We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel HSM Alejandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel HSM Alejandria to your Saves list
Hotel HSM Alejandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Antas de Ulla 14, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awful hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This must be the most noisy hotel in the Mallorca. Tiled floors and doors with out soft close lead to noise echoing all around the hotel. Full of German cyclists at this time who wheel cycles through the hotel and clump along in spiked cycle shoes. No room facility not even a hair dryer never mind a fridge. Entertainment very basic and all in Spanish. Location says 300 mtrs from beach more like half a mile. No English tour guides available only German and Dutch so unable to book tours through the hotel. Lastly food is awful very basic buffet . This is more like a hostel than a hotel won't be coming back here and would not recommend it to anyone else!
Ruby and Bert Shaw

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel HSM Alejandria, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment with your remarks. We are really sorry to hear that our hotel was not like you have expected and apologize for the circumstances you mentioned. We forwarded your comments to our department of quality to improve our service.

HSM Saint Michel has got 19 hotels with different categories all around Mallorca. We would be happy to welcome you in one of them.

Kind regards
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    47
    37
    29
See reviews for
17
59
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pozzuoli, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The staff were rude, other clients were rude, water non drinkable, water not included with meals (half board) so you had to buy water in the supermarket and drink warm as there were no minibars in the rooms, or buy small bottles of cold water at 1.70euros.
there is no official website and no information on tripaadvisor/booking.com etc that warns you of supplying your own water.
To be honest in that heat without aircon I find this appalling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Public Relations Manager at Hotel HSM Alejandria, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. We are really sorry to hear that our hotel was not like you have expected and apologize that our stuff where rude. Regarding the comment about the dings which are not included with meals, this information is written on our web site at the hotel description/service. In any case, we forwarded your comment to the responsible person at customer service.

Kind regards
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de Palma hotels

Geordie in Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 for 3 nights and ended up being relieved it wasn't for longer.

The hotel itself was OK, slightly dated and could've done with air conditioning in the rooms but it was clean and an ideal location for walking to the beach. Myself and my husband found the majority of the staff extremely rude, we had the misfortune of our bag being taken while we were next to the pool which contained my glasses, a small amount of money and the room key. Instead of staff being polite and helpful we were treated like virtual criminals ourselves and had to ask 4 yes FOUR times before the lock on the room was changed. This happened on our second day.

Food was very much catered towards the vast amount of German guests and despite us being half board we ended up eating at a brilliant British pub (Hole in the Wall) most days.

Noise is a big problem at this hotel, but after speaking to guests from other surrounding hotels I think that it is a problem in all of Playa de Palma. Would recommend taking a few pairs of earplugs if you want any sleep!!

Definitely will not be booking to go here again.

Room Tip: The higher you are the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, CUSTOMER SERVICE at Hotel HSM Alejandria, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for you comments. We are really sorry that our hotel was not liked you have expected. We will inform our quality department about all your suggestions.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

cannot fault the staff, very friendly and helpful.the location is a bit confusing, google earth came in handy ! the reason i have only given this hotel an average rating is the lack of air conditioning in the rooms and the noise in the early hours of the morning when the majority of the hotel residents stagger back to their rooms and continue to party on.glad we were only there for a week. next time will book in a quieter part of majorca.

Room Tip: if the room is not to your liking then ask for another, we did and got a room overlooking the pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, HSM CUSTOMER SERVICE at Hotel HSM Alejandria, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for you nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and that you have spent a nice time with us. However, we will inform our quality department about all your suggestions. Hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was booked last minute. The hotel is kept clean and tidy and the rooms are cleaned everyday. The staff are excellent and help everyone regardless of the language spoken by the customer. They were able to give us directions to various places, bus numbers, check the internet for prices and opening times of various places. Being vegetarian meant the food in the hotel restaurant was disappointing for us. A lot of the cooked food was not labelled or labelled without description. So for example the soup had no label and the paella, a regular dish, was labelled as 'rice'. At the very least it should say whether it is suitable for vegetarians. Why is it not possible to produce two paella dishes one with rice, fish and meat and the other without fish and meat? Chick pea and potato curry is also another simple dish that could be served. If cooked properly the staff will be surprised how well it is consumed!
The hotel and other surrounding hotels is primarily occupied by young tourists in groups who mainly want to drink excessively and sing loudly in the streets and the promenade. Is this acceptable behaviour when you are a guest in another country? Do they consider the feelings of the local residents who live in the surrounding streets? This hotel on its own cannot control this kind of loutish behaviour but it could form an alliance with the neighbouring hotels and put in place a code of conduct for guests for staying in these hotels.

Room Tip: I woud suggest that for peace and quiet you ask for a room on floors 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, hsm customer service at Hotel HSM Alejandria, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for you nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and that you have spent a nice time with us. However, we will inform our quality department about all your suggestions. Hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel was clean and the stuff was very helpful. There are a big variety when it comes to food. You have to pay to use the safe and there is no air conditioned. Also you have to pay for the TV.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, hsm customer service at Hotel HSM Alejandria, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice stay with us. Hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

Wiht kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had a week here, nice hotel, clean, decent pool, plenty sunbeds etc, food ok, something for each of us every night although hotel did cater towards german and dutch tourists. rooms were perfectly adequate, location was ideal for town, airport, attractions and beach. VERY young german, dutch and croatian tourists in hotel, very rowdy, police were called to the hotel on at least three occasions and this was in spite of a group of spanish police actually staying at the hotel while on a training course. very noisy through the night, teenagers running from and to rooms, shouting and playing music from balconies.
hotel staff were very good but this was not a holiday for families or couples, would suit younger groups

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, hsm customer service at Hotel HSM Alejandria, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad that you liked our hotel and apologize for the incidents you have mentioned. At this time of the year we have a lot of young people, and it's true that is not the best choice for families. If you come in another period of the year, the hotel is more quite. Anyway, we also do have hotels specialised in families and we will be glad to inform you any time.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel HSM Alejandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel HSM Alejandria

Address: C/ Antas de Ulla 14, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel HSM Alejandria 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel was refurbished in 2010 to offer its guests an exceptional standard of facilities and service with fresher, more modern look. Just 400m from the beach and the centre of one of the most vibrant and lively resorts in Majorca, the hotel stands out for its location. The hotel is open from February to November. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Alejandria is situated in Playa de Palma, one of the most popular and visited resorts in Majorca. Playa de Palma extends between the municipalities of Palma de Mallorca and Llucmajor and it is 4,5 km long. Its most important features are: its proximity to Palma de Mallorca (15 km) and the airport (8 km). Being one of the longest and beautiful beaches in Majorca, its long sea promenade with countless bars, restaurants and shops, it is ideal to travel by train, bike or simply walking. The famous area of "Bierstrasse" with its vibrant nightlife is just steps away from the hotel. One of the largest marine parks in Europe, ¨Palma Aquarium,¨ is located just 4km away from the hotel! The water park "Aquacity" is situated 2 km away. The golf course Golf Son Antem is 18 km away. On the east end of the area there is a sports port Club Nautico de S'Arenal (Llucmajor). It is worth mentioning that there is an efficient public bus service to Palma de Mallorca and El Arenal, the bus stop is only 30 m away from the hotel. ROOMS: The hotel offers refurbished double and single rooms with warm, authentic decoration. All of the rooms include a bathroom, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), satellite TV and a balcony! GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board food and beverage packages. The air conditioned restaurant offers a large selection of hot and cold dishes as well as a variety of fruit and dessert, all served in a buffet style! Drinks are not included in the price (dinner). FACILITIES: There is a terrace with a swimming pool for adults, with a separate space for children. Surrounding the pool are sun beds and sunshades. Bar service is available at the pool. Inside of the hotel there is an air conditioned bar as well as air conditioned common areas. CHILDREN: Designated swimming pool for children. Also, baby cots and high chairs are available in the restaurant at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car and rent a bike. We accept the following credit cards: Master Card, Visa. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Possibility to practice sports in the area, golf courses close by. Live music plays various times a week. Since 2012 the hotel HSM Alejandria also offers services specialised in cycling tourism with a room for storage, maintenance and cleaning of bicycles, as well as the information of the cycling routes, rent a bike, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel HSM Alejandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hsm Alejandria Hotel
Hotel HSM Alejandria Playa De Palma, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel HSM Alejandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.