best for miles. Do not understand negative comments.
The skittle alley is also a good night out

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiggygotone, Owner at Bickerton Poacher, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your support. It means a lot to us and our staff who work so hard to deliver good service and wholesome home cooked food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We called at the Bickerton Poacher for lunch whilst on a short break in the area. The service is fantastic- nothing is too much trouble. The food was of excellent quality and nicely presented. The pub itself is welcoming and comfortable. Will go back next time we are in the area. Special mention for James the gentleman who attended to us- second to none!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sandstone trail overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Bickerton Poacher. Comfortable bed, clean and spacious room with a huge bathroom. We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was the BEST steak we have tasted in a long time, well presented and well served. Thank you James the manager for all your help from start to finish. Excellent stay!! Glenise & Andrew Stokes.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bickerton Poacher also viewed

 

Been to Bickerton Poacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bickerton Poacher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.