We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun at the Farm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malpas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Egerton, Malpas SY14 8AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Malpas B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun at the Farm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a two night stay here 2 adults and 2 children and stayed in the family room. The room is nicely decorated in traditional tasteful style with a four poster bed - lots of character. Cows, rabbits ducks, doves and chickens all around the farm house and outbuildings. This for my urban family was great.

The English cooked breakfast was very good - fresh eggs, good quality bacon, nothing too was too much trouble and Jan made us feel very welcome.

They did forget to service our room which wasn't a disaster given we were there for 2 nights and the breakfast room was chilly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

By far one of the best B&B’s that I have ever been too. My family and I were originally meant to be staying at the Cholmondeley arms however due to a late booking my girlfriend and I were left without a room. So we ended up staying at Manor farm B&B instead and were quite glad that we did. Overall Manor Farm was a great place to stay (better than what we would have got at Cholmondeley arms) and we look forward to staying there again.
Staff – Very polite. Very Friendly. Not a word to say against them and look forward to seeing them again. The nice lady even put a fresh cold milk (in a vacuum flask) in our bedroom rather than UHT milk.
Room – From what I could see the B&B is split into sections. The main house had a number of rooms for guests and the main breakfast room. There was also a smaller room (the snug room) which my partner and I used for breakfast, according to the owner it was the warmer room for the time of year. We had our own table against the windows looking across the lawns.
There is also a large building outside that had rooms for guests and it was in one of these that we stayed. Our room was very large, the furniture was beautiful and the bathroom was pristine. Each room has its own door to the outside world which allows you to crawl/stagger/slip into you room at late hours without worry about waking up anyone else.
From what I understand there are also 2 holiday cottages however we didn’t get to see them. If they are anything like the rest of the B&B then I am sure they will be great.
Food – The breakfast was a Full English breakfast, toast and cereal. We could barely move at the end of it and it was good food.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Cholmondeley" room and we found this very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We were looking for a stopover for our trip from Ireland to Essex. We have four children (age 10, 8, 7 and 12months) & its almost impossible to find anywhere that can accommodate us comfortably in one room so we were delighted to hear that Manor Farm could fit us all in. An easy drive from Holyhead, breaking the motorway journey, we were just hoping for a comfortable bed and a decent breakfast - but Manor Farm really went far beyond our previous "stopover" experiences. The setting is beautiful and if we had time I would have liked to explore the surrounding countryside. Our room had its own front door separate from the main farmhouse which is really handy when you are in and out to the car for bits and pieces all evening (parents of young children will understand this!). The room was spacious, with a four poster double and two single beds, with an extra "zed-bed" for us & room for a travel cot - and essential for travelling with children, a spacious bathroom with a lovely bath and shower. (The four poster was rather soft for our preference but that's just a personal thing and hardly much to complain about!) But what makes Manor Farm stand out is the hospitality - we didn't meet Tim but Jan was so welcoming, we had breakfast in the farmhouse kitchen as we were staying at a quiet time and she thought we'd be more comfortable there than in the dining room. Breakfast was delicious, a surprise when you've eaten so many "average" fry-ups. There was no high-chair, which Jan did apologise for, but we managed without one. The grounds are beautiful, the children enjoyed seeing the chickens and pheasants.The Bickersham Poacher is only 5 minutes drive away, very handy for an evening meal. We were so pleased with our stay that we booked a second night for our return trip - and Jan even remembered how our children liked their eggs cooked! Highly recommended, although double check the directions, the website names a pub which we presumed has changed name so we had to rely on the sat-nav.

Room Tip: The Cholmondeley Room is great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This impeccably kept non-working farm is furnished to a high standard. We enjoyed the drive down the well-maintained driveway, past a tiny gazebo-like house to the beautiful farmhouse. Mrs. Jan Dillworth greeted us at the door and invited us into the elegant living area for tea and biscuits. As we admired the beautifully groomed yards out the large window we chatted about the surrounding area and felt as if we were honored guests as we heard about the history of the farm and some of the current goings-on. Jan told us about the Sandstone Trail, which passes the farm and the Chomondeley Castle and the Chomondeley Pub, where we decided to have dinner.
Upstairs our well-appointed ensuite room was beautifully furnished and we were very comfortable. Jan offers a few self-catering cottages as well as 4 caravan sites.
Before heading to the pub we took a stroll around the lovely gardens, taking photographs, enjoying the beautiful bushes and flowers and watching the two pens of chickens being fed by a helper.
Next morning our breakfast was delicious and served well by Jan. We greatly enjoyed our genial table companions. Manor Farm is highly recommended to discerning travelers who enjoy a friendly host, elegant surroundings and a comfortable sleep.
£65. for two. September 2010.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011 via mobile

What a beautiful setting and charming host she could not do enough for us. Our room was lovely full of character with windows looking out over stunning countryside. The breakfast was first class and thats coming from a from a sausage connoisseur. I would recommend this B&B to anybody wanting to explore the Cheshire countryside or as we did spend the day at Bangor races.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, Surrey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights as my son was getting married in the Chapel at Cholmondeley Castle.

When we drove up to the farmhouse my breath was taken away. It is in a beautiful setting with lovely gardens and acres of countryside surrounding. A herd of cows in the field. Young goslings on the pond and the chickens clucking whilst making their pretty blue and brown eggs for breakfast. The building itself is gorgeous and houses a huge collection of lovely ornaments - all meticulously dusted and clean!

We had a lovely comfy 4-poster bed and a big flat screen tv. Bathroom was exceptionally clean and spacious.

Jan and her son Tim are extremely friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. I was even able to select a rose from the garden for my wedding corsage!

Breakfast was terrific. A choice of cereals and orange juice, followed by Egg, bacon, sausage, mushrooms and tomato, followed by toast and a huge range of jamsand marmalades. Fresh coffee and tea to finish off!

We were in a party of 8 people and Jan remembered all our names straight off after introductions. Such a personal touch.

If I were to fault the place at all I would mention that the tv in my brother's room did not work and there was no full length mirror, or dressing table mirror in our room. But it would be churlish to let you think that this in any way spoiled our stay.

We would definitely go back there and hope that we may do so in the future. Our stay with Jan and Tim definitely enhanced our trip to the Cholmondeley Estate for the fantastic wedding of my son and new daughter-in-law!

Room Tip: It's all beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Being retired and inclined to touring quietly and economically around the UK, we found Manor Farm just about as good a B and B as one has a right to expect. A very tranquil environment, plenty of convenient parking, a clean and discerningly furnished room with 'en suite', a comfortable bed, an excellent breakfast and a garden for guests to use which has in microcosm some of the qualities of more august addresses in Cheshire. Cholmondeley Castle is just down the road. As for the hosts, one is unlikely to meet kinder and more gentle people anywhere. If all B and Bs were as good as this, even good hotels would go out of business.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages

Address: Egerton, Malpas SY14 8AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Malpas
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Malpas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming farmhouse set in lovely grounds close to the Bickerton Hills, Cholmondeley Castle and the Sandstone Trail. Convenient for Chester and North Wales, Fishing available nearby. En-suite rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor Farm B&B And Holiday Cottages Malpas, Cheshire, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Farm B&B and Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.