We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caballero Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caballero Hotel to your Saves list
Caballero Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neopatria 3, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We originally booked the Iberostar Royal Playa de Palma but were moved here without explanation. I can't say whether this hotel is better or worse than the other just what we found here. This is a lovely hotel and has good facilities including an indoor pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The drinks prices are very reasonable which was surprising in such nice surroundings. We stayed half board, the food was great and lots of variety can't fault it. Nice stay in a nice hotel, but can't help wondering the Royal would have been better.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
23
63
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Good hotel, good location and good facilities but it needs in-room coffee/tea and a British TV channel.

Firstly, this hotel does not provide coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms so it you can’t enjoy a hot drink in the room or on the balcony. Also, at dinner in the restaurant, after enjoying your desert/cakes there is no coffee served or available to accompany it so you have to leave the restaurant gasping for a hot drink. I have never before had a desert/pudding without a coffee in any restaurant so I left feeling very dissatisfied every evening.

The second issue with this hotel is that it only has one British TV channel which is CNN. The hotel seems to cater heavily for their German visitors but we met two other British families who also complained about having no British speaking entertainment channels. The hotel should recognise that they do have English guests so they should invest in at least one good British speaking channel such as a drama, film or entertainment station.

A final point is the balcony/terrace which could have been more private as they all seem to have about a 6 inch horizontal gaps in the balcony partitions which allows you to look through to next door and right through all the other terraces. This lack of privacy does not allow you to enjoy the balcony without feeling that you are being seen by all the neighbours next door and beyond. This could be simply be rectified by using a cheap material to conceal all these gaps in each partition.

If these minor issues are addressed, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

I stayed at Caballero during my last business trip to Mallorca. It was a great choice as it it not far from the airport and not far from the centre of Palma. Near Palma beach, just. 3 minute walk, with the bus stop just a couple of minuets away, ideal for business or pleasure. Very clean rooms and great service. I booked B&B, and although breakfast is served from 8:00 onwards, the variety great and the quality is very good. However the area caters for the German tourists, so expect everyone to talk to you in German and the shops and restaurants in the area are geared up likewise.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Stayed here for a short break with my friend, the room was lovely and clean and cleaned daily to a good standard. Staff were really friendly and very helpful :) food wasn't bad and the hotel was really close to the beach too :) would stay here again x

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Caballero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Caballero Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Dear Amy,

Thank you for taking your time to write your comments on TripAdvisor following your first stay with us.

We are very happy to know, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. Rest assured that your comments will be passed on to the entire team.

We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards, Hotel Caballero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I'm still trying to work out what I think about this hotel! On the one hand, the rooms are very nice, clean, modern, great air con, fridge, balcony, nice decor, great bathroom with lovely big walk in shower.

On the other hand the service, food, entertainment are really dismal. I stayed in four different hotels during our trip mainly as a gauge for our family holiday with the children next year and while on the basis of rooms and decor alone Caballero would certainly be my choice there are other factors that mean it will not be and I doubt I will return. Check in etc was fine, there are only two lifts so unless you are on the top floor I think most of us decided to walk, as you can be waiting ages.

We paid for half board, but this was such a mistake. I am not a fussy eater but they are not at all geared up for evening meals. I seriously regret spending the money on this. It started off badly when we went to the restaurant and had to kind of "hang around" at the entrance as there was no body to tell us whether we seat ourselves or are shown to a table. You can pretty much guarantee that whatever we did was going to be wrong in the eyes of the staff as they arent the most cheerful or helpful by any stretch of the imagination. Dismal would be more accurate.

There was meant to be a restaurant manager but he seemed happier to be modelling his skinny jeans up and down the restaurant thinking he was the star of the show rather than actually do any, you know, REAL work. For the two nights we stayed the water situation in the restaurant really confused us, we wanted a big plastic 2 l bottle of water that we saw others with, but I can only speculate that you get this with wine, as we were told we could only buy a 1 l sparkling water and we never quite worked out why we were not "allowed" the water everyone else was having. The waitresses were pretty appalling, one in particular more than others, we watched her be rude to at least 3 different tables one evening, to the point where she told people off for leaving their table and getting food (in a self service restaurant). These poor young couples were just mortified and embarrassed.

If you don't really like fish then you can forget it really. If you are vegetarian..enjoy the salads, if you have an allergies then do be careful as they can not mark up their food properly so we had an unexpected mushroom shock when we thought we were having something else. Some of the food I had NO idea what it was but whatever it was, it wasn't good. You get my drift anyway, it was all rather rubbish and depressing. Breakfast was better. Not brilliant but they do this much much better.

We thought we would cheer ourselves up and have some drinks by the pool and watch the entertainment. We timed it to 25 mins we were stood at the bar to get a drink, when it wasnt even busy. Then the evening entertainment really kicked in with gogo dancers from the Riu "foam palace get wasted all day if you are 18 years old, trying to be like Ibiza" club. This sealed the fate of this place as far as bringing my children next year, as my near teenager would have been mortified, as was I just from the sheer cringeworthyness of it all. I was embarrassed for the hotel. The circus guy was good, but its really amateur street performance to be honest and not great quality. Most nights we went back to a hotel we had stayed at before just to get away.

Shame really as the actual hotel itself is quite pleasant and good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Stayed here for one night. Hotel and Playa de Palma area very much caters for German tourists but doesn't mean you'll miss out if you're British. Plenty of free on-street parking outside the hotel (quiet road). The room was nice and matched the images online. The room came with a balcony and a little fridge. Bed was comfortable, mattresses felt like memory foam. Breakfast was not included in our stay but paid for this separately. However, no-one checked our details in the morning so if could have probably have got away without paying if you were brazen! (Not recommending this...) Fair amount of choice for breakfast. Pool area was ok. No free wifi - 5 euros for 24 hours per device.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Caballero, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Caballero Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write your comments on TripAdvisor following your first stay with us.

We are happy to hear, that you have enjoyed your visit with us.

Thank you for being our guest and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming youb back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Caballero.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

A very good hotel to stay. 2 minute walk to the beach. Lots of amenities around the place and easy travel links to Palma or Airport. We visited with our 2 year old boy who is running about all the time but the hotel staff were kind and the restaurant ladies even kinder. The room is a little small for my son to run around but if you are out and about it isn't important.
Finally the food was good and and 3 out of 4 nights we have had excellent entertainment near the pool area. Would definetly go tlback there again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caballero Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caballero Hotel

Address: Neopatria 3, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#2 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Palma
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caballero Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel completely refurbished with a renewed style and contemporary elegance in 2012-13.The hotel Caballero**** offers a relaxing and pleasant atmosphere. Thanks to the activities, shops and restaurants which are nearby, our guests can perfectly combine relaxation and amusement.The hotel is located on the lively Playa de Palma, just 60 meters from the beach. It is located, 5 minutes by car from the airport and 10 km away from the city centre of Palma de Mallorca (well connected by a regular bus service).ROOMSModern and comfortable with parquet floors, the 308 rooms are all equipped with completed bathroom (hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities,...) And all of them are equipped with satellite flat screen TV32", Wi-Fi, direct telephone, mini-bar, renting safe, air-conditioning and central heating, ceiling fan and balconyGASTRONOMYOur restaurant with air-conditioning, offers hot and cold buffet service "show cooking style" for breakfast and dinner. Snack service in Cocktail Bar and Lounge Terrace.SERVICES AND FACILITIESThe hotel offers a lounge and games room with satellite TV and conference room.All the hotel areas have Wi-Fi at your disposal, if you don't have a laptop, you can use our Internet Corner (this service has an additional charge).Beautiful gardens, where there is a swimming-pool, a terrace with lounges and sun umbrellas and relaxing cool area with microclimate (misting system). Bath towels are available at the swimming pool area.Wellness Center with Finnish Sauna, Turkish bath, thematic showers, indoor heated swimmingpool, Jacuzzi, relaxation area, massage room and fitness corner.Lively evenings with live music or professional shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caballero Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caballero Hotel Playa De Palma, Majorca
Caballero Playa De Palma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caballero Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.