We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Boulevard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
The Boulevard Hotel
Main Road, Bistupur, Jamshedpur 831001, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Jamshedpur
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had stayed here for 3 days while I was on a business trip to Jamshedpur. choose this hotel as it was near-by to my office.
This is a decent hotel, Rooms are large and not so clean. hotel staff are prompt and helpful. Food is very good, one thing I liked is their service which is very fast.. food is there in room within few minutes of you calling them and the taste and quality is good., this is surprising. Just a decent place to stat for few nights

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
2
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel with my son for 8 days. Our stay began on a sour note. We were given a room which was dirty, badly maintained and had a sub standard bathroom. Considering we paid a decent rate for this room, I was aghast to see that the bathroom had open drainage. The water from the sink flowed on to the bathroom floor, flooding and wetting one's feet. The WC did not have either a tap, a jet spray or a roll!. One was expected to use the toilet after making provisions for its usage! When I spoke with the manager, I was told that it was the same scenario in that range of rooms. Since we had no option, we had to pay extra and go for a better room.

Those on a slightly lower budget should seriously consider before option for non AC standard room. I am not sure what standard it met!

The upgraded room was clean and well maintained. The room service was good. The reception staff was helpful and attentive. Except for wifi issues for 2 days, our stay was pleasant. The TV reception was a major issue we struggled with through out our stay. The channel options were few and the English channel options were even less and with poor picture quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

stayed in dis wonderful place for 4 days. run by sh ronald d'costa , this oldest hotel of d city has an old world charm with all modern amenities to make one stay comfortable. the service is impeccable and the food reasonably priced and in good quantity an delicious. the staff prompt , helpful and responsive . ideally and centrally located this hotel is a "must stay" for all visiting the city. i surely would again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

From the outside the hotel looks cosy and impressive. It is situated in a very good location too. But these are the only good things. The room I was allotted was big but rather dingy. The sheets were not clean. The AC made a lot of noise. And the bathroom was also dingy. It is highly priced for the amenities and service provided.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
555 helpful votes 555 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Had to stay at this place due to unavailability of rooms in the preferred hotel. Room was not at all clean, floor was dirty walls were horrible. Though they have maintained nice reception to impress the walk-ins guest.

The washroom was nightmare, snails and cockroaches were roaming like its a park for them. Had a very tough time in the hotel. Just spend 1 night.

Staff and management doesn't bother about guests comfort. Food was okay which was served in the room service. Overall pretty bad experience, would not recommend to business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachberry, Owner at The Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
We regret that your stay at our hotel was uncomfortable and you felt the room was not up to mark.
If you could provide us with the dates of your stay and room category, it would help us improve ourselves and ensure that future guests do not face similar situations.
Thanking you sincerely,
Management
The Boulevard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was my 3rd stay at Boulevard. Inspite of not getting the room category for which I'd made advance booking (twice in 3 visits) the stay was convenient.

The hotel property is located at the Bistupur Road, walkable distance from the main market and 20 mins from the Railway Station. The local transport to TELCO or city's other industrial hubs is frequently available just outside the hotel.

The hotel is an old building, resonating british era, recently renovated but the rooms are big & cover just about basic necessities. The room has only 1 mobile charging point at a not-so-convenient height. The bathroom needs a revamp, what with huge (plumbing) crack covering the front wall. The room is kept clean, but the outside view from windows is of hotel's garbage dump with vultures & other scavengers. The food is a non-vegetarian's delight, but the vegetarian me too had a decent meal from the hotel's restaurant. Being on a main road does not affect the sleep quality.

Overall, a convenient stay promised.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachberry, Owner at The Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your feedback on our hotel and your time spent reviewing us.
Your advice on a lack of charging points as well as bathroom repair has been noted. Renovation work is being planned in order to see to the matters mentioned.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Sincerely yours
Management
The Boulevard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Sitting in Bishtupur (heart of Jamshedpur / Tata), Boulevard is a neat hotel. Courteous staff, simply but elegantly done rooms, and good restaurants. It has charming interiors, and a prompt room service.

What makes it a great place to stay is it's location: Bishtupur. With CCD, and a bakery shop underneath it, Boulevard becomes a pretty good place to stay at.

And the tariff is quite reasonable. Considering the irrational pricing of other hotels in Jamshedpur, it is a relief that this hotel exists., did the entire cast and crew of "Udaan" (film) stay at this hotel.

Not for nothing

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachberry, Owner at The Boulevard Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review about our hotel and we greatly appreciate your effort in writing about us.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Management
The Boulevard Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boulevard Hotel

Address: Main Road, Bistupur, Jamshedpur 831001, India
Location: India > Jharkhand > Jamshedpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Jamshedpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.