We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start to the WHW” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Foot Forward

Best Foot Forward
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milngavie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Best Foot Forward
Save
You added Best Foot Forward to your Saves list
I Dougalston Gardens, Milngavie, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Milngavie B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent start to the WHW”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed with Morag and after over 10 years the warm welcome was the same. We had a beautifully clean room with a lovely jar of chocolate cookies! We walked into town and bought a take away for our tea, we ate it out on the terrace / deck and Morag kindly lent us cutlery and glasses for our wine. We had a lovely filling breakfast the following morning and enjoyed the chat with fellow walkers also staying. Conveniently located just a few minutes walk from the town centre and the start of the Way ..... would definitely recommend. Jenny.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    33
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
29
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A very warm welcome from Morag and her staff; clean, spacious room and bathroom; excellent breakfast and a great start to our trek along the West Highland Way. Especial thanks for the restaurant recommendations in Milngavie (we had a good meal at an Italian named Andiamo between the railway station and Best Foot Forward). Why stay in a characterless chain when you could have first class stay here?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

A reassuring start to our holiday. Morag and her staff were very helpful and friendly - especially reassuring about "Travel-Lite". The bed was very comfortable. En suite was cramped, but nevertheless clean and well maintained. Breakfast OK. Did struggle to get a decent wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Four of us let two rooms just before starting the WHW. The location is a reasonable walk from the train station and close by the trail head. The rooms were nice although not spacious. One of our party had flown in from the states that day and BA lost her bag with almost all her gear. Mrs. McNeill personally did battle with BA over the bag and the airline was the worst for it. She then ransacked her husband's and daughter's possessions to try and outfit our friend. In short, we could not have asked for a more helpful hostess. Her breakfast was one of the best along the WHW too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alethia1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Morag is a great hostess, and her B&B is a perfect place to start the WHW. She let us in hours before check-in, the room was huge and beautiful, the en suite bathroom lovely, the breakfast was huge and plentiful and very well prepared for a day of hiking, and we were able to meet a number of other walkers we walked much of the way with. We walked with our 11 month old baby, and Morag was more than prepared for that - with a spacious room, and a travel cot for the baby. It was a perfect way to start the WHW!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Morag made our pre WHW nights stay a relaxed, comfortable & welcoming experience. The steep drive to the door was excellent preparation for the walk ahead. Morags wealth of experiencing in meeting the needs of many a WHW walker, made us much less anxious about setting of, our luggage carriers & and chatting to fellow walkers.
Our room was more than comfortable & well appointed, the local smoked salmon for breakfast was delicious & the packed lunches a total bargain (Huge!!!).
We would thoroughly recommend Best Foot Forward.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a triple room, for three of us, talk about spacious!! It was a perfect place to stay on our first night before we started The Way. As I mentioned, our room was huge, en-suite too was spacious, which was excellent, when there are three adults sharing. We also liked the little added extras, including the jar of cookies! To sum up, Breakfast was excellent, rooms were bright and clean, beds were comfortable and Morag is the most wonderful and knowledgeable host. What more do you need?!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Foot Forward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Foot Forward

Address: I Dougalston Gardens, Milngavie, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Milngavie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milngavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as West View Guest House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Best Foot Forward Milngavie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Foot Forward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.