We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star for the price of a 4 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Bravo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Bravo to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Bravo
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Mision de San Diego, 4 | Playa de Palma - Mallorca, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“5 star for the price of a 4 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you're going to Mallorca but want to stay away from the German adolescent craze, this is one amazing option for its price.

The hotel is extremely clean and the staff is very friendly. The food is very good and the variety does not disappoint.

Great if you want to combine the relaxation of not doing anything with the beach, which is 150-200 metres away.

From the airport take the 21 bus and you'll be checking in within 15 minutes.

Room Tip: When making the reservation, you can submit special requests you might have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    93
    31
    11
    7
See reviews for
50
79
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited the hotel for two nights on the 12th and 13th July 2013 . We were rather wary after reading the reviews !
We were pleasantly surprised the hotel is very good.Rooms are clean and have all the expected benefits. They are not brand new by any means but are more than adequate. The public areas are all cleaned to a high standard and are attractive, the hotel is set in very nice grounds.
The food is very good,there is show cooking at every meal, three different stations at dinner there is thus something fresh all the time.
As previous reviewers have said the hotel is predominantly occupied by Germans and as you would therefore expect things are to their taste, there is no allowance for the British which didn't bother us.
The hotel is in an area of Palma in which all the bars etc are used by young Germans to party and boy do they party ! There are at least two massive clubs occupied by around 1000 young Germans at a time which were open from 11.O0 am until 5.00 am the next day. Considering the size of these clubs and their proximity to the hotel there was surprising little noise from them at the hotel. We walked around the area on saturday morning and saw plenty of young Germans many of whom were drinking but in no way threatening the atmsphere was very friendly. I don't think they even noticed us !

We have been to majorca before and there are plenty of prettier places, but I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel for a short break very near to the airport

Room Tip: Pool view would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were victims of the French air traffic controllers strike last Tuesday and found ourselves at the airport needing to find accommodation for two nights somewhere not too far away. We got lucky!
We arrived at the Bravo after a ten minute taxi ride.
We got an upgrade to a suite in a separate building in the hotel grounds, and it was very nice indeed, with a hallway, twin bedroom with loads of storage, a bathroom with 2 sinks, bath, shower, loo and bidet, and a large sitting room. The furniture, curtains and carpets were all of good quality and very clean.
The pool area had lots of loungers, an irregular shaped pool, mature trees and a bar with a self service area for soft drinks, beer and tea and coffee.
The food was without doubt the best buffet food we'd ever seen. The choice was stupendous, and the quality was excellent. They have a two sitting system for dinner, 6.30 and 8.30, and each party is allocated a dinner table for their own use throughout their stay. No scrabbling about.
There are professional entertainers on every night.
The staff seemed rightly proud of their hotel; they were constantly tidying the dining room and pool areas.
Downsides: Playa de Palma is the German Magalluf - party central!!! We saw lots of very drunk young people and police patrols. Even in our fifth floor room, we were woken by revellers at 5 and 6am. There were beer bottles and cans all over the otherwise lovely beach and prom area.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better because of the noise of nocturnal party people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

my wife and i decided to have a week away in Majorca for her birthday but boy did i get things wrong.
we took the car over on the ferry from valencia which in its self was ok.
we arrived in palma very early in the morning and then drove to our hotel.
i thought it strange when we were getting into the resort that all the signs for shops etc were all in german. we then arrived at the hotel which was nice and clean and just what i expected.
what i did not expect was that we would be the only brits there but then we can put up with that we thought.
we decided to go out for a walk and as we did we were surrounded by hundreds of drunken young germans and this was at 9,30am. it was dreadful, you could not walk without people bumping in to you they were so drunk.
then at night they were singing at the top of their voices we could not sleep as the hotel is so close to a place i can only describe as similar to the munich beer festival called the mega park.
we suffered 2 nights then we we could not stand anymore and checked out.
unfortunately i paid 900 euro for the week and stayed 2 nights. expensive hotel.
we then drove accross to cala dor and checked into the hotel cala dor which was fantastic.
so if you idea of a good holiday is hanging out with thousands of drunken vomiting germans then you now know were to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We choose this hotel as it is only 2 1/2 hour flight from UK. After ten minute taxi ride from airport which is a bonus as well we got checked in. As usual it was a painless and quick task, we went for lunch and after that we went to our rooms which were clean and tidy. The weather was mixed but we were able to relax in between showers. The staff were all pleasant and courteous as we would expect from Riu(19 th visit to them to various hotels). The hotel is a couple of minutes from the beach and shop area and was always busy but not too busy. All the drinks and food were always
Plentiful and varied,so no complaints. We would not hesitate to come again for our sixth visit

Room Tip: Away from front of hotel as you can here a lot of noise from the party area a few streets away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Busy year so this review is somewhat late - apologies. We were a group of seven friends who spent a really enjoyable week at the Riu Bravo last June. A lovely hotel with a delightful poolside terrace surrounded by pleasant gardens and just a very short walk from a beautiful beach. The quality and presentation of the food in the dining room was excellent, the rooms were clean and spacious and the staff were polite and friendly. A great break in a great hotel and a destination we will certainly be returning to in the very near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As an example of an all-inclusive mass-tourism hotel, you will seldom find better. Our party of three spent one week all inclusive with Saga from 5th April at the Riu Bravo.The hotel is situated a short walk away from the prom and beach at Playa de Palma, a resort which is a little scruffy in places, but was not fully open for the season, so still being prepared. The annoying street-sellers were persistent, but accepted a firm but friendly "no thanks" and moved on. They seemed to leave the promenade part along the beach alone, concentrating instead along the shop-front side. It is a pleasant area, though the Riu Princess along the beach towards S'Arenal might be an eye-opener or some, with much beer-drinking and table-top cavorting, even at 2.30 in the afternoon. Our German friends have great stamina for fun!

The hotel is very clean and well-maintained. There are plenty of sun-beds around the nice (but not very large) pool and gardens. The terrace, lounge and reception areas are lovely, with unlimited supplies of drinks, tea, coffee and snacks available. The staff were excellent, well-trained and thoroughly professional. They made our stay very pleasant, and the superb manager made sure that she was visible and available to all the guests. Any issues (and we overheard a couple of complaints about the showers) were dealt with at lightening speed - in our case the maintenance-man hacksawed an errant suitcase lock in 5 minutes!). The room (125) was of a good standard in Regency style with a pleasant balcony, though it did not have an inspiring view. The bathroom was a little dated, and the shower and toilet just squeaked in to being acceptable, with low water flows. The single room (131) was rather small, but we did not pay a single-room supplement, so overall OK. We could not fault the hotel for the quality and quantity of food. Superb, and very well organised. The restaurant staff - both front and back of house - deserve special praise. The used plates were cleared immediately, and the linen was crisp and fresh - a joy to behold! The service was very friendly and efficient. The range of food was A1, with huge salads, two soups, breads, choice of five or so mains including fish and a slightly dull vegetarian choice, fruit, extensive sweets and ice creams, beer, wine and water on tap. An excellent aspect was that the food was largely freshly-prepared - little unused food was recycled the next day, so the chances of avoiding Spanish-tummy were increased. Some of the courses were designed for the majority German palate - eg the schnitzel came with a chilly/curry sauce. which was maybe a bit odd to average British tastes.

The indoor pool was a bit small and dowdy and reportedly not very warm, and was also separate from the main hotel and spa. The spa and gym looked fine, and were free to use, though the treatments seemed rather expensive (though the reviewer has no experience of this area). Entertainment was middle-of-the-road "live" (which means computer-assisted!) dance music, which suited the rather middle-aged to elderly holidaymakers. Certainly at this time of year the hotel would suit that clientele, more than families with young children. Free drinks were non-branded but actually quite acceptable.

Just to add that we also hired a car from Sixt, about 15 mins walk away from the hotel. They were not the cheapest, but were reliable, trustworthy and professional. I would also advise getting a car with some pulling-power, as the roads - especially around Palma require fast lane-changes or escape from locals in small white vans! Parking at your destination was OK in April, but it must be impossible in peak season. Public transport or tours might be better early-May to end-August.

If you like all-inclusive, multinational, busy holidays in popular places, with a great level of quality, then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Some balconies in the reception block facing the pool are shaded by a huge fig tree. Room selection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Bravo

Address: Mision de San Diego, 4 | Playa de Palma - Mallorca, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Palma
#7 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Bravo 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Bravo (All Inclusive), is just 200m from the popular and vast Playa de Palma beach in Palma de Majorca, Spain. It is the ideal hotel for families, couples and groups of friends who want to spend their holidays sunbathing and discovering the island. This 4 star hotel offers its guests a high quality service. It has everything you could need for relaxation, with a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium-terrace, gym, sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and the wellness centre with a range of different treatmen * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Riu Bravo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bravo Hotel
Riu Bravo Playa De Palma
Hotel Riu Bravo Playa De Palma, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Bravo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.