We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic staff,hotel & staff but Germans everywhere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Pueblo Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Pueblo Park to your Saves list
Barcelo Pueblo Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fray Joan Llabres 16 | Mision San Diego, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
GreenLeadersSilver level
blackburn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fantastic staff,hotel & staff but Germans everywhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

me, my fiancee and 1 year old just come back from a week at this hotel and cannot fault the food, staff and hotel at all.i do realize that november is not the best season to go in but we were not expecting 99% of the guests to be german, i do not have a problem with germans but it was very daunting at meal times having them push past you with no manners. also there was little or no entertainment, the outside pubs & cafes cater for germans only.like i said i cannot fault the hotel, i would go back to majorca but to a british catered area.

Room Tip: i suggest an apartment, cost a little more but worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    167
    95
    40
    19
See reviews for
111
170
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked into hotel after queuing for nearly 20mins. Booked apartment as read reviews of VERY small bedrooms. Hotel reception area nice and pool area reasonable. After walking into the room the smell of damp was SO over powering! The cleanliness was not great, especially for a 4 star hotel. Complained to reception and asked to be moved but told the hotel was fully booked but they would send staff to 'rectify'..... This meant spraying so much air freshener in the room it made it barely possible to breathe! Equipment poor as well as 3 spoons, cups, glasses etc for family of 4! TV old and remote taped together! Tv channel selection rubbish - bbc news and the other channels German and Spanish. Lighting is also very poor in apartment.
The resort itself is busy and dated LOTS of "looky looky" men around, very off putting.
Next evening meal - which to be fair was just about OK but nothing further. My wife however thought it was appalling!
After evening meal went to bath the kids, plug in and turned bath on. Came back to the bathroom and bath was full of BROWN water! Great! This meant upset children on top of everything else! Fantastic! No point complaining again to be given perhaps a water filter??? Will NOT stay at this hotel nor a Barcelo EVER again! Very poor from a large company which start their business approach with and I quote "apply the criteria of quality..." Massive fail!

Room Tip: Apartments are better located but ours had an unbearable stench of damp
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited this hotel recently and overall we were quite impressed. However we were surprised that given it is supposed to be a four star hotel there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. If you wanted a mini bar you had to pay for one and the television was old and antiquainted and in fact did not work at all! The biggest disappointment was the fact that 98% of the clientele were German and we were told we were the only english couple who had accommodation there so we did feel very isolated. Would not go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont have a small double - you can barely move in there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua Tree, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a warm place where he could cycle while on R and R from Afghanistan. I researched and found Mallorca to be warm, equal distance for both of us to travel and cycle friendly. Further research brought me to Barcelo Pueblo Park because of their cycling facility.

We were not to be disappointed. We planned one week at Barcelo and another at different location. The other location was lovely, but we checked out early and went back to Barcelo, since I was not feeling well and Barcelo provided excellent facilities for my husband's sport. And I could put my feet up out by the pool.

Jan and Peter in the cycle shop were great. The shop itself was wonderful, had great bikes for rent. We shipped my hubands, but it never arrived. The rental worked just fine. There are three ride group options. Ronald was my husband's group leader. Riding with the group gave him an idea of where to ride, safety and some challenge. He claims a great experience and when we come back, he is familiar so he can ride alone easily.

Pool was crystal clear and when it got cool, the cover was pulled over one of the pools. I would have liked a larger fitness room with more options, but I did use it and it was adequate. The reception staff was very helpful and all spoke english. Trust them when they say take the bus. It is very simple and there is a tourist information office at the Plaza de Espana that will help you get on the right connecting bus. You can go all over, bus drivers are helpful. Have small Euro. Denomination of 10 Euro or less. Right down the side street (Mision San Diego) of Barcelo is a supermarket. Buy yourself liters of bottled water to drink. Saves alot of Euro! At the end of the street is beach 6. Turn right, second restaurant, Sea Club, best salmon of my life, great steak and a beautiful breakfast. Wait staff excellent.

Next visit we will get an apartment. I believe the price is comparable to a superior room, which we had. Our first room was on the fourth floor. Too hot, when we came back, we had one on the second floor. Much more comfortable. But they were clean, comfortable, nice TV. Housekeeping did a fabulous job and they were PLEASANT!

Our first stay we were half board. Breakfast is nice, plenty to offer, staff friendly and helpful. Dinner was also very good and there was plenty to please everyone. The desert table was very nice. When we checked back in we decided to skip the half board and go out for our evening meal, just because after so many days we wanted some variety and beachside dining. The inside bar is nice, outside terrace, nice, evening live music, nice. All in all, very nice and we would go back and may actually return in May if our plans work out. The location is so central that the whole island can be enjoyed.

We went as a couple, but certainly a place for a family as well.

Some comments I read prior to booking that I would like to respond to.

"Walls were thin"...Could I hear the people in the next room? Yes, but if you get an apartment, probably not a problem. No one was disruptive very late and I have had the same problem in just about every hotel I have stayed in.

"Mostly German tourist area"....This is true, but really, who cares? Although on our last day, a German man had a real problem with my huband's US flag on his back pack. We were in the restaurant and this guy started in German. Who knows what he said, but between the two wives, we managed to shut the men up.

As I said above...everyone was wonderful, not much of a language barrier, and a great place to be! Thanks for a wonderful R and R period and we hope to see you all again!

Room Tip: Second floor is probably best, but I would spend the extra for an apartment next time. But be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed as a party of four over the last weekend in order to participate in the Palma marathon that took place on Sunday. Overall, can highly recommend this as a great hotel to stay in with wonderful facilities. You must of course be aware of what the wider area is like (mass tourism aimed primarily at the German market, with a few really very large German beer halls), but this hotel was perfect for what we were looking for

+ Initially allocated a handicapped room beside the lift that had a tiny bed. When we talked to reception and indicated that this was not really appropriate (my feet would have stuck out more than a foot beyond the end of the bed...) we were given an apartment out beside the pool
+ if you have a choice, can totally recommend taking an apartment here. Very different feel to the hotel, much more private, plenty of space
+ the area around the swimming pool is lovely, with the trees and individual apartment buildings
+ Palma is easily reachable with a taxi that will take no longer than approx 15 minutes and cost approx 15-18 euros

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun T, Director de Recepción at Barcelo Pueblo Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Johnny,

First of all would like to thank you ofr taking some time to share your experience with us, we try to provide with the ebst service and comfort possible, and try to satisfy all our guests needs, so indeed when our guests are quite tall, it is recomended to stay in an apartment.

We hope you had a good journey back home, and that you had a good result in the marathon

Hope to welcome you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great hotel is exactly as described , we stayed for 4 nights a short break with our 3 year old very clean rooms, very quiet and right near the beach.
Good selection of food and staff very helpful and friendly
Would stay here again !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun T, Director de Recepción at Barcelo Pueblo Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Vixter72,

Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts with us, it is a great pleasure to know that you had a lovely stay, its our aim to make all our guest feel like home.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hadleigh suffolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we booked to go away in may and this hotel came up and what a pearl it was !!!!!!! it wasnt a cheap holiday but well worth the visit....we arrived late in the evening and went to reception to be told what we had booked wasn't available but had upgraded us to an apartment !!!!!! it was gorgeous we had a first floor apartment with a pool view.as we were late they had left the restaurant open so we could help ourselves to the buffet food,it certainly ticked all our boxes.
the pool area was very busy but we found if you took the sun loungers away from it then you still could enjoy the area....the food in the restaurant was delicious and puddings mmmmmm very tasty indeed.we would certainly visit this hotel again ....the nightlife is noisy on the front but we found the dutch bar very nice and friendly...very noisy of a daytime but its funny as well

Room Tip: first floor apartments are far better with nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun T, Director de Recepción at Barcelo Pueblo Park, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Laurie,

First of all would like to thank you for taking some time for sharing your holiday experience with us.
Our aim is to work hard to satisfy our guest needs, and is a great feeling to know that we get the results.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Pueblo Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Pueblo Park

Address: Fray Joan Llabres 16 | Mision San Diego, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa de Palma
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Pueblo Park 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Pueblo Park **** hotel, uniquely located in the very heart of Playa de Palma Beach, is only 200 m from the white sandy beach of El Arenal. It is the ideal hotel for those who enjoy sports such as cycling, diving, hiking or golf, and for those who want to enjoy a peaceful holiday - in a warm environment with lots of space. There is a choice of 5 golf courses close by, within a 20 km radius of the hotel. It offers one of the best equipped cycling centres on the island and incorporates Hypoxia equipment in the rooms. The cycling centre boasts wide experience with our partner Max Huerzeler Bicycle Holidays. There is also a wellness centre with sauna, Turkish bath, indoor heated swimming pool and massage service. It also offers modern function rooms for hosting conventions or business meetings, with free Wi-Fi in the communal areas. This hotel of great tradition, whose construction maintains the particular Mallorcan style, has been awarded the Q for Quality Tourism distinction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Barcelo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Pueblo Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Park Hotel Playa De Palma
Barcelo Playa De Palma
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Park
Barcelo Pueblo Park Playa De Palma, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Pueblo Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.