We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forts of India

Forts of India
Market House | Chester Road, Malpas, England
01948 820389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Malpas
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have used this restaurant numerous times. The staff are all very friendly and always helpful. The menu and quality of food is excellent. Try the VIP menu it's very good value

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our first visit to the Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We've been meaning to go to this restaurant for ages as its 20 minutes drive from us, and we are so glad we did. My husband is a massive fan of curry and loved his chicken tikka korai which was one of the best he'd ever had. I opted for my usual chicken tikka shaslick which was by far the best I have ever tasted. Everything is fresh, beautifully cooked and the service fantastic. Great for an intimate meal for 2 or a larger gathering as the tables are well spaced in different areas. It's advertised as a bar/restaurant outside and although I'd definitely recommend going there for a curry, I'd probably stick to a pub for just a drink as at nearly £4 a pint it could become an expensive night. That said the food was very reasonably priced at £7-8 a curry plus rice especially considering the quality. We will be returning very soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great meal !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Having found this restaurant by accident , we were surprised, when asked had we booked ? We, understand now ! the food was great, the atmosphere was very friendly ! the cost very reasonable ! I will be going back, and recommend it to anyone !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Malpas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“simply first class!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the moment you enter, the whole experience is 1st class, the welcome is always friendly and the staff are always immaculately turned out. The food is some of the best in the area - We especially like the VIP meal, complete with either Baileys or a Brandy (even warmed the glass!) at the end of the meal.
Even if you have just called for a pre ordered take away - you often come away with a smile on your face following the friendly banter

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food with excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This has to be the best Indian restaurant we have eaten in. The food was excellent with pleasant service. The resaurant was very busy when we arrived but our meal was served in a reasonable time. Full marks to those that run the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forts of India also viewed

 

Been to Forts of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forts of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.