We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Royal Cristina

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Royal Cristina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Royal Cristina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Arenas de Bilbao s/n, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 75 hotels in Playa de Palma
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“weekend break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed for only two nights over my birthday on half board. On arrival the receptionist wished me a *Happy Birthday* and backed up her good wishes with upgrading us from a superior room to a suite.
All personnel have been very professional and friendly at all times.
Food and beverages axcellent.

Room Tip: Try and book a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Royal Cristina, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on you recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina hotel, it is always rewarding to read that our guests have enjoyed their holidays among us.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being our hotel's main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Last but not least, we would like to thank you for pointing out our gastronomy offer as in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of typical local dishes as well as the best international delights in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Once again, thank you for your visit, we send you our most heartfelt birthday wishes and look forward to welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide at your earliest convenience.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    166
    84
    13
    17
See reviews for
130
110
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here for a late long cheap weekend break and it was fine for this purpose.
The hotel guests were primarily German, this we do not see as a problem. We had arrived at the start of the Oktoberfest beer festival, again this was not a problem and just added to the entertainment.
The reception staff were excellent and checking in was a breeze.
A few negatives were a limited food choice which generally was barely warm. The WiFi was a joke as it could only be picked up in the hotel foyer. The air conditioning is switched off during the early hours and comes back on at approximately 09:00 which means an uncomfortable, sweaty nights sleep. The drinks are extremely strong which make them almost undrinkable, you certainly would not accuse the staff of giving short measures but they were very strong indeed.
We never had a problem finding sun beds, though one side of the pool is almost permanently in shade.
The rooms are somewhat dated and in need of updating.
All in all the hotel served the purpose of a cheap last minute break though we will not be returning but that is mainly to do with the resort itself and not the hotel. Unfortunately the resort is very much Blackpool with Sunshine and not our cup of tea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Royal Cristina, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina hotel for your getaway in Majorca as well as for the time you spent to write and share a review with your personal impressions so that we can be informed of the improvements we may make to offer splendid holidays’ experiences to all our guests.

In IBEROSTAR we understand that food and drinks are an important factor in our guests’ hotel experience, and our chefs have created a varied assortment of options to please every type of palate. We will revise why during your stay we didn´t seem to achieve our goal to offer a wide choice in each and every meal.

Moreover, we lament reading your comment on our Wi Fi connection, however as you can check both in our website and brochure, the free connection is reported to be available during 30 minutes in our lobby and on extra charge in your room, we suggest that for any upcoming holiday planning, you have a look at our website or contact our call center where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance for you to choose the destination, hotel type and services that best fit your holiday needs and wishes.

We also took good note of your comment related to the rooms and even though we are aware that our hotel is not of new construction, we do our utmost to maintain it to its standards, nevertheless we commit to revise the possibility to renovate some of the areas to offer more comfortable accommodations to all our guests.

On the other hand we are grateful for your highlight on our reception staff, we are glad to read that you felt well cared after at your arrival and throughout your short stay with us.
Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive comments, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the opportunity of serving you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This Hotel in no way deserves 4 stars by INTERNATIONAL standards, however the Spanish seem to make up stars for whatever.....
We had an apartment overlooking the front of the property. The furniture was in pine, like a cheap furniture package you receive when buying a cheap apartment in Spain. When the upstairs, downstairs or to your side neighbour decides to move his chair, you will hear it on the tiled floor. We had lots of spider webs in the corners and the fridge was dirty. Very cheaply done indeed. The nicest feature was the Restaurant and the breakfast choices were good and plenty, apart from juices that should be fresh in this country. Nights were not great either. The beds are uncomfortable and the dogs of the neighbour in front of the property continuously bark every time something moved. (there must have been a lot of movement) We complained at front desk and checked out early to move into a different Hotel in Palma.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Royal Cristina, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Although we lament reading that your stay at our IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina hotel was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of IBEROSTAR.

We are sincerely sorry to hear that our hotel didn’t meet your expectations for a four-star establishment because we always try to pamper our guests with the best service and offer a wide range of amenities to make their stay as comfortable as possible we lament that we couldn´t make our goal with you.

Moreover, for IBEROSTAR thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case you find any shortage because to us it is of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area and we will be enchanted to adjust any situation which is not in accordance with our established standards.

On the other hand, we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you. The gastronomy is an important facet of our company and we do our utmost to please all palates. It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels in the near future.

Kindest Regards,


Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

very good and quiet hotel with spacious veranda
-good choices of food, quite a lot of choices
-near the beach, 100mts or so
-bus station in front for those that goes directly to palma
-with nice shows every night suggestion: please also feature native spanish dances/songs
-spacious pool
-helpful staff esp. senor valero at the restaurant
-with facilities for pwd, nice to see the children enjoying as well
thanks a lot for making our vacation really nice!

caveat:safe is with rental fee; you have to pay for wifi - but with such a beautiful beach and magnificent places to visit, it is a waste of money..just post photos when you return home!:)

Room Tip: 1) corner rooms at the main building (fronting the hotel, side away from the beach) is really quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

we spent a couple of nights here and found the rooms to be really quite small and a bit dated. some fixtures were broken in the bathroom and the taps were leaking at 8am both mornings the workmen has started all sorts of lawnmowers, hedge trims and leaf blowers ,so it was more of a working schedule we seemed to be on rather then a relaxing holiday.
The pool looked to be pretty clean.

Room Tip: don't get a ground floor next to the front gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Royal Cristina, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear John,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina for your getaway in Majorca and for the time you spent to share your personal impressions on your stay as your constructive critics help us know how to improve in our daily services to enhance our guest’s experiences among us.

We deeply lament reading that you found imperfections in your room and not to be informed about this during your stay as we would have looked for an immediate solution for you to fully enjoy your holiday among us.

Moreover, we would like to point out that our gardeners, as per our usual standards, do not use the gardening machines before 10.00 am; we can only imagine that the noise you mention may have come from other buildings in the area.

On the other hand we thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our pool as for IBEROSTAR thorough cleaning is an absolute must and to us it is of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area.

Once again, thank you for your visit; we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotels worldwide at your earliest convenience.

Warmest regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Food and restaurant:
Excellent quality and great choice, although the restaurant is anything but ambient - the grumpy waiting staff bang the plates around throughout your evening meal. Sme gentle music and candles would have made it a special experience.

Drinks:
Excellent all inclusive drinks. Nice range, plenty of water, choice of self service soft drinks.

Rooms:
Clean rooms though not sound proof - we had an adjoining door and could hear everything. The maids had a conversation from one room to another first thing in the morning and kept us up shouting relentlessly down the corridor.

Pool area:
Plenty of sunbeds, clean and well looked after.

Staff:
The reception and pool bar staff were pleasant and helpful. The rest of the staff were fairly unwelcoming.

Entertainment:
As the only English guests, we were not invited to join any activities or made aware of how to join in. Nice dance show each evening.

Location:
Close to the beach and next to bus stop which takes you to Palma and the airport for 1.50 and 3.00 respectively. Don't bother with expensive transfers, the bus is quick, comfortable and cheap.

Resort:
Your average beach resort. We didn't see another English person for almost five days - mostly German revellers.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Royal Cristina, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Anna,

We first would like to express our gratitude for the time you spent sharing your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina hotel as your comments help us know where to improve in our daily tasks to ensure great holiday’s experiences to all our guests.

We took good note of your comment related to our housekeeping staff and will pass it on to our head of department to ensure that our guests can enjoy undisturbed of their morning rest; we deeply apologize for the inconveniences and lament not to have been informed about this during your stay as we would have taken action immediately.

Moreover we deeply lament hearing that you didn’t feel welcome to join the activities during that day as our animation team is trained to invite every single guest to join, however they also know that not everybody is into group activities and they may have thought that you weren’t interested, nevertheless we invite you for any upcoming holiday with us to just show up and enjoy the many sports and leisure activities organized to entertain our guests, moreover we would like to point out that there is a board with the full program displayed in our hotel for our guests to know where and when the activities take place; on the other hand we are glad to read that you could appreciate the efforts of our animation staff to bring entertaining evening shows.

We took good note of your comment related to our waiting staff at the restaurant and apologize for not meeting your service expectations; On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the excellent gastronomy offer, in fact, for IBEROSTAR the gastronomy is one of our prime pillars and our professional Chefs do their utmost to prepare a wide variety of local and international delights to please all palates, we are glad to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our installations and for pointing out our reception and bar staff, we will definitely congratulate them on your behalf for contributing to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a pleasant stay in Majorca and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our utmost care and dedication.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

3rd time staying at this excellent hotel. Food choice excellent fresh and first class. Animation team especially Manuel so friendly and amusing. Hotel Staff friendly and very helpful. We had an issue with wifi which we had paid for but as it could not be resolved the manager refunded our money and apologised which again was the level of experience we have always had. Only issue if any is the lights at the steps at the back gate entrance could be a bit better as it is a bit dark !
So good we are booked to go back in October. My reasoning being there is no point in trying anywhere else as we have found the best hotel in Mallorca !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberostar Royal Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Royal Cristina

Address: Calle Arenas de Bilbao s/n, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#17 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Royal Cristina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Royal Cristina hotel is an All-Inclusive apartment hotel in Playa de Palma situated on the seafront. This resort is a perfect destination for those who want to enjoy a holiday with their partner, family or friends in Majorca. Thai Zen SPAce, sports, gastronomy and other surprises are just some of the things this hotel offers for guests of all ages adjacent to the airport of Son Sant Joan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Royal Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Royal Cristina Hotel Playa De Palma
Iberostar Playa De Palma
Iberostar Hotel Royal Cristina
Iberostar Royal Cristina Playa De Palma, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Royal Cristina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.