We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derelict & overgrown” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Village de Napoleon Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chanthaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Village de Napoleon Resort
Save
You added Le Village de Napoleon Resort to your Saves list
Hat Laem Sing, Chanthaburi, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Chanthaburi B&B and Inns
lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Derelict & overgrown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We have just returned from a great holiday to Laem Sing, the last time we were there this hotel was up an running but now it is closed & derelict.
I think it was up for sale.
There are plenty of good bungalows to rent close by at a fraction of the cost of what it was to stay here.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Nice owner & friendly and good service & beautiful rooms & good restaurant. The owner gives good information about surroundings and what to do and if you want arranges transport. Possiblity to rent bicycles aswell.
There is a lovely beach just across the road were they serve drinks and food & most of the time you have the beach to yourself. I stayed 5 days in the beginning of my holidays and after that I could start travelling to Cambodia in a total relaxed state!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I came with my pregnant wife for a relaxing couple of days.The owner is obviously not a profesional but was ok if not over friendly.But the resort it self was hugely overppriced for the area.
The whole resort lacked imagination in planning and decor,The menu again was overpriced and The French Restaurant was just an overpriced international menu.
The room itself was ok but lacked a phone or any English speaking channel on the TV .The small fridge just sat on the floor-no cupboard.
The five rooms were all in one terraced block which was obviously the first stage as the stuctures on the roof showed that another floor had been planned-but not finished as the resort had run out of money.
But what made us leave was that we saw an Eastern European couple in the pool with their dog-according to the staff for the second day running,I realized that this dog was the same that was wet when we arrived and came to try to sit on us.
I am a dog lover but I have never come accross any civilized country where dogs are allowed in small public pools.So I went to report it to reception.
The ownners wife came but by then the dog was out of the pool so she said nothing.
I asked the couple which country they were from.
The rather overmuscled man came over and threatenlngly said what had it to do with me-this lead to an argument when I said that no country allowed dogs in public pools.
He the threateed to hit me,coming out of the pool and right up in my face, only being stopped by the Thai staff and his wife although she continued to shout abuse-largely about my age and that I could not get such a young wife in Europe!
We promptly checked out -the owners only contibution was to tell evryone to calm down,

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our group of six (3 adults, 3 children) received very personalized service. The staff met us at the car to carry our bags to our rooms. We had requested extra beds and those were already in the rooms. The owner was helpful with general information about the area and gave excellent driving directions. The rooms were very clean. Food at the restaurant was varied, delicious and reasonably priced. The private beach has covered seating for meals or watching the sunset.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great place to spend few days relaxing in the neighborhood.

First woah is the room size, decoration and furniture, way higher than one could expect in this quiet part of Thailand!

Second is the restaurant and the food, well supervised by a real french "maitre d'hotel" (yes yes). The breakfast is also very nice, far from the express buffet generally available in such type of resort.

Third is the beach, very clean, quiet.

Great deal!!! I recommend 200%

guy

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAPOLEON1951, owner Patrick at Le Village de Napoleon Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
thank You Because your review I'm now number ONE
in Chanthaburi hotels now
so I will keep attention to stay on that position
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Unexpectedly in a self-drive situation we arrived at Laem Sing Beach and discovered this lovely hotel/restaurant. Napoleon Village is run by Patrick & Pom who combine French & Thai style and cuisine in excellent way.
Our story : initially we stayed for 2 nights in a beautiful decorated luxury room with a very comfortable bed and enjoyed a superb X-mas dinner. After this nice experience we drove to Koh Chang (1.15 hr to the ferry). However our internet hotel booking was a hoax - so after a louzy night at Ban Thai Resort (www.banthaikohchang.com) we left despite we pre-paid for a week. Their website is deceiving and lonely-planet references out of date, holiday is important for us and we need to enjoy every day so we decided to go back to Napoleon Village! Here we stayed another 10 days.
More information about our this lovely place :
At the Spa you can enjoy nice massages provided by local people at local rates (you pay the people directly not the hotel). Also laundry service is done locally and the sheets, towels etc. smell delicious. Nightlife in this sereen environment is limited but at a 10 minute walk you find a pine-tree beach with many local restaurants serving local spicy dishes.
Other activities are feeding monkey's (5 minute by car), visit Oasis seaworld for Dolphin shows, boat trip to explore sea & riverside, visit Chantaburi (25km) for temples, waterfalls or department stores :)
In this case, small is beautiful and we want to come back many more times!
Thank you Patrick & Pom for an enjoyable holiday!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buri Ram
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

Very nice hotel. Quiet location. Clean and quiet beach, no jetskis, banana boats etc. Very good food. Have stayed there before and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Village de Napoleon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Village de Napoleon Resort

Address: Hat Laem Sing, Chanthaburi, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chanthaburi Province > Chanthaburi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Chanthaburi
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice quiet boutique hotel with 7 rooms located 3 hours east of Bangkok. In a small village of fishermen - very nice for getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Village de Napoleon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.